We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely barn in peaceful village.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Swallow Barn

A rural retreat with walks from the door.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A rural retreat with walks from the door.
Open plan layout making it light and airy.  Comfy living room with  dining area.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
A rural retreat with walks from the door.
Open plan layout making it light and airy.
Comfy living room with  dining area.
Double bedroom with ensuite shower room
Fully equipped kitchen.
Enjoy summer evenings on the patio
Rated 4-star by Visit England
Chelmorton village in the Peak District National Park
Close to Bakewell, home of the famous 'Bakewell Pudding'
Convenient for Buxton Festival - opera and literature in the hills.
Moors and heather - away from it all....
Walk or cycle across a spectacular viaduct and through tunnels on the Monsal Trail.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Chelmorton, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Abigail B
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely barn in peaceful village.”
Reviewed 9 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We stayed at Swallow Barn for a short break with our dog. It's a lovely warm, comfortable place which is tastefully furnished. The enclosed path and courtyard made it good for the dog, no need to worry about her wandering into roads. Chelmorton is beautiful village. From the Main Street there were lots of footpaths so great for walkers and a nice pub that serves food. Really easy to get to Buxton, Bakewell and Chatsworth in the car. Will defiantly be staying again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janelittl...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“fabulous”
Reviewed 9 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

this cottage was perfect fpr our Christmas break it had all amenities and more for our special lunch together.great walks too to build up the appetite..would most definitely recommend this to all ages and all people..amazing??? made our 2014 ..

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vin-and-D...
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Place, Great location and Great part of the country.”
Reviewed 30 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I, along with are two small dogs made a late booking for 5 days to include my wife's birthday in mid December.This being our first time to the Peaks, long over due as we are now in the senior citizen bracket !
I found it very easy to book and spoke to Gill over the phone to make sure of a couple of things.
With the instructions we found it without trouble using the sat-nav and was indeed as advertised.
The Barn was very cosy and had all you need to be comfortable and even cook a roast if you had wanted. It also had Sky and a fast Wi FI good enough to stream.
We found Gill very obliging and my wife even had a Birthday card waiting on arrival.
The Barn is well situated for all the Peak district and walks and cycle routes abound.
We hoped for snow but alas got rain. ( should have gone a week earlier we were told) Although the weather was not on our side we still had plenty to do and found people warm and friendly where ever we went.
After a good meal at the local Church Inn we returned to a warm, cosy apartment.
Would we return, yes without doubt. We have seen the Peaks in the worst weather; they can only look more stunning in the good weather.
If you stay at Swallow Barn you will not be disappointed and will be sure of a welcoming stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Locallity
Liked least: Weather when we went
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheesestr...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing location.”
Reviewed 3 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My girlfriend and I stayed at Swallow Barn at the end of October for 3 nights.
The barn itself was really cosy and its location made it a perfect base for exploring the Peak District.
We had dinner at the local pub on our first night and were made incredibly welcome by all of the locals and were encouraged to take part in the quiz and bingo (we didn't win).
Gill was the perfect host; she happily shared her knowledge of the surrounding area and told us some local history.
We will definitely be wanting to stay here again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A H
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cosy and calm”
Reviewed 29 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We had a lovely cosy and quiet week at Swallow Barn with our 2 dogs... Gill was a really friendly and helpful host and the cottage, more of a studio apartment than a cottage, was (after appearing a lot smaller than we expected), really cosy and comfortable. We walked, enjoyed great beer in the local pub and really chilled out whatever the weather threw at us. Would recommend it. Great location and a relaxing time is guaranteed.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing