We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (316)
Filter reviews
316 results
Traveller rating
102
110
54
32
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
102
110
54
32
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach bar fish beach front fiafia night beautiful beach hot water air con night holiday morning swim special thanks assistant manager lounge chairs great accommodation watch the sunset tour guide relaxing holiday local staff
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 316 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

Having never been to Samoa before we decided the spend 4 nights on each island. Stevenson's at Manase (Savai'i) was our first stop. Advance warning - make your car booking (if hiring) & ferry transfer (for car) a priority & arrive at the warf at least an hour prior to departure.
Stevenson's pool area was still under renovation when we arrived, which was disappointing. However, Megan, Tom & all the staff did their best to ensure we had a magical stay. We choose an on the Beach Fale, direct access to the beach which was a couple of steps away. Our Fale was spacious with everything we needed, room was cleaned daily. Breakfast was great with fresh fruit, pastries, toast, pancakes and fresh coconuts.
Stevenson's beach was the best we visited on Savai'i. Fish turtles, coral, beautiful clear water & soft sand.
Upon arrival we were a bit tired and stressed, due to early flight arrival & lack of planning on our part (no car or ferry transfer booked) but Megan & Tom were great. Giving us info on where to go, what was open (Sundays most places are closed) and the best sights around the island. Happy hour is a must 50% off all cocktails. A demonstration was arranged and Megan came and got us so we could join in. Once the pool is finished, I have no doubt this will be a perfect resort.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Nicole R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan B, General Manager at Stevenson's at Manase, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Hi Nicole,

Thank you for your feedback. We are so happy to have the pool finally finished, but the brasserie next to it is a work in progress.

I love that you had a magical stay. There are so many lovely things to see with the fish, the turtles, the clear water and soft sand. You did well and embraced it, making your holiday a great experience.

We hope you visit and again.

Megan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017

They have been updating their rooms and facilities over the past year and the hotel is a gem. They opened their new swimming pool when we were there and it is a wonderful place to swim. The beach has some okay snorkeling with the reef several hundred feet away. It's best to snorkel during high tide so you don't get scraped on the coral. We saw some colorful fish, sea snakes and some turtles. The staff was great and bent over backwards to make sure you enjoyed your stay. Megan is a real treasure. We stayed in a beach villa the first night and it was too small for us. So they moved us to a bigger room and it was massive. The only criticism I have of the room was that the bathroom didn't have a door. That's okay with just your wife but when you have children with you it becomes problematic. The food was good but a bit expensive.Overall this was a great place to stay for us.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan B, General Manager at Stevenson's at Manase, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Hi George,

It was great having you and your family stay with us. We are so glad that you enjoyed yourself, saw some wonderful sealife and appreciated the spacious room.

Thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again on your next visit to Samoa.

Megan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017

Thank goodness for Meagan at Stevensons! We were booked to stay at Vacations up the road but such was the disgraceful condition of our room, we made a late night plea for help,and were answered by the manager who arranged a place for us to stay at Stevensons. Compared with Vacations, and for pretty much the same price, Stevensons is luxury. Hot water showers, zircon, in tact fly screens, clean sheets and towels, bath soaps and shampoo etc, side tables and lamps.
The pool (recently finished) is stunning. There are lounge chairs and an extensive deck area to enjoy your meals or a drink. The half price cocktails at happy hour readily enjoyed! The beach is raked clean daily and very pretty. The property is quite expansive, so there are private areas in front of the accomodation to relax. The management team, lead by Meagan, have an eye for detail and acceptable standards and are clearly making posituve major impact for this resort.
The meals we had were all good. Breakfast in between set times, finishing at 10:30 and is basic fare - toast, fruit, hot drinks, pancakes, etc. There is an eggs menu for a price. We had some delicious small meals at other times, all great.
We were also privileged to see a FiaFia night which was outstanding.
After a horror start to our holiday at Vacations, staying at Stevensons really saved the day for us. It was awful having to leave and stay the one night at Vacations - the worst night or our 11 in Samoa.

Room Tip: All of the beachside rooms front the sea.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan B, General Manager at Stevenson's at Manase, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Hi Rick,

Thank you for your review. I am glad i was there to help in your time of need! We strive to be able to be a safety net for people, and a reliable hotel.

As you learned, the Pacific lslands are very different to an Asian holiday experience, and as long as people do not arrive expecting Asia, Samoa can then be a unique and wonderful experience.

Thanks again for your feedback, and do let me know if you decide to come back to Samoa.

Megan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017

Friendly, helpful staff. All accomodation is Beachfront. I stayed in a beach villa with he ocean only a couple of steps away. The beach front bar is a great place to watch the sunset and have a meal. New pool is overlooks the ocean...Tours can be organised through the front desk, highly recommend doing a local tour.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tc2017808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan B, General Manager at Stevenson's at Manase, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Hi tc2017808,

Thank you for your review. Its great to know that you loved the accommodation setting and beach bar location. Tours are a great way to become familiar with the island without any stress or hassle.

We hope to see you again one day.

Megan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017

We had a lovely time at Stevenson's, it was so beautiful sitting at the beach bar , looking out at the beautiful clear water and sipping my cocktail. It is really a magical time to spend with family or just being by yourself. The food was excellent however you can only eat at the beach bar /pool for lunch and dinner it's all open not much cover if is raining. There was construction near the pool maybe they are building a inside dining it would be interesting to see the finish product .

The staff are lovely and the villas is great. The only thing I didn't like is how the bill was itemised.

I had traveled with father, sister , husband and two teenager daughters , we all enjoyed our time at manase.

Food prices are mid range $ 18- 55 tala

5

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank revlon95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan B, General Manager at Stevenson's at Manase, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Hi Revlon,

Thank you for your feedback. Sipping a cocktail on a beach bar overlooking a beautiful beach is a dream holiday come true! We are working on the Brasserie next to the pool to allow for more undercover in rainy weather- it should be finished soon!

The way our 'point of sale' add items to the bill collectively is quite hard to follow, but we can always print out each itemised bill if needed. In future if there are any questionable additions, please ask the staff member for a detailed copy.

We hope to see you and your family again,

Megan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews