We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“great weekend break”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Coach House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Cenarth, Carmarthenshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
westieSou...
south wales
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great weekend break”
Reviewed 17 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

just back from the beautiful coach house, fab property, spacious lounge. ,9 friends celebrating birthdays, great hot tub, such a relaxing break, weather was bad, but didnt stop us enjoying hot tub, a canopy over top would have been good, but , as i say , didnt stop us at all,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the hot tub
Liked least: not enough seats ariund table,
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne N
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing weekend”
Reviewed 17 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We booked the coach house to celebrate our friends birthdays.
As a group of 10 we found the house to be extremely comfortable and spacious with every facility available allowing us to have a relaxing chilled weekend.
The house overlooks the river teifI, an idyllic outlook.
And just a short walk from cenarth and the cenarth falls. The village has a coffee shop and 2 pubs.
The hot tub was inviting and we used it several times but we feel that it would be an improvement if there was a retractable canopy for inclement weather which would have
further improved the experience.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: location
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James C
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Nice & relaxing”
Reviewed 25 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Stay here in the middle of September. We booked this as a last minute holiday and we were very happy with our decision to stay here.

The house is set just off the road down a track. It's really peaceful and quite, just what we were looking for.

On arrival the house was clean and tidy and the hot tub was ready to use. All the rooms were clean and clean bedding on all the beds. Really liked that each bedroom had its own bathroom. The main bedroom on the top floor had an amazing shower/bath unit.

The ovens in the kitchen are excellent, so your not waiting ages when your cooking meals.

We were looking for a place to relax and unwind for a week and this hit the spot.

In the evenings the large decked area was a great place to sit out and watch the river and wildlife. It's lovely and peaceful and you really do feel you have the world to yourself.

We are already planning our next visit!

Would have given 5 stars if the hot tub cover bracket wasn't broken, as this did cause a bit of a problem getting it back on when there was only 2 of us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was isolated
Liked least: Missing hot tub cover bracket
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chorleybo...
chorley
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Wish I lived there....”
Reviewed 26 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
5
people found this review helpful

From the moment we saw the river below from the expansive decking we were hooked.
Its located just off the road to Boncath, but enough to feel you are in the woods and countryside, watching and listening to the river gliding by from right to left, where it suddenly comes alive as it hits a smail dip and rushes on by....
The birdlife is outstanding, all of us aged from 47 to 77 spent so many hours watching the Kingfishers flying both ways, right to left to go hunting and within minutes returning with a fish in their beak to feed the young, nest was out of sight around the curve of the river. You just never ever tire of seeing that, sometimes they would make us wait, and then suddenly, one of us would shout, and it would blaze past....wow.
I was lucky to spot a Dipper, also Herons, Swallows (doing a good job with the bats eating those midges), and a good tip is put some bird feed out around the side decking, you wont be disappointed I promise you.
Great too for a spot of fishing, plenty fish spotted continuously, and what a relaxing private place to fish.
The Hot tub which we used at night was a winner with all, under the stars with a beer or three and glasses of wine, chatting away or just listening to the river below. Be careful with the control panel at the front when lifting the cover back on, we must have pressed the mode button so Tuesday it was cold, but one text message from the field following the river leading to the village (no reception at the house unless like my mate you have EE is it?) and the bloke came out early evening and even topped the water up and cleaned the filter etc, great customer service and a very friendly chap too.
Parking was a bit different, if like us you have three cars between the party, then the last car in, has to leave temporarily to let either of the other two cars out, but no big deal, hey, its the character of the whole place.
Wifi works in the large living room, the Television is adequate but we couldn't quite make full use of it as instructions in German, (knew I should have tried harder at school), but trust me, the TV is not so important as in most other rentals, dvd works ok though if weather is unkind, and there are literally 100s of titles to chose from plenty books too.
Kitchen is good, two great ovens, separate hob, dishwasher and all other mod cons, I found it hard to cook though as I kept nipping out of the door to enjoy that view, and see what else I could spot like the Otter.
Dining room is good, there is a cloak room there too, very handy to have downstairs loo.
All the bedrooms are fine, obviously a couple have the X factor with the views and/or the balcony overlooking that river, but the showers are good in each bedroom, though the 2nd floor bedroom, the one with two single beds and a door leading to a large double bed as this space age Jacuzzi come steam room come shower which my brother managed to master after a couple of days. Do not forget to bring your own towels, 3 each should be enough, and tea towels too for the kitchen.
Everyone has different views re mattresses but everyone agreed they had slept well, mind you, no wonder with the booze flowing sometimes until the wee early hours.
Cenarth itself is ideal for what we wanted, couple of pubs serving real ale within a nice 10 min stroll along the river cutting through the camp site, you cant miss it, careful though if dark on the way back as you would have to use the road with no footpath, get a taxi, £3.
A great tea room, Ty Te its called, breakfast £4.95 inc pot of tea, open all day with an ice cream parlour at the back.
The waterfalls are good and a nice walk again past them along the river.
Newcastle Emlyn is a short drive, with better shopping facilities and plentiful restaurants, cafes, delis and pubs.
If you can, make sure you go to the cheese farm, Caws Cenarth, out in the wilds, turn right leaving the house on the man road, follow the brown signs, about 2/3 mile away. Its a free tour watching award winning cheeses being made and packed, free tasting, then its up to you whether you buy any, I bet you do, Prince Charles visits there regularly, sending his own organic milk down to make the cheeses he wants and he goes and collects them, obviously not by himself!
So if you love wildlife and away from it all, with local village pubs within easy walking distance, and a secluded house with en suites and the hot tub,,plus the private fishing, close to the beaches around the Cardigan coast then you would love it there.
Thanks to the owners for allowing us to get a true taste of Welsh river/countryside, cant wait to return again next year, think I will book two weeks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Riverview and wildlife
Liked least: Leaving to return home.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing