We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous!”
other travellers have booked this property
Night-time swimming in heated pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Night-time swimming in heated pool
Pool-side dining Swim with a view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Night-time swimming in heated pool
Pool-side dining
Swim with a view
Heated swimming pool
House exterior
Breathtaking views
Living-room
Double bedroom
Double bedroom
Luxury and comfort
Double bedroom
Double bedroom
Double bedroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Sauna
Luxury towels
Luxury
Kitchen
Welcome!
Night swimming
New jacccusi  3 places
New jacccusi
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Monbazillac, Bergerac, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
1minnie
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed 3 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We've just got back from a weeks stay at Phillipes fantastic villa and I can't recommend it highly enough. Everything about it lived up to the images and description online. The pool and views were particular highlights, a really good sized pool that the kids (and adults) loved. Great area for vineyards too as an added bonus. Thank you Phillipe!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JILLIAN M
Tenterden, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous place to stay”
Reviewed 27 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
4
people found this review helpful

We had a wonderful holiday, Philippe was very welcoming right from the outset and throughout our stay was attentive without being intrusive. The house is spacious and, of course, the fabulous views made a perfect setting for a relaxing holiday. As the temperatures were over 30*c most days we didn't venture far from the fantastic pool. The Artisan boulangerie next door provided us with a large selection of speciality breads and is open all day so was visited often. We ate in La Grappe D'Or several times and can highly recommend it (if choosing a set meal, beware the soup - it is very tasty but also very filling). The only issue we had with the house was that the oven was a bit temperamental but Philippe was extremely responsive and had his man on the case within 30 mins. Also to note, although not a problem, is that the majority of the garden is on a steep slope and is not securely enclosed so our dogs, which are not Impervious to rabbits, had to be very carefully watched.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheIntern...
London Gatwick
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely Heated Pool for May Half term week of all ages”
Reviewed 26 July 2015 for a stay in May 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Lovely heated pool and the views over bergerac were 100% fantastic.

Good sized accommodation with well equipped kitchen and nice clean beds.

More difficult than expected with young children, 5 year old fine, 2.5 year old struggled with lots of steps and stairs, so we would say really 3 years+ (or have a stair gate).

car 110% needed, but that's obvious given the view down to bergerac.

Views make it worth while, amazing food served by Phillipe from the restaurant over the road, great bakery for breakfast, some treats and a few essentials, otherwise a good supermarket 5km away.

Gite is connected by the driveway, therefore not a completely private villa but wasn't a problem whilst we were there, nice covered parking at the far end of the driveway next to the gite.

Would have been nice for more than the sweet wine in the fridge, our tip would be to pick up some essentials at a supermarket on the way through bergerac on arrival. However all the bathrooms had lots of shampoo and bubble bath.

Overall a very enjoyable week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: amazing heated pool
Liked least: not having a stair gate
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debra S
Surrey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A fantastic villa, superbly located”
Reviewed 20 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
4
people found this review helpful

We have just returned from a week at Philippe's villa at Monbazillac, France. The Villa itself is amazing and the view is to die for (much better than in the photo!).
We were lucky to have amazing weather and the outside pool was perfect for lazing around each day and to eat lunch and dinner by.
Bergerac is close by and is a lovely City, plenty to do there, you could visit a couple of times during a week's stay.
The villa is just across the road from Philippe's restaurant, La Grappe D'Or, which was excellent. It is also next door to a boulangerie which was open 7am to 7pm and where you can buy fresh croissant's at a fraction of the cost in the UK. All in all we had an excellent holiday and would not hesitate to visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The villa itself, especially the pool area
Liked least: No air conditioning in bedrooms
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick S
Hoddesdon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful villa in stunning vineyard location - good for families!”
Reviewed 6 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Philippe's villa for a week in Montbazillac, just outside of Bergerac, in June. There were 4 adults and one toddler. The first thing to say is the location of the villa is perfect, beautifully set high above vineyards with an amazing view towards Bergerac which you can see. It is also only 10 minutes drive from Bergerac airport, so transfers are easy.

On arrival at the villa we met Philippe at his restaurant next door. Philippe is a great host and showed us round and explained how everything worked (pool, air con, bathrooms, locks etc). He is always close by if you have any queries, and I would definitely recommend eating at his fabulous restaurant La Grappe d'Or. He was also very help pre arrival answering my queries, and went out of his way to ensure my daughter had a suitable cot to sleep in.

The villa itself is beautiful, with both traditional and modern aspects. It's very spacious and comfortably sleeps 6-8, and there are 3 bathrooms/toilets. The kitchen is well equipped and all areas are very clean. The outdoor area is amazing and where we spent a lot of time by pool, which is heated at 31 degrees all day long.

The area is very rural and peaceful, but Bergerac is only a ten minute drive and other small towns/villages are just a short drive away. There are lots of great vineyards too, we really enjoyed Chateau Montbazillac and it's stunning grounds.

I would certainly recommend this villa to both adult parties and those travelling with children, and we are already looking forward to returning.

Thanks for a wonderful holiday Philippe!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool and views from Patio are amazing
Liked least: Garden area had quite a steep incline
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing