We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely perfect for an easy and delightful...”
other travellers have booked this property
Large Luxury Villa in its unspoiled environment
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Large Luxury Villa in its unspoiled environment
Spacious and luxurious villa in its green setting Heated  Pool overlooking lake and gorgeous landscape
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Large Luxury Villa in its unspoiled environment
Spacious and luxurious villa in its green setting
Heated  Pool overlooking lake and gorgeous landscape
Spacious and full equipped main Kitchen
Comfortable Lounge with TV/DVD, HiFi system and fireplace
Spacious & nice luminous Dining room
King size Double bedroom en-suite
King size bedroom en-suite with terrace
Billiard room with bar and comfortable seating
Shower room with balneo system
Relaxation room with jacuzzi (5 people), sauna & fitness equipment
spacious twin bedroom leading on terrace
Nice tiled Bathroom and wc
Terrace overlooking pool, lake and unspoiled scenery
View from the front of the Villa, overlooking lake and gorgeous scenery
One of the terraces in green environment
Distribution corridor of the first floor and its old beams
Bathroom on the first floor
Spacious queen size bedroom + single bed on the first floor
Large twin bedroom on the first floor
Relaxation building with Jacuzzi, Sauna and fitness equipment
Large & Luxury Villa Les Grands Chênes
Luxuriant & large flowery garden in front of the Villa
Horses of the neighbouring riding school
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
12 Bedrooms, 10 Bathrooms, Sleeps 27
Monbazillac, Bergerac, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
SCtheTrav...
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect for an easy and delightful family gathering”
Reviewed 3 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We had a fabulous stay. Marie-Jeanne and Daniel are warm and welcoming hosts and have created a perfect holiday home.

The kitchen had all the equipment you could possibly need - salad spinners, blender, deep fryer, TWO dishwashers, so many saucepans and frying pans, electric knife sharpener... Catering for ourselves was so easy and the setting so gorgeous, we only ventured out for dinner on one evening.

The pool and surrounds are a delight - so many beautiful flowers, plenty of comfy sun beds with cushions, fabulous views. Great separation if you wanted it with bedrooms and living areas spread around the property. If you have small kids (we didn't) in the party there is an alarm on the pool area and toys galore. There are two table tennis options - indoors or out, jacuzzi was lovely on the one day we had cooler weather and there is a fenced trampoline.

The location is 15 mins from Bergerac airport (but far enough to have no planes going overhead) and close to markets, restaurants etc but with almost no passing traffic it is ideally quiet.

We all loved our stay here and are grateful to Marie-Jeanne and Daniel for creating such a lovely atmosphere for our family gathering.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2017
Hello Sophie, Thank you very much for taking the time to write us a review. We were very pleased to welcome you and your family and look forward to seeing you soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Se7ens60
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect place to relax and unwind”
Reviewed 27 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

This was our 3rd stay, with friends, at Daniel and Marie-Jeannes house and it never disappoints. We were fortunate to have good weather during our entire stay and so, used the pool area a lot. The house sits in the most beautiful setting you can imagine, with a wonderful view of the valley beyond and is very well equipped with all you could want for a self catering holiday.
There are a good selection of restaurants nearby although we rarely felt the need to leave the house and garden, apart from having to purchase food and wine.
The house is always presented well, is very clean and the welcome from the owners is exceptional. Like meeting up with old friends again!
Every time we leave, we look forward to the time when we can return. We have stayed in a few other houses in the region over the years, but Les Grands Chenes is the only one we keep returning to, so I guess that alone must tell one all you need to know about this absolute gem.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jun 2017
Thank you Brent for your review - it was great to have you stay again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon B
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb French villa in stunning location”
Reviewed 28 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Spent a week here feeling like Lords of the Manor. The utilities are second-to-none, the bedrooms feel vast, and the whole place and grounds were so well-resourced and spacious that you'd hardly know that there was 25 of us there at times.

This was an absolutely dream week away which we'd all love to repeat.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sallddlo
Greater London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb holiday in an amazing house”
Reviewed 17 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a week’s holiday in this amazing house. 26 friends and family aged 3 to 80 gathered to celebrate a 50th birthday and what a fantastic week we all had. The house is just perfect, the bedrooms all very spacious and comfortable, staying cool even in the heat of the day. The pictures, whilst accurate, don’t really do justice to the house - it is vast and the beautifully tended grounds with its amazing views and so many quiet corners and little secret hideaways ensure that there are plenty of places to escape the hullabaloo of a huge group if needed ! While the beauty of the house and views are spectacular the house is also extremely welcoming and cosy, it felt like you were staying in someone’s beloved home not just a soulless rental property.

The three kitchens were more than adequate for catering for our huge party, we ate in almost every night making full use of the huge BBQ and wonderful vine covered terrace that comfortably sat the whole party. We shopped in the local Artisan Boulangerie on the main road to Bergerac, about a 5 minute drive, we picked up the most delicious bread, croissants, fruit tarts. The little local Carrefour in Sigoules was well used and the big Leclerc just outside Bergerac perfect for the big shop.

The facilities in the house kept everyone busy, the wonderful warm pool with ample sun loungers, the billiards table, the games area with table tennis/table football/bikes/trampolines/dartboard etc… etc… we also played lots of team games in the large garden at the back of the house by the volley ball court, Rounders and Cricket and ultimate frisbee being the favourites. We visited the nearby Chateaux Bridoire hours of fun for the little ones. The elder teenagers used the Go Kart track near the Leclerc supermarket on way to Bergerac, we also spent a wonderful day canoeing down the Dordogne at Beynac. A beautiful part of the river but the traffic along that stretch meant it was a 2 hour drive away so maybe a nearer start would be best. We also visited Parc en Ciel a High Ropes course that was suitable for little ones and challenging for our young adults with good climbing skills, a sort of “Go Ape” outfit but with about 8 different courses, 50 minute drive south through some lovely countryside on very quiet roads. Bergerac is worth a visit on market day as is Issigeac a delightful small medieval town just 15 mins away.

Our one night out was to Sigoules night market, held on Friday evening during the summer months. Go early grab a table and choose your dinner from the hordes of food stalls surrounding the market square, there is wine/beer available too all very reasonably priced. We arrived about 7pm and easily grabbed a big table for all 26 of us to share. There was folk music and dancing after the meal and it was a truly magical last night of our holiday at Les Grandes Chenes. Thank you so much to Daniel and Marie-Jeanne for letting us share your beautiful house for this perfect week. Merci beaucoup et a bientot.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool, views, outside areas,
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ukmermaid...
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful time at Les Grands Chenes- what a beautiful place”
Reviewed 12 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We were a party of 21 adults - (5 band members from way back, 40+years!, with the next generation youngest 16yrs) . The venue was chosen for being able to accommodate a large party who wished to play instruments and sing without upsetting the neighbours.
What a wonderful setting, plenty of space for everyone to chill and enjoy. We used all the facilities and cooked every night for the whole party, eating outdoors as the weather was fantastic. Les Grands Chenes is a beautiful classic French home from home. Lots of rooms, all different.The grounds are very pretty and well looked after. We all had a thoroughly amazing time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The home from home feeling in a wonderful setting
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing