We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Vio.com
Agoda.com
Multiple ways to pay
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Carol_A_N
Nottingham, United Kingdom

Nice hotel overlooking River Kwai

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 16 Mar 2014
We stayed here for 1 night on a tour of Thailand. Nice bedroom but bathroom was a bit dated. Had buffet evening meal which tasted OK but the food was cold. Nice breakfast though try the Thai pancakes they are lovely.
Date of stay: February 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
AU$246
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$246
3.8 km from River Kwai Village (Jungle Resort)
Free parking
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
AU$149
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$149
3.0 km from River Kwai Village (Jungle Resort)
Pool
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
AU$152
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
5.7 km from River Kwai Village (Jungle Resort)
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Tripadvisor
AU$107
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$107
6.9 km from River Kwai Village (Jungle Resort)
Free parking
Pool
Tripadvisor
AU$64
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$64
  • Priceline
6.1 km from River Kwai Village (Jungle Resort)
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
AU$102
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$102
7.8 km from River Kwai Village (Jungle Resort)
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
AU$101
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$101
10.1 km from River Kwai Village (Jungle Resort)
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$56
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
30.1 km from River Kwai Village (Jungle Resort)
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$66
  • eDreams
7.8 km from River Kwai Village (Jungle Resort)
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    AU$98
  • Lol.travel
  • Trip.com
26.3 km from River Kwai Village (Jungle Resort)
Restaurant
View more hotels in Sai Yok
Reviews (220)
Filter reviews
220 results
Traveller rating
62
71
47
21
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
62
71
47
21
19
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 220 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I was on a group tour so I didn't have any choice in selecting the hotels, but I must say that the River Kwai Village lived up to what most other reviewers had to say. We had a river raft room, which was delightful in terms of the location and was well-appointed, except for the air conditioning (which didn't respond either to the temperature or fan control) and lack of hot water. During our visit, temperatures in the area dropped to their lowest in 10 years, so the lack of room heating and hot water became a real problem. The maintenance staff kept telling us that all was fixed, but it never was and the only solution was to request extra blankets and just cope with quick tepid showers. The hotel is filled with Russian tourists, but, unlike other reviewers, I didn't find them loud or pushy. However, the buffet food on offer and geared to their taste is appalling. Watery, tasteless curries that were barely warm. Same with the breakfast buffet although I did manage to get freshly fried eggs after pointing out the cold lifeless yellow sludge that passed for scrambled eggs! The evening cultural show is a joke. Kids who have no idea what they are doing, accompanied by the most ghastly out-of-tune singing I've ever heard. Once the show is over, the only other entertainment is a disco, which thuds into the night and permeates into all the rooms making sleep impossible. On a final note, whilst the river raft rooms are clearly the most attractive option in this hotel, be warned about noisy river boats roaring past at full throttle, as well as the steep climbing steps up to the hotel reception and restaurant.

Date of stay: December 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SydneyAussieJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We recently did a tour round Thailand and this was one of the Hotels we stayed in. The setting is stunning and first impressions it looks amazing, however when we were shown to our room we were not impressed. It was dirty, the doors didnt close properly, there was a huge gap in the outside door so bugs were just coming through, we actually had to put towls in the gap to try and stop the bugs. This was a very Russian based hotel, so dinner invloved a lot of pushing and shoving to the buffet and the entertianment was little to be desired, when it was simply little children singing and prancing on stage. Overall I was very disappointed but the location was beautiful and if your only here 1/2 nights its livable.

Room tip: This hotel is in the middle of no where so the hotel is the only place you can eat/drink and watch entertainment
Date of stay: December 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 514kylies
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

Location:Far far away land(not sherk disney cartoon territory) jus 50 min from main bridge of river kwai kanjanaburi downtown. Close to Saiyok National Park district.
No anything nearby hotel. U will feel like Tom Hank in Castaway movies.

Exterior:There are 3 type of room property.Bungalow//Buildinh//Floating raft. I stayed on top of River Wing builing type.The below level floor look deserted abandon with no one stay. Building itself look old some broken roof. Tree cover area everywhere. Feel Humidity Wet swamp Likewise camping in Rain forest.

Floating type room located on river. Inside room quite small toilet. with an unstablize floor according too river currents.

Open air restaurant: Old design with helpful staff. However;Buffet food are for Russian group. Mostly greasy, oily, watery with tough sticky chicken, plain dessert.

Lobby// Reception area. Old decorated with wooden furnished. Ladyboy staff with neglect service.

Entertainment: Resort offer Karaoke room//Bar//with Burmese
dance free show.

Hot spring spa nearby:same hotel own property. these take another optional program for inhoisr guest. ofcourse for charge not free. Jus 5 min by longtail boat from river kwai village. Hot spring have 20 pond for dipping treatment. Start from pond1. normal temperature then to bit hot and hotter opening skin pore until last pond cool down close the pore again. Also fishspa pond and muddy facial treatment offer.

Interior:For my room type(Highest fllor River wing Building) the view in the morning is so touchy. Completely real rainforest tree nature with slowly river currents and bird chirping. Room has veranda with smoking seat area.
In room a bit humid dim from rain outside(we stayed in rainy season Late June 2012) Some dirty mold on curtain and bedsheet cover.

The pool: the slider pool is on renovation the day we visited.so we missed it. Another adult normsl pool is ok.

Date of stay: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimSip81
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 August 2013

This used to be bigger with a mini zoo and other small attractions. Very big resort now quiet apart from Russian guests in the pool and the corridors.
2 or 3 very big pools. Ours had a slider and the kids loved it.
The rooms looks old but are very clean. We are in the middle of the jungle and you can hear noises you will not often hear, especially in the evening and night. the gardens are beautiful and i think well maintained.
The restaurant does not look nice but it is clean. Our food was ok and staff very friendly.
We also had our first massage in Thailand in this hotel. Be aware that Thai massage is quite an experience. We expected smooth and relaxing massage. Wrong ! Crazy streching and muscle punching. We had a good laugh!

Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HariSeldon55
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

This is one of my favorite place in Kanchanaburi. I've been travel around this province a lot and I've staying in many hotels there. This one is the best. Nice rooms beside swimming pool, good rooms in the main building and amazing bungalows on the rafts. I like raft-room the most. It's huge and well decorated. Polite and friendly staff. And the best of it - they have hot spring Rock valley!!! Also you can rent ATV there as entertaiment. I like the most their breakfast: all that you want, as much as you can eat - both thai and continental food:-) I like this hotel. Thank you, River Kwai Village, for great time!

Date of stay: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Perwana
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews