We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Agoda.com
Multiple ways to pay
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Pervana Mamedova
Novosibirsk, Russia
My favourite
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 27 Apr 2013via mobile
This is one of my favorite place in Kanchanaburi. I've been travel around this province a lot and I've staying in many hotels there. This one is the best. Nice rooms beside swimming pool, good rooms in the main building and amazing bungalows on the rafts. I like raft-room the most. It's huge and well decorated. Polite and friendly staff. And the best of it - they have hot spring Rock valley!!! Also you can rent ATV there as entertaiment. I like the most their breakfast: all that you want, as much as you can eat - both thai and continental food:-) I like this hotel. Thank you, River Kwai Village, for great time!
Date of stay: July 2012
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
AU$111
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
3.0 km from River Kwai Village (Jungle Resort)
Pool
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
AU$228
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
4.1 km from River Kwai Village (Jungle Resort)
Free parking
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
AU$148
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
5.7 km from River Kwai Village (Jungle Resort)
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$64
  • Priceline
24.0 km from River Kwai Village (Jungle Resort)
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$122
  • Lol.travel
26.6 km from River Kwai Village (Jungle Resort)
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$109
  • Agoda.com
4.3 km from River Kwai Village (Jungle Resort)
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$62
  • Priceline
7.0 km from River Kwai Village (Jungle Resort)
Free parking
Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$53
  • Priceline
24.4 km from River Kwai Village (Jungle Resort)
Free parking
Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$67
  • Booking.com
34.1 km from River Kwai Village (Jungle Resort)
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Lol.travel
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$37
  • Agoda.com
29.6 km from River Kwai Village (Jungle Resort)
Restaurant
Room service
View more hotels in Sai Yok
Reviews (220)
Filter reviews
220 results
Traveller rating
62
71
47
21
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
62
71
47
21
19
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 220 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2013

I was very surprised when we travelled so far into the country to turn into the drive through gentle hills to find this resort tuck into the bushland right on the Rive Kwai. The entrace lobby is large and open spaced with heavy but glorious wooden furniture and beams. We were led to our room a good walk away- there seems to be groups of rooms set amongst lush gardens with two good sized swimming pools.
Our room was very large - certainly tired - in need of a make over perhaps - in fact I think the whole place could do with a make over - it is quite dated in some areas - BUT - we actually liked it. The bathroom was quite large - the shower space was particularly large.

Steppin out onto our balcony we viewed the river with its swift current - we watched several boats go by and then a group of about 15 people floated with the current in life jackets right past us - it looked like fun.
We took advantage of the main pool which is divided into 3 areas and has a water slide which even at our advanced ages gave it a go. We did have to get a map from reception to find it though. There were pool towels available.

Dinner at the hotel was buffet style - there were many tourist coaches there - quite a few Russians who seem quite rude and pushy - but we just waited and had a drink for 15 minutes then chose our meals. There is certainly a wide range of choice - mostly Thai style stir fry - but the Pad Thai was wonderful. Just fresh fruits and a plain butter cake for dessert. There was entertainment by the staff's children with traditional northern / Burmese style dancing. While interesting it is not professional but there is certainly not much else to do right out here.
We did notice the flashing lights of a nightclub but gave it a miss.

Our stay was just one night but I am sure a few nights here would be fine - if you can take a deep breath and adjust to the hordes of tourists.

Room tip: This resort is way into the country so the only noise is the birds or rain on the roof.
Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Granny-Mae
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 February 2013

This was a great place to stay! a bit basic, but very clean and beautiful staff (except for the lady boy at the front counter!- he was quite rude and very unhelpful.) Rawi and friends in the resturant are awesome!!! loved the Mon dancing each night!
This is a great location for people to stay if they are wanting to see Hellfire pass, and other historical sights, there is plently to do in and around the place! Would go back again, perhaps when there arent as many rude Russians.

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sgriffo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and did enjoy our stay. We are a family of 4 and had 2 raft rooms, both were very clean and could not fault anything here, even if the shower was a bit cool. Yes there are alot of steps from the river up to the restaurants, pools etc, so if you don't like the steps maybe book another type of room, we just looked at it as our thigh and butt exercise for the 2 days. The pools were clean and in the afternoons we enjoyed just lazing around them after our days out, my son especially enjoyed the slide. The buffet dinner was not much on the first night, but on the 2nd night dinner wasn't included in the package so we just ordered from the menu and what a difference this food was, very nice thai food. Don't worry about the buffet, order straight from the menu. Staff were always friendly and helpful, especially Emma, she was our tour guide and then recommeded we do the Hot Springs on our free morning, this was great. Overall we had a fun time here, you cannot compare this to a 5 star hotel in the city but for what it is we enjoyed our stay.

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pipes101
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 January 2013

My husband were at this hotel for an overnight stay in December as were visiting the River Kwai and Hell Fire Pass. It looked lovely from the photos on the internet but what a disappointment. Our raft room was shabby and the bathroom grubby - not even a soap dish.

We were unaware that there were so many steps down to our room and I found it quite hard going to get back up to the restaurant for dinner. A photo of the steps on the website would be a good idea.

The buffet laid out for the Russian visitors was open to the elements for quite some time and we were reluctant to eat from it, ordering table d'hote instead. The restaurant had the air of an old style works canteen and even though the staff were polite, we certainly did not enjoy eating there.

Such a lovely area but not a lot going for this hotel.

Room tip: Avoid raft rooms as you get constant noise from the speed boats, starting early in the morning. Waiter told us next year, 2013, there would be parties of Chinese arriving most days so not a place for a restful, quiet holiday.
Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SueChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 December 2012

Any website booking this hotel should come with the following warning ' Warning Russians!'.

When I arrived to check in I immediately notices hordes of Russian guests, non of which could speak English arriving at reception and pointing at a number board to get room keys. The receptionist informed me that I was one of few guests checking in that was not Russian.

Another warning, the hotel is about 60 kms from the town of Kanchanaburi and about 5 hours from Bangkok by car - and it is not a nice drive.

The room adequate but the bed was hard and the tv small. I had a room on the river at 4,200 Baht per night which was crazy for what you got. There was no hot water and after complaining to reception repeatedly they sent and engineer who I had to teach how to remove the shower head - as it was clogged with sand!

I imagine the hotel owners really do not care about FIT guests as they are full with Russian tours.

Dinner was absolutely terrible. A buffet with dance show from a local Mon tribe. The sound was so bad from the speaker system it made your head hurt. The food was mostly deep fried stuff and the Russians seemed to be enjoying it. Breakfast was no better with the usual sugared orange drink and pineapple and watermelon and white bread. Very poor quality. For what I was paying I would have had a much nicer room, food and service in Bangkok.

Reception was rude, and there is no internet in the room, but very slow internet in the lobby. There is a ladyboy at reception that never leaves his seat and just smiles and does nothing when asked for help. Clearly there is no foreign management in this resort as the quality is so bad and the place is so rundown. However the Russians seemed to love it, but then they were probably paying 1000 baht a night for the same room I had!

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nonoiseplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews