We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in great prices from these sites
Priceline
Booking.com
ZenHotels.com
StayForLong
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (214)
Filter reviews
214 results
Traveller rating
59
71
47
20
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
59
71
47
20
17
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 214 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and did enjoy our stay. We are a family of 4 and had 2 raft rooms, both were very clean and could not fault anything here, even if the shower was a bit cool. Yes there are alot of steps from the river up to the restaurants, pools etc, so if you don't like the steps maybe book another type of room, we just looked at it as our thigh and butt exercise for the 2 days. The pools were clean and in the afternoons we enjoyed just lazing around them after our days out, my son especially enjoyed the slide. The buffet dinner was not much on the first night, but on the 2nd night dinner wasn't included in the package so we just ordered from the menu and what a difference this food was, very nice thai food. Don't worry about the buffet, order straight from the menu. Staff were always friendly and helpful, especially Emma, she was our tour guide and then recommeded we do the Hot Springs on our free morning, this was great. Overall we had a fun time here, you cannot compare this to a 5 star hotel in the city but for what it is we enjoyed our stay.

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pipes101
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 January 2013

My husband were at this hotel for an overnight stay in December as were visiting the River Kwai and Hell Fire Pass. It looked lovely from the photos on the internet but what a disappointment. Our raft room was shabby and the bathroom grubby - not even a soap dish.

We were unaware that there were so many steps down to our room and I found it quite hard going to get back up to the restaurant for dinner. A photo of the steps on the website would be a good idea.

The buffet laid out for the Russian visitors was open to the elements for quite some time and we were reluctant to eat from it, ordering table d'hote instead. The restaurant had the air of an old style works canteen and even though the staff were polite, we certainly did not enjoy eating there.

Such a lovely area but not a lot going for this hotel.

Room tip: Avoid raft rooms as you get constant noise from the speed boats, starting early in the morning. Waiter told us next year, 2013, there would be parties of Chinese arriving most days so not a place for a restful, quiet holiday.
Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SueChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 December 2012

Any website booking this hotel should come with the following warning ' Warning Russians!'.

When I arrived to check in I immediately notices hordes of Russian guests, non of which could speak English arriving at reception and pointing at a number board to get room keys. The receptionist informed me that I was one of few guests checking in that was not Russian.

Another warning, the hotel is about 60 kms from the town of Kanchanaburi and about 5 hours from Bangkok by car - and it is not a nice drive.

The room adequate but the bed was hard and the tv small. I had a room on the river at 4,200 Baht per night which was crazy for what you got. There was no hot water and after complaining to reception repeatedly they sent and engineer who I had to teach how to remove the shower head - as it was clogged with sand!

I imagine the hotel owners really do not care about FIT guests as they are full with Russian tours.

Dinner was absolutely terrible. A buffet with dance show from a local Mon tribe. The sound was so bad from the speaker system it made your head hurt. The food was mostly deep fried stuff and the Russians seemed to be enjoying it. Breakfast was no better with the usual sugared orange drink and pineapple and watermelon and white bread. Very poor quality. For what I was paying I would have had a much nicer room, food and service in Bangkok.

Reception was rude, and there is no internet in the room, but very slow internet in the lobby. There is a ladyboy at reception that never leaves his seat and just smiles and does nothing when asked for help. Clearly there is no foreign management in this resort as the quality is so bad and the place is so rundown. However the Russians seemed to love it, but then they were probably paying 1000 baht a night for the same room I had!

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nonoiseplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 December 2012

The location is rather remote. Our room was on the river and was an experience ! The rooms were very basic, but so many steps back up. flies were a big problem but was not the fault of the hotel. Sleep was a problem with such loud music late into the night, The breakfast was very basic.

Room tip: Mobility problems ? avoid the river rooms !
Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cosworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 November 2012

River Kwai Village Resort

Four years ago, I joined a coach load of tourists in Bangkok about to head-off north west, for a full day tour of Kanchanaburi, the River Kwai, the World War 11 cemetery, a trip on a train, a 15 minute race along the river in a 'long-tail' boat, all followed by a leisurely meal of Thai delicacies at the well-established River Kwai Village Resort, situated alongside the river bank.

The entire tour was a success, despite spending over four hours in the coach.

Last week, whilst again in Bangkok, I thought it a good idea to repeat the tour and compare it with what I had experienced last time.

The first major difference, was that the coach had been superseded by a modern Toyota people carrier, which meant threading a way through the city and its crowded road system was much easier and quicker.

I, along with six others, had booked through a local company named Jack Holiday Service. Both the guide and driver were first class, knowledgeable and pleasant.

The tour took the same format as before, giving us plenty of time to take-in the sights, click our camera shutters and cogitate in silence as we strolled between the immaculately kept rows of graves, noting just how many men that lay there were so young when their lives were brutally cut short.

With the 'tour' part over, we were driven to the Village Resort for what I had explained to my fellow passengers, would be a great lunch, served by smiling Thais, as we looked down at the fast flowing river.

Never will I allow myself to be proved so wrong again.

We were ushered along into what I realised was a greatly expanded restaurant area and then ran into a hoard of hungry and impatient folk, 90% of which hailed from what used to be the USSR. Gone were the small, round tables, where guests could chat quietly whilst eating – they had been replaced with long, trestle-like tables, where conversation was limited to the persons sitting alongside. The noise and babble was certainly not conducive to relaxed socialising.

Then there was the food! Yet again a dramatic change. No individual Thai dishes for one to sample at will, no beautifully decorated bowls, no freshly prepared ingredients, no pots of delicately flavoured tea, no service except for a few young men touting for guests to buy drinks (at an extra cost, of course).

Instead, the entire area had been turned into what one could best describe as...'an army canteen.'

Along a couple of tables, buffet-style metal trays held a very limited range of cooked and uncooked food. Carbohydrate was certainly in evidence...spaghetti – pasta – bolognese sauce – chips - rice – so-called 'fried chicken' and a few other unidentifiable dishes. Dessert offerings were limited to cubes of weak jelly-like 'wobblies' and some squares of cake.

Add to this, the fact of dozens of adults pushing, shoving and shouting in their efforts to secure a place at the front of the queue – plus many of their errant children demonstrating their ability to show-off to the staff...and I reckon readers can picture the scene accurately.
My fellow travellers were appalled at such uncalled for behaviour. That it was as bad as the food tasted, said it all!

Visit the River Kwai and it environs by all means, but do insist that you dine at a venue which is at least traditional and serves authentic Thai dishes.

Room tip: Be prepared for the Rising Damp
Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cumbrian25
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews