We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Priceline
USD 24
View deal
Free cancellation until 27/10/21
Booking.com
USD 22
View deal
Free cancellation until 29/10/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
eDreams
USD 22
View deal
Free cancellation until 29/10/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
TripadvisorUSD 22
Trip.com
Expedia.com
View all 11 deals
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (84)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveller rating
20
21
26
7
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
20
21
26
7
10
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 84 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Stayed here for two nights, Hotel looks fantastic outside and in the reception area but the bedroom seemed dated and we had a lot of damage to the ceiling in the Bathroom from and old water leak from upstairs and also the room was very dusty so considering they were quiet the should have put us in another room. The Location is a good hour + drive from Khonkaen. The breakfast was passable the choice of ham, sausage or Fried egg or Thai option was available and was free with the room rate which I must say was very good value. The Enjoy Par Say beer garden is attached to the hotel and a great place to relax and enjoy a drink or sample some fantastic Thai food. Hotel has a large Tesco Lotus across the road with Banking and fast food facilities. The staff were very polite as many places in Thailand and also extremely helpful however I just feel the room let this hotel down on this occasion but I will use again.

Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SwitchDan79
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We have recently stayed at this hotel to celebrate Songkran (the Thai new year) and to visit my wife's family A fellow reviewer quite rightly points out that this property is located in Chum Phae and not Khon Kaen city which is at least an hours drive away. The staff remain friendly and are always helpful. The rooms are comfortable and clean and the breakfast is of a good standard with a choice of Asian and European food. Room service food is authentic Thai and very reasonably priced. The pool area is a very pleasant setting with a nice little bar which serves food and drinks. The adequately equipped gym is next to the pool and is clean and well maintained. The hotel is very well located for Chum Phae and now has a Tesco Lotus superstore opposite and also KFC, 7-11 shop, Amazon cafe etc. Even with Northern Thailand being a much cheaper place to live or stay than the tourist resorts I feel that around £15 a room per night with breakfast it still offers great value. They also hire motor cycles from around £1.50 per day. One thing that does let this hotel down a little is the maintenance of the rooms and in particular the bathrooms. The shower doors have never worked even when the place was almost brand new. They do not slide and on my first stay I actually walked into the bedroom to show my wife the door which had detached from the frame. There is mildew and the sealing and grouting needs doing properly. Some of the bedroom fixtures are also looking a little tatty or grubby. It's a shame because it does let the place down a little and the manager (nice guy!) should get a grip of this. On saying this Since our first stay they seem to have managed to iron out some of the early teething problems. For example the pool is now European standard (it was often closed due to maintenance issues) and the wifi now works. On the whole a very good place and we will be staying again soon!

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 April 2012

If you've been to Chumpae (not Khon Kaen which is an hours drive away and Trip Advisor really should consider it a separate location because it won't be like I describe for long ), you'll know it's like traveling back in time 30 years. Friendly people, country atmosphere, but until the Major Grand opened, there was no place where a modern person could stay without considering your disappearance a jungle trip and resign yourself to complete absence from the modern world.

Now there is the Major Grand opened around 2 years ago, a solid 3 star hotel which I give a 5* ranking because Trip Advisor is a satisfaction index not a Fodor's star ranking and the rate is only 25 USD per night including breakfast, obviously hard to beat anywhere in the world. You won't find any places like this in Thailand for this price. This was my second stay on account I have family nearby.

Pros

* Full Service Hotel, with all major points
covered.
* Has nice (slightly small but adequate) pool which was very clean
* Has a Gym which looked totally adequate although I didn't
use it
* Has Room Service at reasonable prices
* Has Free WiFi, this should be in Capital Letters because
you don't wanna be out in the boondocks
with no communication. And the Wifi worked
good even on a 1 hour Skype call to the US
* Has LCD TV's with clear picture and a handful
of English Channels, enough to get by
* Friendly Staff who really seem to try, I speak
Thai so I didn't really test their English, but at
least I heard a few of the staff at reception
speak English a bit and when I ordered a
Ham Cheese Omelette for at breakfast they
knew what I was talking about.

Con's (if that's what you wanna consider them)

* It's still not an international standard in small ways
but that is not a big deal at this price.
* Beds are hard, but that's normal out here
* It's in town so it's not really a resort destination
but I prefer it to the places in the countryside
outside of town cause they're missing so
many amenities, services, and connectivity

So in a nutshell, unless saving a couple bucks off this completely reasonable rate is a big deal for you, this is the only place to stay in Chumpae.

I would put this in the tips section, but it's important everyone see's it, I walked into a suite room while the maids were cleaning it after a check out and was told it cost 80 US/night. Don't bother it's not worth it.

Happy Traveling,

Uncle Eric

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 January 2012

This time we stayed for 15 nights at the hotel. It was our third stay in 2 years. The rooms are nice and clean, breakfast is boring. Everyday the exactly the same western items, thai itms changfe slightly. Staff not very attentive. The swimmingpool is great and watrer quality significantly improved compared with last year. The pool bar operated this year again (it was closed last year). I missed more hotel management attention. We rented a motorbike (150 THB per day). It was ok but run already 20.000 kilometers. Overall the hotel is a good value for money!

Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Klaus K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 October 2011

The Major Grand hotel looks very impressive upon arrival, there is a fantastic reception and the wide marble spiral staircase does indeed give the place a 'grand' look. The hotel is very reasonable priced at around 750 baht (£15) a night and includes breakfast. The rooms are very big with great beds and flat screen TV's. The staff were delightful throughout my 3 days there, and the hotel has a really nice swiming pool and a gym for the more energetic. Two slightly negative points, first the towels in the room, although clean, didn't smell great and i would suggest a change of washing powder or maybe using a bit more,and second the finish in the bathroom was a bit grubby ( grouting needed doing again and shower door doesn't slide very well, actually I couldn't get mine to budge an inch), having said that, this hotel is clean and tidy and is great value and give the feel of a much more luxurious and expensive hotel. There is a seven eleven and a tesco lotus over the road and a few road side eating places and a couple of bars, it's a taxi ride into town but if you are travelling through khon kaen on the 210 highway, then i would recommend this hotel, you won't be dissapointed

Room tip: All the rooms are quiet and comfortable
Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank guysgood2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews