We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Another fantastic stay at Lilybank Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Lilybank

Lilybank Aerial_2015
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lilybank Aerial_2015
Lilybank Front_2_2015 Lilybank Country Holiday Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Lilybank Aerial_2015
Lilybank Front_2_2015
Lilybank Country Holiday Cottage
Lilybank Side_2015
Lilybank Front Room_3_2015
Lilybank Front Room_2015
Lilybank Front Room_2_2015
Lilybank Kitchen_2015
Family/Dining Room - dining table - seats 8, with sea views
Lilybank Family Room_2015
Lilybank Family Room_2_2015
Lilybank Downstairs Twin Room_2015
Lilybank Downstairs Twin Room_2_2015
En- suite bathroom 1
Lilybank Downstairs Double Bedroom_2015
Lilybank Downstairs Toilet_2015
Lilybank Upstairs Twin Bedroom 2
Lilybank Upstairs Double Bedroom_2015
Lilybank Upstairs En-suite
View from the garden, looking North
Sunrise over Dunnottar Castle
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
St Cyrus, Aberdeenshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
DebRon01
2 reviews
“Another fantastic stay at Lilybank Cottage”
Reviewed 25 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

I have just returned from another stay at Lilybank Cottage and I was not disappointed. This was my fourth stay in the last 3.5 years and it was just as good as the first, second and third stay. This time it was a family trip for myself, my husband, my daughter and her boyfriend and we spent 3 fabulous nights enjoying the house and the views. The house was spotless and comes with everything you need for a comfortable stay. The fresh cut flowers and home baking were a lovely welcome. The views are stunning and I doubt I'll ever get board of them. We spent many hours sitting on the window seat just reading, relaxing and looking out over the sea. I'm already contemplating my next return.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley S
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely fabulous - beautiful,stylish and comfortable - perfect for our family holiday.”
Reviewed 20 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our family gathering at Lilybank. It was spotlessly clean & provided for all our needs, with plenty of space for us all (7 in total). The sun lounge is magnificent. All the rooms are spacious and the whole property is decorated & furnished to a very high standard. I think it is the best self-catering property I have ever stayed in. The owners were nearby & on hand & welcoming, without being obtrusive. It was lovely to look out over the sea and be so near the coast in this beautiful part of the world.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall ambience of the property - beautifully decorated, comfortable, with view across the sea.
Liked least: I struggled with the locks on the doors - other people coped ok but there was a definite knack to them & I only managed on the last day!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsti W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful house with fantastic views”
Reviewed 18 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Just back from a lovely week at Lilybank. Enjoyed the fact it is on the coast but also has country feel. Kids enjoyed playing in the large garden, and was a great base to explore the local area. House was well equipped and rooms were immaculate. Owner met us with homemade biscuits and gave some good pointers for local amenities. Would definitely recommend a stay here.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandy46
West Midlands
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Outatanding!”
Reviewed 21 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A fantastic house! We booked the property as it was close to a family wedding. I don't think we could have found anywhere better. The house was very spacious, comfortable and stylishly furnished with quality fittings. The kitchen was huge and contained everything we needed. There were 4 generous double bedrooms and 3 bathrooms. The beds were very comfortable and had feather and down quilts. There were extensive views of the coastline from most of the windows. The only down-side to our stay was the awful weather, but we didn't mind so much spending extra time in such a lovely house.
Our party included 3 small children who really enjoyed their rare opportunities to go to the beach rock pooling. They also enjoyed the playgrounds in Montrose and Johnshaven and the open air pool at Stonehaven. Highlights for the adults included seafood dinner at the Anchor at Johnshaven and a wet afternoon in the Art Gallery in Aberdeen.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scie5
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
1 review
“You have gave some very thankful people an exceptional well deserved holiday”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Truly amazing. The house, location and exceptional forever changing views of the sea and the warmest of days made this extra special. You have made five very worthy people extremely happy and they want to return very very soon, thank you so much. A truly amazing and beautiful home from home, thank you so much.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Liked best: The garden room and it's accessibility for persons with limited mobility
Liked least: We would like seating for 8 persons outside
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing