We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Much better than previous reviewers give credit...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 7
Astley, Worcestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
NicholasM...
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Much better than previous reviewers give credit for”
Reviewed 30 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Let us be clear there are pluses and minuses to this property, but it seems churlish to criticise the minuses when you know what you are signing up to.
Let us deal with the positives first. The cottage was plenty warm enough. It was clean, tidy and well furnished and the wifi was good. It is also in a lovely quiet riverside location with great walks for dogs and humans on the doorstep. There are plenty of all sorts of entertainments that can be had a short drive away, from the West Mids Safari Park and Severn Valley Railway, to Hartlebury Museum, Worcester City and so on. Being all on one level with a very small step on the access path meant that it was easy enough to get elderly family members into and out of the house.
However; had we been more organised we would have tried to find a property with more than one bathroom, and with a washing machine. We might also have looked for a cottage that was not the undercroft of someone's house. We weren't organised and so we made do with what we got, and no doubt paid less than we would have, if we had found a picturesque cottage with all the facilities that we could have desired.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary H
Blackburn, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cold and not very clean”
Reviewed 1 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
6
people found this review helpful

Arrived and the place was stone cold like no one had been in it for months, it also smelt damp, that moudly smell. It wasnt dirty but it certainly wasnt clean and we needed to wash all crockery before using it. Shame really cos it looked like a cheap place to stay but maybe to cheap, they say you get what you pay for but i do expect cleanliness.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bilsthorpe
Reviewed 7 January 2014 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Simon T
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Mixed Experience”
Reviewed 17 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013
10
people found this review helpful

To start with this property is indeed right on the river (although it is not the historic wharf building in the picture), it is easy to find with plenty of car parking space. Inside it is spacious, with a well equiped kitchen, good TV, comfy sofa and large rooms. We were here in winter, and my wife is pregnant, so we couldn't use the outside facilities but can confirm a nice garden with furniture to use. At night it was very peaceful and most importantly we found that it was very well cleaned.

Unfotunately there are were two downsides for us:

Firstly the property is very low having been built underneath the family home above. In summer this must make it suitably cool but over a grey winter weekend it felt dark especially as one of the bedrooms, the hall and the bathroom do not have windows. Thus we needed the lights on even in daytime and it proved to be 'a bit of a headbanger' for me at 6' 3" as the light fittings and a couple of beams/doors are less than that height. So a minor issue to consider if thinking about renting in winter and/or if you are tall.

More important though was our second issue - when we arrived on a Friday afternoon it had been vacant for only a couple of days but all the radiators had been switched off (and we found out only the next day the windows were open on the latch and air vents also open). Thus property was very cold on arrival and also the log fire in the pictures which we had been looking forward to using is not real. So we naturally pumped up the heating as I walked the 2+miles to the shop for milk, bread, handsoap etc and my wife tried to get her afternoon rest fully dressed in bed. No big deal. But even after dinner it was still cold and after 7 hours of heating, at about 9.30pm, the boiler switched off. We called the owner Paul and to be fair he came straight away, saw the thermostat click at 15 degrees showing the real room temperature, and he adjusted the timer by unscrewing the plate off the boiler. But we had to be at our persuasive best to get him to leave the heating on overnight - clearly this was not 'normal' for him and he told us so and how much extra it would cost him.

That first night we did not sleep well but once we found the windows open the next morning (it was still only 18degrees by then) and left the heating high the rest of the weekend it was warm. A dissapointing start but anyway it was fixed so we thought little more about it.

Sadly though the weekend ended on a sour note. The owner was clearly agrieved we had the termerity to leave the heating on 24 hours a day to warm the property up and leave several lights on to make the place welcoming as we do in our own home, and he told us so in no uncertain terms when we were leaving. Even though he knew my wife was pregnant and stayed in and slept during the day when I was out walking (he said he entered the property on both the Saturday and the Sunday daytime without our knowledge, on the Saturday we believe this may have been whilst she was sleeping) he questioned our integrity by refusing to believe we were cold the first night, he refused to listen to our feedback in return, he barred us from staying again and then ordered us off his property! Quite an unbelievable little rant.

So......in summary to bring this review back to the property only, I would still recommend it for families or groups in summer. If coming in winter, and especially if you are not good with the cold, I suggest you call the agent and make it a clear condition of renting that the heating is on before you arrive and that it is left on 24 hours a day so that you can make your own adult decision about the temperature control in the property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean
Liked least: The cold and the dark
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hart R
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Outstanding place to stay!!”
Reviewed 9 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We rent a holiday home every year and have never been more pleased than with Rosewater Cottage.
The house, gardens and location is outstanding, excellent for fishing and relaxing with a great local pub and lots of local places to visit.
The property was immaculate with everything you needed for an excellent stay. Fantastic furnishings, comfy beds and immaculately maintained.

We have already booked again for next year – I would recommend to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: fantastic furnishing with private fishing facilities
Liked least: lack of Wi-Fi
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing