We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and lovely view”

Patonga Beach Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 3 Quick Bites in Patonga
Price range: AU$10 - AU$40
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Patonga Beach Hotel has views accross Brisk Bay and a huge outdoor seating area. The Hotel and Bistro is open 7 days and 7 nights. We have over 15 beers on tap, an extensive wine list and live entertainment on Saturdays in our Sand Bar. The bistro offers an extensive menu highlighting local Patonga Oysters, a generous seafood platter, many pub favourites and a variety of dishes from around the world. Patonga means ‘little oyster’ in the Guringai people's language, whose country stretched from the north side of Port Jackson to the southern end of Lake Macquarie. Early English language maps of the area spelt Patonga as "Betonga". It is now a working fishing village at the southern end of the Central Coast, entirely surrounded by Brisbane Waters National Park. Head up the hill from the southern end of Umina Beach, past the turn off to Pearl Beach and keep going - you’ll find Patonga at the end of the road. After coming down the hill, keep going straight and you will find the local boat ramp. A short stroll along the beach is ‘Dark Corner’ where you will see half a dozen original houses perched between Brisbane Waters National Park and The River.
Reviewed 15 December 2022

We attended a trivia evening here with friends and all found their food of good value and yummy .
I had the wild mushroom linguine and it was delicious with several types of mushroom and and al dente pasta .

Date of visit: December 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MartyDownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 434 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2022 via mobile

The Hotel is located close to the beach. It’s a pleasant white construction, a large hotel with bars, accommodation and food.
The Patonga hotel offers varied eating locations and we opted to sit outside. We were advised to be aware of diving Kookaburras and were delighted to see a group of them. We all enjoyed our food, cauliflower curry, fish & chips and pumpkin with pasta. Fresh and delicious. A great lunch followed by a walk along the beach. Recommended

Date of visit: August 2022
Thank MuckiDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 November 2021 via mobile

We had lunch at the boat house and noticed the menu was not that great as compared with 12 months ago anyway we ordered steak it was tough as and served with 10 thousand chips I have to say we could not eat it and got our money back such a pity we were looking forward to lunch it seems venues are just giving patrons chips bloody lazy chefs bad menu bad food not going back

Date of visit: November 2021
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 July 2021 via mobile

The food was nice!! I got the Hawaiian pizza :) it is very clean (both the restaurant and the toilets were clean) and the service is wonderful. Every time we travel to Patonga we eat there also they kindly gave us little frog chocolates afterwards which is a really nice gesture. I don’t have kids but it also seems quite kid friendly and the restaurant also allows dogs at the outside tables which is good because our cute and elderly dog can spend them with us while we eat :) I have visited here since I was like 2 years old and now I’m 20 years old and it has always been accomodating and clean. It can be quite busy though which isn’t the restaurants fault so definitely try to book if there is a lot of people!! It is right by Patonga beach so if you’re eating outside you’ll get a beautiful view of the beach. In conclusion this place is very clean, accommodating, kid friendly and dog friendly also the food is good. Such a nostalgic place full of childhood memories :) 💕

Date of visit: May 2021
1  Thank HonestQuartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 April 2021 via mobile

The place itself was lovely, but that’s where it stops the food was bland and it’s run by a bunch of kids who have no idea. The room didn’t even have the basics ie shower cap and a pen. We have been to Barrenjoey House and it was first class, Patonga is not a patch on it.

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Patonga Beach Hotel Restaurant also viewed

 
Patonga, New South Wales
Ettalong Beach, New South Wales
 

Been to Patonga Beach Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.