We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent day out from Sydney or Palm Beach”

Patonga Beach Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 3 Quick Bites in Patonga
Price range: AU$10 - AU$40
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Patonga Beach Hotel has views accross Brisk Bay and a huge outdoor seating area. The Hotel and Bistro is open 7 days and 7 nights. We have over 15 beers on tap, an extensive wine list and live entertainment on Saturdays in our Sand Bar. The bistro offers an extensive menu highlighting local Patonga Oysters, a generous seafood platter, many pub favourites and a variety of dishes from around the world. Patonga means ‘little oyster’ in the Guringai people's language, whose country stretched from the north side of Port Jackson to the southern end of Lake Macquarie. Early English language maps of the area spelt Patonga as "Betonga". It is now a working fishing village at the southern end of the Central Coast, entirely surrounded by Brisbane Waters National Park. Head up the hill from the southern end of Umina Beach, past the turn off to Pearl Beach and keep going - you’ll find Patonga at the end of the road. After coming down the hill, keep going straight and you will find the local boat ramp. A short stroll along the beach is ‘Dark Corner’ where you will see half a dozen original houses perched between Brisbane Waters National Park and The River.
Reviewed 3 August 2020

Beautifully crafted venue with all the touches and coastal chic we have come to expect from the Boathouse group. Food was excellent as always and surprisingly good value for money.

Location on the still waters edge and fringed by the gorgeous dense forest of Brisbane Waters National Park, the venue is a destination onto itself.

It should be noted, however, that they have either cut staff for this period under Covid or only operate on a skeleton team. The line up to register details is arduous. Only one person to sign you in on an iPad which would are fine most of the time but not during peak arrivals 1130-1330.

Both bar and food ordering counters were only managed by a single staff member. The queue for food ordering was always at least 8 guests deep. The staff were great mind you but I would have thought at least 2 should be behind the food ordering and 2 for registration in during peak periods. Still everything moved quite quickly considering the venue was close to capacity so it does still work - just could be more efficient.

Great place, great spot, great addition to the F&B scene along Sydney's coastline.

Date of visit: August 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank paullevda
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 434 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2020

The food we ordered on the day was a bit average. The building, location & view excellent. I will definitely try again.

Date of visit: February 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ElsyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 January 2020 via mobile

This is my true new favourite day trip from Sydney to get in the holiday mode. Generally we take the ferry ferry from palm beach and go back but this time we stayed for the night in Umina and had a day at Pearl Beach after a full afternoon on drinks and yummy food at the hotel.

Biggest worry was how we were to get back to Umina in the being however turns out the Hotel has a free shuttle bus which dropped us right at our accomodation. We were amazed.

Food and drinks are generally awesome but this time the prawns on the seafood platter were a big let down. They should not have been selling them any more and could see they looked just as grim on the next table.

Otherwise as usual perfection. If you don’t want to eat your way thought a whole seafood platter make sure you don’t miss out on the cervice and trout pate. They are true highlights.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank foodqueensydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 January 2020 via mobile

What an absolute debacle!!!
Waited in a cue for just a few minutes short of 1 hour. Having reached the ordering point , we were then advised that the wait once ordered would be a hour!
Really? Punching above their weight- this establishment is on a downhill slide!
Cold substandard and overpriced food. Lackadaisical customer service and filthy tables.
Management allow patrons to pack this venue en masse with complete disregard to the amount of tables available.
As an Avalon local, my friends, family, and myself have been longtime supporters of The Boathouse Group- no longer!!
Watching these once fabulously inspiring and innovative cafes go to the dogs is a bloody shame!

Date of visit: January 2020
3  Thank frankiehey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Boathouse G, Front Office Manager at Patonga Beach Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2020

Dear Frankie,

We are sorry to hear that your experience with us at The Boathouse was a disappointing one.
So that we can improve, would you mind sending through the details of your visit and your contact details to info@theboathousegroup.com.au so that we can get in direct contact with you.

Thank you,
The Boathouse Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2019

Such a beautiful location and The Boathouse itself was eye catching! The design of both indoor and outdoors was fab even the bathrooms! Food was top notch, very fulling and a generous amount. The service was great, all staff were welcoming and lovely.
I also purchased a jar of the very affordable homemade granola/cereal as a gift and the person loves it!
Looking forward to coming back someday soon!!

Date of visit: November 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Larzx0x
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Patonga Beach Hotel Restaurant also viewed

 
Patonga, New South Wales
Ettalong Beach, New South Wales
 

Been to Patonga Beach Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.