We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Patonga Beach Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 3 Quick Bites in Patonga
Price range: AU$10 - AU$40
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Patonga Beach Hotel has views accross Brisk Bay and a huge outdoor seating area. The Hotel and Bistro is open 7 days and 7 nights. We have over 15 beers on tap, an extensive wine list and live entertainment on Saturdays in our Sand Bar. The bistro offers an extensive menu highlighting local Patonga Oysters, a generous seafood platter, many pub favourites and a variety of dishes from around the world. Patonga means ‘little oyster’ in the Guringai people's language, whose country stretched from the north side of Port Jackson to the southern end of Lake Macquarie. Early English language maps of the area spelt Patonga as "Betonga". It is now a working fishing village at the southern end of the Central Coast, entirely surrounded by Brisbane Waters National Park. Head up the hill from the southern end of Umina Beach, past the turn off to Pearl Beach and keep going - you’ll find Patonga at the end of the road. After coming down the hill, keep going straight and you will find the local boat ramp. A short stroll along the beach is ‘Dark Corner’ where you will see half a dozen original houses perched between Brisbane Waters National Park and The River.
Reviewed 17 September 2015 via mobile

Recommended by friends so we drove over from Pearl Beach for lunch at the Patonga Beach. Altho mid-week, there were a lot of diners (always a good sign). Ordered inside and brought drinks and sat at at table outside with views of the Hawkesbury/Broken Bay on a beautiful sunny day. Pretty spectacular! Had fish and chips with an interesting pea salad. A most enjoyable way to pass a couple of hours.

Date of visit: September 2015
1  Thank 901PhilipM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

258 - 262 of 434 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2015

What a gem. This beautiful place has a lovely atmosphere, I always take visiting friends to Patonga. The burgers are great and the chips are even better. Wines are served in nice glasses and they have a pretty good selection of wines by the glass. The cheese plate was huge! The drive over the hill is very scenic you can also get a ferry from Palm Beach. A great day out.

Date of visit: June 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 July 2015

Beautiful spot overlooking Broken Bay. Had the chicken wings and a pasta dish. Both were good. Nice selection of beers and wines on tap.

Was really busy at 1/130, so we had to queue for a while for the food. Came quickly enough once ordered though.

TIP: order food by around 12/1215 for quicker service.

Date of visit: July 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank fourandahalf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 June 2015

Monday of a long weekend. You'd think they would have realised how busy they would be.
Waited in a line (one person only taking orders) for 30 minutes to order 2 burgers for nearly $50. Then waited 30 minutes for burgers which were boring, dry and overcooked. I hope this hotel gets some competition soon, then they might lift their game.

Date of visit: June 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank Bronwen Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 June 2015

I ate here last night with a friend. The food was disgusting. The guacamole on my nachos came out of a container and was a dark brown colour, and the chef forget the cheese. My friend's prawn cutlets were overcooked and the batter tasted disgusting. Even the fries were dreadful.
In 2015 its remarkable that places that serve overpriced, terrible food survive. Here, they have no competition so I guess the owners think its fine.
my Asahi cost $9.50 which even the waitress said she was embarrassed about asking for for a glass of beer.
They new a new chef fast.

Date of visit: June 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
6  Thank cassie350
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Patonga Beach Hotel Restaurant also viewed

 
Patonga, New South Wales
Ettalong Beach, New South Wales
 

Been to Patonga Beach Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of in . If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.