We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“home from home in the heart of the north lakes”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of 7 Harney Peak

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Harney Peak - traditional lakeland building
4 star and Gold award
View towards Derwentwater
Tastefully decorated bedroom
Fully equipped kitchen - even Christmas dinners have been cooked!
Winter by the lake
The stunning and often ignored Newlands valley
Dining area in spacious living room
Cosy living area with internet enabled TV
Harney Peak
View over Derwent water
Local friends!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Portinscale, Keswick, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sm17
uttoxeter
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“home from home in the heart of the north lakes”
Reviewed 16 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have stayed several times at no.7 and it's always a pleasure to return.Comfortable,well eqipped and regularly updated.There is a designated parking space and a bus stop outside the main building for buses to Borrowdale and Buttermere. A short walk to Keswick for buses to the central Lakes means a car free week in this ideal location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: quality of accomodation and location
Liked least: there is nothing to dilike about this accomodation
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2015
Thank you very much for your opinion. Always a pleasure to have you to stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ollyHartl...
hartlepool
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Repeat visit”
Reviewed 2 August 2015 for a stay in June 2015

we have stayed here four or five times, and are never disappointed. Location location. Park the car in your own space and leave it for a full week. The apartment is compact but everything that you need is there. used the drying room, only to dry the towels off after shower, never had to use for any of our stays as we are always lucky with the weather. Free wifi, and TV has internet channels on it, but I tended to use the iPad to watch them through Apple TV. A number of DVDs to watch and books to read should you wish. Maps and a number of walks in the room for you to use. New floor in the porch is lovely. washing machine, microwave and radio updated since out last stay. Maybe only thing is bathroom just starting to show its age, but not in total need of replacement, maybe a bit of silicone here and there, nothing else. Great shower. Owners even left us a bottle of wine this stay. Thank you

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2015
Thanks very much for your review and noticing the improvements we have made this year. We do have plans to update the bathroom in the low season, as obviously this can't be done in between guest stays in the summer. Hopefully you will return to see for yourself.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smudgers6...
Pevensey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A real home from home”
Reviewed 15 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We had a lovely week in No.7, the flat had everything we needed, the bed was comfy and the overall standard of the flat was exceptional. The position so near to Keswick was a joy, no need to use the car !!! The Chalet restaurant over the road from No.7 gave us the best meal we have ever had - highly recommend. We will hopefully return to No. 7 next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2015
Thank you very much for your review. We're delighted you had such a good stay and look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol R
Oxfordshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean, homely, everything you could need to relax after a long day walking in the Lake District.”
Reviewed 8 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

When booking the holiday my husband spoke directly to the owners by telephone. They were pleasant and explained the facilities available within the apartment. All sounded good so we booked it. We had previously stayed for a number of years at another apartment within the same building, which was fantastic. This made us slightly hesistant to book elsewhere. upon arrival we were absolutely delighted with the cleanliness and home from home feel about the property. A pleasant note from the owners together with all you needed for that all important cup of tea when you have just arrived following a long journey.
Everything within the apartment enabled you to just relax and enjoy. Plenty of cooking utensils, crockery etc and an all important dishwasher! Who needs to wash up on holiday?
Lots of maps and ideas for things to do and places to go were available too.

Location we knew was ideal for us. A lovely walk to Keswick for evening meal or for the start of a number of walks. We didn't use the car for a few days following our journey which was absolutely wonderful. Plenty of places to eat and drink.
This is an annual visit for us, so we felt comfortable from the beginning of our stay and had already planned a lot of our days.

One thing we thought would be nice would be to put a blackout blind in the bedroom. The sun (or dawn) started around 4am. Not being used to light rooms, it did wake us.
We gave this feedback to the owners and they said they would look into it and see what could be done. Thank you.
Best part of the stay was that we knew we would be returning to a cosy place which was lovely and warm as we had a few drops of rain! There is a drying room for damp clothes etc.
We much prefer self catering compared to B&B or Hotels as the whole week is then under your own time control which makes it more relaxing.
A lovely break thank you and we look forward to returning next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Cleanliness and facilities within apartment
Liked least: Light through bedroom window
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fred B
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A lovely apartment.”
Reviewed 18 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We had a great stay at 7 Harney Peak - it's a lovely flat with everything you could need for a short break, and is walking distance from Keswick. A great base for visiting the Lakes!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Mar 2015
We're pleased you enjoyed your first stay at number 7 and found the property had everything you needed. We look forward to arranging another holiday for you soon. Thanks for the great review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;