We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Ty Daou gwez(Irodouer)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveller rating
28
12
2
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
28
12
2
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplenty of hot waterstayed hereanneinstrumentsjamschateauhosts
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 44 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2015

This is one of those places where you go for the experience and the history.
You are staying in a private house untouched by the modern world.
If you are over 70 you need to be fit to manage the stairs especially if you are located
on the top floor.
You will be get a kind lecture from Madame on how to 'behave' and Monsieur serves the breakfast..

Room Tip: Avoid the 'servants quarters' on the second floor.
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Chateau du Quengo is one of the most beautiful and Interesting places I have stayed. From the warm welcome from Anne, to the homely living rooms and large table for breakfast every part of this chateau makes you feel comfortable and at home. Our room was comfortable (we actually had a small wing to ourselves). There are so many animals in the grounds, the 2 beautiful dogs, Barrie and Frou Frou, 6 cats and a lovely donkey and pony, all are friendly and add to the general feeling of the place. The grounds are extensive and you can walk around to look at the walled garden which has many fruit and vegetables. Anne turns these into jams which are available during breakfast. I cannot speak more highly of chateau du Quengo, our stay was fantastic!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catriona111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Anne and Alfred are fantastic hosts of the wonderful Chateau Quengo (as are Barri, Frou Frou, 6 cats, a shetland and a donkey). Beautiful character, lovely peace and tranquility couldn't want for more. Highly recommend, will return wish we booked more nights. Many thanks for a fantastic wedding weekend.

Room Tip: any room is good
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank robbo007Bucharest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

My husband and I chose to stay at the Chateau Quengo for 2 nights after we had been given a smart box for our birthdays.
Anne the owner was attentive to our needs from the very first email that i sent, she sorted out the smartbox problems sent me mails and plans and was thoroughly delightful. We arrived at 6pm as instructed ( recommendation is between 6pm and 8pm but knowing the hosts I am sure they do not insist on this) we were met by a wonderful eccentric bubbly lady who took us up to our room via a large wooden staircase. it is a bit like going to stay at a relatives house, there are books and papers strew around, animals wander here and there and all in all one feels immediately welcome and cosy. We met the other guests over a drink very informally and Anne explained a bit of the houses history to us. She ate breakfast with us both mornings ( all homemade and organic) and as we ate she entertained us with stories and exciting tales.
Come to this chateau for an authentic weekend with friendly people and a real country ambience, don't come if you are looking for pomp and ceremony, no one dressed up and the house has a lived in feel to it.....no gold leaf but amazing family photos and portraits, donkeys to feed, dogs to pat and cats to open doors for......we had a great time!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vi0let17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed there for three nights with our child, 13 month old. Loved the place, the room, the breakfast, and the atmosphere.
Interesting how an historic house can become a perfect place for a family with a dynamic toddler.
The owners were excellent and exquisite with us on all fronts.
We will remember for a long time the lovely breakfasts with the owner and other guests, as well as with the pleasant visits of Frou-Frou, Barrie, and other four paws charmers.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank Adhemar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews