We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning accommodation in beautiful Peak District.”
Beautiful & tranquil spring evening in May
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beautiful & tranquil spring evening in May
Hot Tub bliss! New orchard - view from the hot tub..
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
78 reviews
Beautiful & tranquil spring evening in May
Hot Tub bliss!
New orchard - view from the hot tub..
Hot Tub any weather - under cover from the elements!
The barn has a large patio, lawn & covered porch with the fabulous private hot tub
Fantastic hot tub, why not indulge yourself,  a great way to relax & you will sleep really well.
View from the hot tub
A fantastic sociable space, guests tell us 'it's even better than the photos!'
The Log Burner - so cosy, especially after a soak in the hot tub!
Solid oak floors, underfloor heating throughout, log burner & comfy sofas.
Stunning kitchen, oak floor, granite tops, all mod cons here!
Master bedroom with super king size bed & access straight out to the hot tub.
Cosy twin room with under floor heating
Stunning ensuite wet room to the master bedroom, underfloor heating & rain shower
Fully tiled Master ensuite with gorgeous soft white fluffy towels!
En suite to twin room with a huge over bath rain shower & underfloor heating!
Bathrobes & slippers, lovely after a long soak in the hot tub!
Honeymoon welcome..or anniversary...treat your partner to a surprise stay perhaps..
Christmas treats! Meal, wine, fizz, Christmas cake, mince pies & presents for all!!
Beautiful winter sunset
'Big skies' with dramatic skyscapes
Relax at the end of your day with a beautiful sunset - no light pollution here!
Christmas snow 2014! Even better when you know our road gets gritted twice a day.
Local views over the moors towards the Welsh mountains
360 degree vista at the top of Ecton Hill, feel 'On top of the world' on this local walk
Tittesworth reservoir - view from the top of The Roaches....
'Hen Cloud' from The Roaches....
Footpath at the top of The Roaches - panoramic views..
Looking up to The Roaches..
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Ford, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 78 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rich L
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning accommodation in beautiful Peak District.”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Ford Old Hall is a real treat - literally! From the welcome meal, wine and fresh bread on arrival to the cupcakes on our last day, all absolutely delicious and very thoughtful, thank you! We travelled with our two 10 year old children and wanted somewhere quiet to wind down for a week but still within easy reach of all the Peaks has to offer. The barn certainly hit the spot. It is easy to find (with Lynn's great directions) and close to Leek and Ashbourne for shopping, though there are smaller local shops close by.
The accommodation is really beautiful, finished to an incredibly high standard and completely spotless - we felt like we were the first family to stay there. The upstairs has a lovely open plan living/kitchen area with views out to the farm and a fabulous log burner should you need it. The kitchen has everything you need to self cater and more! It's incredibly well stocked with all washing essentials - no need to bring anything. A real home from home! Downstairs there is a large utility room with washer, freezer and plenty of space for muddy boots! Two lovely bedrooms, each with their own en-suite, and again, decorated beautifully with lots of wardrobe/drawer space in both rooms. The en-suite in the master bedroom has a fantastic wet room with walk in shower and the fab under cover hot tub is also accessed from this bedroom too. We spent each evening in the hot tub enjoying the glorious starry nights that we don't get so often living in a town (it was also the kids favourite part of the barn!) Bath robes and slippers are also provided for lounging around the patio/hot tub area. All of the bedding and towels are luxurious and spotless, high quality and no expense spared. The attention to detail, quality and taste throughout the barn is clear to see and all makes for an easy holiday - we felt relaxed as soon as we got there! Lynn and Nigel are both lovely and friendly with a wealth of local knowledge should you need it. We were lucky enough to get amazing weather so were out and about each day, there are books, dvds, board games etc if you need them. Alton Towers is only 15 minutes drive away, as too are Dovedale and Ilam for glorious walks. We hired bikes and biked along the Manifold track, walked up Thor's cave - a great day on virtually traffic free tracks(enjoy a delicious lunch at the half way point - Manifold Inn). Monkey Forest was a great day too - Trentham was about 40 mins away. We had a very relaxing holiday(apart from the trip to my mother-in-laws) and would definitely recommend this accommodation. Like my son said on the way home "That holiday house was like a really massive posh hotel room mam!"
Book up - you honestly won't be disappointed!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tub and chilled wine on arrival
Liked least: Really?? Nothing!! :)
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
61daw
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“FABULOUS, WISH WE WERE STILL THERE!!”
Reviewed 4 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

If you book this accommodation you will not be disappointed - just do it!!

We visited 30th June -3rd July. Ford Old Barn is extremely comfortable, well equipped and private - It is true you really do not need to bring anything but your clothes, personal toiletries and food to last your stay (even this is catered for if you want to use supermarket delivery, Nigel and Lynn will put it all way for you!!) The Barn is equipped with dressing gowns, slippers and another set of towels for the hot tub. The care taken to make sure you have a wonderful stay for example - you are asked what preference of pillows you require firm or soft on the booking form, there is a home-cooked meal with wine (your choice of red or white, again and some food preference on the booking form) for arrival in a slow cooker!! The fridge is stocked with fresh eggs from next door, butter, milk and home-made oatcakes/pancakes and we even had some wonderful ginger cake through the week!!! Household cleaners, washing-up liquid, dishwasher tabs, etc., is all there for you to use.
The hot tub is just wonderful - I expect glorious, if you have been out walking all day but can honestly say that even if you have stayed put at the Barn your whole visit it is just as glorious every time you use it and being covered overhead can be used in any type of weather and any time of day without a problem.
Ford Old Hall Barn is the nicest rental accommodation we have ever had and we have experienced a fair few, everything was spotless and attention to every detail was so much appreciated, everything you may require or would like is there and more. The scenery around The Barn is beautiful. If you need anything just ask, nothing is too much trouble.
All in all it was a perfect few days away from it all and we truly feel that we have had a month of relaxation. As some-one else said - take your mobile and throw it in the drawer and forget about it just enjoy and relax.
Thank you Lynn and Nigel for this experience and as I stated before - We will be back.
Debbie & Neil

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience.
Liked least: Nothing at all
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beautrave...
surrey uk
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“second visit - still as perfect!”
Reviewed 14 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Fantastic break in this lovely holiday cottage. This is our second visit to the barn and it is still as perfect as the first time. Beautiful location, 5 star accommodation, perfect hosts, lovely meal provided, comfy beds, spotlessly clean, fully equipped, great hot tub. Look no further you won't find better.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodyepso...
Epsom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic, luxurious break, 'hit the spot' - 'The Peak' of the Peaks........”
Reviewed 22 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We were both blown away by the standard of this barn & the hospitality provided by the owners, we have stayed in many holiday properties over the years & this has gone to the top of our list.
To arrive on a Friday evening to a home cooked meal with wine was special, we could just relax straight away after our drive, Lynn & Nigel provide so many extras too that you don't find in other cottages.
We were shown around the barn & Nigel explained how everything worked, so much nicer than searching for a key under a mat in the dark!
After long walks in the beautiful surroundings it was lovely to come back & soak away in the fabulous hot tub which really did 'hit the spot'!
The barn is so lovely & warm all the time, getting out of bed stepping on to stone with underfloor heating was a treat, our feet have been cold since we came home!
Thank you Lynn & Nigel, we will definitely be back & we will bring friends with us next time to share the experience, anyone booking with you is in for a real treat, well done!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Going home!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolaand...
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Luxury and comfort in a beautiful part of the country!”
Reviewed 1 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Nigel and Lynn have created a beautiful holiday home which is extremely comfortable, private and superbly equipped - you really don't need to bring anything but your clothes etc.!! It is full of small but extremely well-thought out finishing touches, for example night lights in the twin room and hallway, dressing gowns, slippers and separate towels for the hot tub, fresh flowers in the kitchen....they even ask if you would prefer firm or soft pillows on the booking form!!
The hot tub is lovely, especially after a day's walking in the beautiful Peak District.
The welcoming meal with wine when we arrived was delicious - left in a slow cooker for us to enjoy at our leisure. The fridge was also stocked with milk, butter and eggs from the farm's hens next door and homemade bread.
All in all TOP NOTCH!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing