We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“second visit - still as perfect!”
Beautiful & tranquil spring evening in May
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beautiful & tranquil spring evening in May
Hot Tub bliss! New orchard - view from the hot tub..
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
78 reviews
Beautiful & tranquil spring evening in May
Hot Tub bliss!
New orchard - view from the hot tub..
Hot Tub any weather - under cover from the elements!
The barn has a large patio, lawn & covered porch with the fabulous private hot tub
Fantastic hot tub, why not indulge yourself,  a great way to relax & you will sleep really well.
View from the hot tub
A fantastic sociable space, guests tell us 'it's even better than the photos!'
The Log Burner - so cosy, especially after a soak in the hot tub!
Solid oak floors, underfloor heating throughout, log burner & comfy sofas.
Stunning kitchen, oak floor, granite tops, all mod cons here!
Master bedroom with super king size bed & access straight out to the hot tub.
Cosy twin room with under floor heating
Stunning ensuite wet room to the master bedroom, underfloor heating & rain shower
Fully tiled Master ensuite with gorgeous soft white fluffy towels!
En suite to twin room with a huge over bath rain shower & underfloor heating!
Bathrobes & slippers, lovely after a long soak in the hot tub!
Honeymoon welcome..or anniversary...treat your partner to a surprise stay perhaps..
Christmas treats! Meal, wine, fizz, Christmas cake, mince pies & presents for all!!
Beautiful winter sunset
'Big skies' with dramatic skyscapes
Relax at the end of your day with a beautiful sunset - no light pollution here!
Christmas snow 2014! Even better when you know our road gets gritted twice a day.
Local views over the moors towards the Welsh mountains
360 degree vista at the top of Ecton Hill, feel 'On top of the world' on this local walk
Tittesworth reservoir - view from the top of The Roaches....
'Hen Cloud' from The Roaches....
Footpath at the top of The Roaches - panoramic views..
Looking up to The Roaches..
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Ford, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 78 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
beautrave...
surrey uk
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“second visit - still as perfect!”
Reviewed 14 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Fantastic break in this lovely holiday cottage. This is our second visit to the barn and it is still as perfect as the first time. Beautiful location, 5 star accommodation, perfect hosts, lovely meal provided, comfy beds, spotlessly clean, fully equipped, great hot tub. Look no further you won't find better.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodyepso...
Epsom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic, luxurious break, 'hit the spot' - 'The Peak' of the Peaks........”
Reviewed 22 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We were both blown away by the standard of this barn & the hospitality provided by the owners, we have stayed in many holiday properties over the years & this has gone to the top of our list.
To arrive on a Friday evening to a home cooked meal with wine was special, we could just relax straight away after our drive, Lynn & Nigel provide so many extras too that you don't find in other cottages.
We were shown around the barn & Nigel explained how everything worked, so much nicer than searching for a key under a mat in the dark!
After long walks in the beautiful surroundings it was lovely to come back & soak away in the fabulous hot tub which really did 'hit the spot'!
The barn is so lovely & warm all the time, getting out of bed stepping on to stone with underfloor heating was a treat, our feet have been cold since we came home!
Thank you Lynn & Nigel, we will definitely be back & we will bring friends with us next time to share the experience, anyone booking with you is in for a real treat, well done!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Going home!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolaand...
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Luxury and comfort in a beautiful part of the country!”
Reviewed 1 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Nigel and Lynn have created a beautiful holiday home which is extremely comfortable, private and superbly equipped - you really don't need to bring anything but your clothes etc.!! It is full of small but extremely well-thought out finishing touches, for example night lights in the twin room and hallway, dressing gowns, slippers and separate towels for the hot tub, fresh flowers in the kitchen....they even ask if you would prefer firm or soft pillows on the booking form!!
The hot tub is lovely, especially after a day's walking in the beautiful Peak District.
The welcoming meal with wine when we arrived was delicious - left in a slow cooker for us to enjoy at our leisure. The fridge was also stocked with milk, butter and eggs from the farm's hens next door and homemade bread.
All in all TOP NOTCH!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca C
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“'Outstanding'”
Reviewed 30 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

After a difficult year most of which was spent separated from the family serving abroad I was adamant we would take a holiday in the UK. We finally decided on the Peak district as I’d never visited before but my wife had fond childhood memories of camping holidays there.
We were not disappointed with our choice of the barn, it was absolutely brilliant from the initial welcome to the time we regrettably left.
Nigel and Lynn were outstanding hosts and made us all feel very welcome, we were made to feel nothing was too much trouble. Nigel has a wealth of knowledge about the local area and all questions were answered and advice about the local area was warmly received. He was extremely attentive to our two inquisitive city boys who quizzed him daily on the most urgent local topics; the smell of his pets (which were the local farm animals), Nigel’s motorbikes (Jake is a budding 3 year old Evel Knievel) and an in depth lecture on Hot Tub maintenance. Nigel found himself in the unfortunate position of being caught conducting his daily and weekly checks on the tub by the boys. They are now experts on water PH levels, chlorine shocks, and filter changes! He answered all their questions and made the boys feel very special. This was all in passing as well, Nigel is very unobtrusive, but made us feel he was on hand for any eventuality.
The Barn itself is simply outstanding and we can’t really say anything else that hasn’t already been written in other reviews. It was immaculate, spotlessly clean, furnished to a very high standard. I took my first look at the oven and hob and honestly it looked like it had just been installed the day before. You can believe all the reviews and the online photo's do not do it justice (especially downstairs). In the past few years we’ve visited the Lake District, Northumbria and the Scottish borders and stayed in some lovely accommodation but nothing surpassed this place.
The local area is stunning and the location of the Barn is perfect. We visited Alton Towers for a thrill seeking day out for the boys and had some lovely walks, Dovedale, Ilam, Hartington in fact we didn’t have enough time to do everything we wanted. It’s set in a beautiful peaceful location and relaxing in the hot tub at night after walking was absolute bliss. In fact our 5 year old boy Joe sat back for the first time in a hot tub and proclaimed ‘oh baby, this is the life’. I think that pretty much sums our holiday up, we left with some lovely lasting memories and hopefully work permitting we’ll definitely be back for another visit in the near future.
Thanks to Nigel and Lynn for helping make it a lovely family holiday and in times like this with work pressures etc that time is really priceless (well to us anyway).
Good luck with the pointing Nigel we wish you every success

Becky, Michael, Joe & Jake

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
longles
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“SECOND TO NONE...PERFECT!”
Reviewed 20 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Ford Old Hall Barn is the nicest rental accommodation we have had,you can not ask for any more,everything was spotless,the attention to detail was faultless, everything you need is there and more.Tea, coffee, milk, bread, oatcakes, butter, dishwasher tabs, all there to get you going, not forgetting the evening meal and a bottle of wine when you get there just to help you unwind when you arrive, you don't even have to cook (which was lovely,and the cupcakes! thanks Lynn).The scenery in the area of the barn is stunning,Nigel is the local area guru if you need anything just ask nothing is too much trouble,helped us find the manifold show and the Wincle Brewery(worth a visit if you like your ale).
All in all it was a perfect week away from it all,get your mobile and throw it in the drawer and forget about it(you don't get a signal anyway)you cant help but switch off and relax,oh forgot to mention there is a quality hot tub as well.
Thanks to Lynn and Nigel for allowing us to stay in the barn it is a credit to you and the hard work you have and continue to put in, will definitely be back in the future.

Les,Sarah and Thia

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing