We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“such a lovely place”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 3
Hadnall, Shrewsbury, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
marilyn r
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“such a lovely place”
Reviewed 25 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

On arrival at the lodge everything so meat and tidy and clean. Fresh flowers and bottle of wine which was nice. Enjoyed our stay ,only downfall was the traffic noise.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: relaxing at a loveky place
Liked least: traffic noise
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon H
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Biggest disappointment ever.”
Reviewed 1 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
3
people found this review helpful

My wife and I are retired professional people and always go away for my birthday in April.
The reason we chose Callow lodge was we wanted / needed a stress free break.
Upon arrival on site the greeting was very warm and we were handed a list of 15 rules regarding the use of the hot tub. These included showering before use, don't exceed 30 minutes in the tub, don't consume alcohol and don't use after dusk !!!
The rules concerning the use of the lodge included wearing a pair of slippers whilst inside ( provided and worth about 50p per pair) and it was suggested you take them home at the end of your stay and be charged £4 per pair.
The towels provided were not matching, of poor quality, not new and again could be taken home and charged for.
The crockery was acceptable but the cutlery was disgusting and far from what should be provided in what is described as a luxury lodge.
Because I have a mobility problem I normally keep all of my fishing tackle in an expensive trailer directly outside my accommodation. I was told, after paying my deposit ,that it would have to be kept some 100+ yards away so I had to buy another car big enough to hold everything.
All in all this turned out to be an extremely stressful break and the lodge fell well short of what we would describe as luxurious.
At the end of your stay you are required to strip the bed and put all dirty linen and towels in the hallway.
We are in the market to purchase our own lodge but this is one site that won't be included in our short list.

Gordon & Jenny Hinchcliffe.....Chesterfield.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Coming home.
Liked least: Everything else. The rules were insulting.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane C
Heswall, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Short Break”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We have just returned today from 'Callow Lodge' and we must admit we thoroughly enjoyed our short stay at the Lodge. Facilities impeccable. The site itself was very peaceful The staff are all very friendly both on site and at the 'The Bothy Restaurant'' - At the restaurant there was enough food served to feed an army so well worth every penny. Would recommend the lodge to anyone and we will certainly be visiting again - thank you again for a lovely stay Di n Dave

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Hot Tub
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hookedonh...
Ruthin, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Nice Relaxing Break”
Reviewed 2 December 2012 for a stay in November 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the Lodge for three nights. It is located on Beaconsfield Farm Park, which is a mixture of caravans and the lodges, which are set around a lake. The property was very clean and warm. The private hot tub on the deck outside was lovely, and very novel in cold and frosty weather. We used the swimming pool and steam room (extra charge) which were excellent. The lodge is very well situated for exploring the Shropshire area. As mentioned in a previous review, the lodge is right by the busy A49, and the railway line, which were both noisy, so if you like to sleep with the window open, it is worth taking earplugs. Make sure you visit the Dog in the Lane pub is nearby Astley, which is a two mile walk away, and well worth a visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub
Liked least: Bare minimum of cutlery and crockery provided
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salford
Reviewed 12 January 2012 for a stay in October 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing