We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect for a stay-in”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
50 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Sayan, Ubud, Bali

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Swedish first
Any
English first
ainimaria
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect for a stay-in”
Reviewed 19 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Kamajaya Villa Sayan was exquisite. Everything about it just screams RELAX! The private pool, lounge, bedroom and bathroom were perfect. It would've been great if there was a fan option for the room and portion sizes for the dinners were quite sad. Had the lasagne, have had microwaved ones that tasted better. The beef rendang was delicious though, if only there was enough of it. There was nothing nearby but if you're in the mood for an expensive dinner, The Samaya and Four Seasons restaurants are about 10 mins by foot. Be careful though as there aren't any footpath. They have shuttles to bring you to the city centre but seriously, the villa makes you not want to leave. Oh, the staff is very attentive and ready to help with whatever you may need. Thumbs up, definitely.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool!
Liked least: The dinner option.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trisa T
New York
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good stay but not ideal location”
Reviewed 17 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

This place is beautiful - a great private space to relax while in Ubud.
Staff was pleasant and helpful. And breakfast was timely (you place your order using a form completed the night before indicating what time you'd like to eat). Our only complaint would be the shuttle service, which seemed great, until we realized that it only runs at certain times (3-4 times a day) and required prior organizing with the front desk staff. The earliest departure time is 10AM (which isn't very early if you're trying to go to town before the crowds/tour buses roll in) and the latest return time is 4PM (although their information book says it is 5PM). This isn't nearly late enough if you're trying to stay in central Ubud for dinner or sunset. The villa/complex is pretty far outside of the center of town (not walking distance) and most taxi's didn't know where it was located - so getting back to the villa outside of the organized shuttle times was more difficult. Overall the location wasn't ideal, though you might make the compromise if you want to be off the main drag. To this point there isn't much else around the villa except one other hotel/spa (Kayumanis - which has a great restaurant called Dining Corner; it's pretty much the only place to eat if you stay in the villa for the evening instead of going to town).

I had originally found and booked this place through Airbnb thinking it was a single villa operated by the owner. It's actually like a hotel or vacation rental complex run by a management company (NewLife Villas). Had I known this I probably would have booked directly through them (cuts out the middle man and Airbnb service fee). There seemed to be at least six other villas like ours; they also have large two/three-bedroom ones but all enclosed in their own private courtyard.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiger_Aqu...
Bali, Indonesia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Serene and relaxing”
Reviewed 5 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
2
people found this review helpful

It is a beautiful, well kept place. We wish we could have stayed longer. Had the best internet in Bali. It is a great place to relax and catch up on communication with friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the plunge pool, vegetaion, peace and quiet
Liked least: nothing really
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon R
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazingly kind and helpful staff”
Reviewed 4 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

The staff at Kamajaya were helpful, and kind and went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. They greeted us every time we arrived back at the villa, they offered to help arrange anything we needed (including our scooter, and laundry etc). I can't give them a high enough review.
The location of Kamajaya was great as we really enjoyed being out of the centre of Ubud, but you do need a scooter to get around. There is very little within walking distance.

That being said, we wouldn't stay at Kamajaya again for a few reasons. While the villa did look mostly like the pictures (we booked through Airbnb), it did show wear and tear. The wifi was constantly a problem, and eventually we just would log on to the neighbours wifi, which worked sporadically. The pool didn't feel very clean, so we tended to swim at Jungle Fish, a nearby pool and restaurant.
Our agreement included several extras as the price we were quoted had gone up by the time we booked. Within these inclusions were daily breakfast, one lunch, one dinner, a massage, airport transfers, and a tour of Uluwatu.
The daily breakfast we only had once as it wasn't edible. We turned down the lunch and dinner expecting the same thing. We also turned down the tour of Uluwatu as we had just spent a week exploring other areas of Bali and weren't interested.
The massages were fantastic (possibly the best we had in Bali), and we appreciated the airport transfers as that saved us some money. Overall the extra inclusions did not make up for the initial price difference which was unfortunate. We felt a bit ripped off.
One complaint we had was with laundry. On Airbnb I'm sure the listing said that a washer was available at the unit. When we asked the staff if laundry was available, they said all we had to do was give them our laundry and they would return it at the end of day. So we did, and it was washed and pressed beautifully. Upon check out days later they presented us with a bill for 200,000+ IDR (approx. $20 Canadian) for our laundry. This was really disappointing as no cost was mentioned at any point, and we wouldn't have sent as many pieces had we known there was a cost per piece.

Again, I will say that the staff were lovely and kind, and they are the reason we liked Kamajaya at all. Other than that, it was average overall.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S0phie848
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A relaxing retreat in Ubud”
Reviewed 18 March 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We had a wonderful stay at the villa over Christmas 2015. The villa is situated in the Ubud area; in a side street off the main street so it is quiet. The staff are very friendly and accommodating. The place offers a free shuttle service to certain places and at certain time. However, the taxis are cheap in case the shuttle service is not running. The various sights/ shopping streets/ restaurants/ supermarket can easily be accessed within 10+ minutes by taxi. There are also couple of hotel restaurants close by which we had no time to check out.

The villa is daily cleaned to an excellent standard. I have also organised a cook through the villa management. The food was beautifully presented and it tasted very good. The food was prepared on site in a bigger kitchen which was situated close to the villa. The only problem was that the cook did not understand English even so I organised in advance everything with the catering company, this meant the food arrived at the wrong time.

However, it is a wonderful place to relax next to its private swimming pool and tropical plants. The description and photos on the home page match exactly to the villa. The only suggestion I have given to the staff to supply a rubber mat for future guests because it can get very slippery around the swimming pool and particular when it is raining.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Private Swimming pool
Liked least: The open plan kitchen was very small
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
USD 130
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing