We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful, modern, spacious accomodation in...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Cuckoo Croft Barn

Living Area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living Area
Large lawn area, patio and outdoor furniture. Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Living Area
Large lawn area, patio and outdoor furniture.
Kitchen
Front Entrance
Living Area
Double Bedroom
En Suite
View from garden and living area
Triple Bedrooom
Bathroom
Spacious Annexe Shower Room
Quality Accommodation
Contemporary Design
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Condover, Shrewsbury, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Hell4Leat...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful, modern, spacious accomodation in beautiful country setting. Hosts were very helpful.”
Reviewed 10 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

My friends and I (10 humans and 1 dog) had a wonderful August Bank Holiday weekend at Cuckoo Croft. The building has been designed to suit large groups with spacious communal areas and plenty of bathrooms. All the fixtures and fittings were good quality and intuitive to use. The hosts are very helpful, taking delivery of a (v. large) online grocery order for us and organising the barbeque equipment. Cuckoo Croft is situated in Ryton which is a small village close to Dorrington and Church Stretton. We spent one day pottering around Church Stretton, some in the antique shop and some stretching their legs (and lungs) on Long Mynd and another day exploring Clun Castle and Bishop's Castle. It was fantastic to have Cuckoo Croft as a base for our explorations and we enjoyed the wonderful views in the morning and the stars in the evening. I'd highly recommend this accomodation; we were all sad to leave and are plotting reasons to return already ...

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Sep 2016
Thx Heather. Really pleased that you had a good time meeting up with friends and ex work colleagues and more than happy to unpack your grocery delivery. I f we can help with reasons to return then let us know - you'd be more than welcome :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pjrobinso...
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful barn in great location”
Reviewed 29 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Cuckoo Croft Barn is a fabulous venue for a family holiday, great location & superb facilities.
Spacious accommodation with good sized bedrooms and excellent living space. Decor beautiful and sensitive to building. Tracy & Nigel welcoming hosts & I would definitely recommend this gorgeous property for a chilled out holiday or weekend away.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2016
Thanks Paula. We enjoyed your company too and would love to see you all back again. Thank you too for leaving CC so immaculate. Hugs to the M and M's :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter R
1 review
“Brilliant accomodation”
Reviewed 8 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had 8 adults, 4 children and 2 dogs stay at this excellent accomodation for one week and it exceeded our expectations. The owners were very friendly and helpful. I am now
looking for another excuse to get the family together and would not hesitate to use this facility again. My family are equally of the same opinion as ourselves. There are plenty of places to see in the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything from start to finish.
Liked least: Didnt stay long enough.l
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2016
Thx Peter and we'd love to welcome you back again too :) Pleased you're journey home wasn't too tortuous and thx for leaving the barn so tidy - it really is appreciated :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
j0lie1986
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
“We didn't want to come home...”
Reviewed 8 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We booked this property as a surprise for my best friends hen do. We were looking for a large property to accomodate all of us with a big communal area to socialise in...this place ticked all the boxes and more!

The pictures do not do it justice. The house is immaculate and has everything you need for a weekend away. I think the fact the bride cried when she walked in says it all! When you arrive take a minute to look through the book that shows all the work that has gone into transforming a derelict cow shed into this dream home! It has all the mod-cons (wi-fi, Netflix, bluetooth speaker, dishwasher) but still hasn't lost the character of the barn. The exposed brick and original beams, which are decorated with fairy lights, are a lovely touch.

The living area is perfect size for everyone to chill out after a long day. I think at one point all of us were having a snooze on the giant couches and bean bags after a few too many glasses of prosecco. It can't be helped when the sunshine is streaming in through the giant windows. Absolute bliss!

The beds were extremely comfy and all bedrooms were spacious with plenty of mirrors and storage. The bathrooms are stunning. Especially the one in the annex which is probably bigger then my living room at home! The fact the house could cope with every shower running as 9 women got ready is no mean feat.

Tracy and Nigel were wonderful hosts, even leaving us a chocolate cake for when we arrived (which lasted all of 5 minutes) The communication before we arrived was great and nothing was too much for them.

The property isn't too far from the main roads but when you're there you feel a million miles away from anything. The sounds of birds, chickens and the occasional horse is all you can really hear when chilling in the garden. We were very lucky with the weather and ate a number of our meals all together outside.

There is nothing I would change about this place and really hope we can arrange another trip here soon. Me & the bridesmaids are already dicussing it with our partners :D

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything exceeded our expectations
Liked least: That we had to come home
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jun 2016
Wow Jolie! Thank you, and for anyone reading this review, we didn't pay Jolie for it :)
It goes without saying that we'd love to welcome you back, either with partners or to celebrate the first year of wedded bliss. Will be thinking of you all on the big day. (((H)))
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic barn”
Reviewed 3 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We have just returned home from the most fabulous week staying at Cuckoo Croft. The barn is amazing, one of the few places we've stayed where the reality is equally as good, if not better, than the photos. Nigel and Tracy couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful and our girls loved seeing the cows and chickens, not to mention the excitement each morning when the 'dinosaur' came out to mow the lawn!

The barn is very well equipped. We were especially happy with all the large cooking pots which so often are missing in holiday rentals.

We had a great day out exploring Attingham Park which has an excellent and huge play area for children, well recommended. Can also recommend the Horseshoes Pub in Dorrington for Sunday lunch, really tasty and very friendly even when faced with a group of 12 people!

Thank you for such a lovely holiday, don't be surprised if you see us again x

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2016
Thank you Elizabeth and we'd love to see you all again. I'm sure there's still plenty for Shropshire to offer and it'd be great to see how the girls have grown if you do decide to come back :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing