We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely & relaxing, GUIMONDIERE is the perfect...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of GUIMONDIERE

Traditional features carefully restored
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Traditional features carefully restored
solar heated above ground pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Traditional features carefully restored
solar heated above ground pool
boules pitch
well equipped kitchen
roomy  downstairs bedroom
extra french cot bed in downstairs bedroomn
downstairs shower room
tv lounge will seat the whole family
first floor bedroom with extra dressing/cot space
2nd upstairs bedroom
small upstairs shower room
the little well
games barn with table tennis, darts, pool and skittles
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Saint Aubin du Desert, Mayenne, Pays de la Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ABMDracht...
Drachten
2 reviews
“Lovely & relaxing, GUIMONDIERE is the perfect holiday cottage, a real gem!”
Reviewed 21 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Linda & Eric have a done an excellent job of making a perfect holiday cottage. The gite, swimming pool area, gardens and barn are ideal spolit for choice and comfort. The pool area very enjoyable and even my 2 teenagers enjoyed themselves with all of the facilities. The Loire area is very pretty and authentic. Baker for fresh baguettes and pastries close by and very friendly even with our pigeon French. We loved the relaxing atmosphere so much that we only made one day trip to Le Mans, there is though enough to do in the area.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write, it makes it all worthwhile when we know folk have really enjoyed their holiday. Best wishes, Linda and Eric.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
461dissy4...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience”
Reviewed 24 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Eric and Linda were great hosts - the Gite was in a lovely setting - plenty of open space with gardens and patio/pool areas. There is a wonderful kitchen with a large wooden table in the middle - where we spent quite a few hours along with the evenings in the spacious sitting room in front of the log burner. Everywhere was very clean and the bedrooms were cosy and comfortable. The facilities were more than adequate, plenty of equipment/crockery ect in the kitchen, the outside had a patio area with furniture and sun beds.
The whole place is so inviting. We even had a visit everyday from Meil (honey) the dog who came to say morning and goodnight

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything about the whole placeand the owners
Liked least: for us there was nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 May 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write and pleased you enjoyed your stay, best wishes, Linda.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndyJane5...
Market Drayton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A really special place perfect for relaxing in beautiful tranquil coutryside”
Reviewed 23 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This Gite is an absolute gem of a place, being really spacious and having all the facilities you could possibly want. We spent 2 weeks here in mid august. This was our first trip to France taking our two dogs with us along with two teenaged kids and we were somewhat nervous about the whole trip. Well we needn't have worried. The Eurotunnel and the drive down to the property were an absolute doddle with the easy to follow directions given by the owners Linda and Eric. Usually you turn up at a place and the disappointment of it not being quite as good as the photos portray, hits you.....not so with Guimondiere! Having driven down the tree lined gravel track we were amazed at the size of the property, it's privacy and really beautiful grounds. Each room has been thoughtfully presented and furnished with some really nice touches. There is plenty of space for the larger family to escape from each other. The kitchen is of a proper country style and is the focal point leading out onto a delightful patio and enclosed garden where we ate most evenings (in the 28-30 degree heat!). The thick stone walls provide a cool retreat from the summer sun. There is a further private side garden area with badminton and short tennis set up. This is overlooked by a superb raised stone terrace next to the private pool. The solar heated pool was a nice temperature and there was rarely a day we didn't use it. It is a good size and plenty big enough to get some exercise swimming lengths or just for cooling off in. Whilst the English owners occupy the property next door, they are not in any way intrusive but are reassuringly on hand to answer any questions. Linda was a real diamond in sorting out an emergency dental appointment and also arranged for our mandatory pre return journey vet appointment. We intended using the place as a base to explore the region. In the end we were so taken with the peace and tranquillity of the area that we rarely strayed beyond the local villages. In short, it is up to you whether you just relax in the wonderful rural setting, whilst the kids use the array of games equipment provided, or whether you explore the quiet country lanes on foot or by bike, or whether you use it as a welcome retreat from which to visit some of the many local historical and natural sites of interest. We don't think you could find a more perfect place (unless you are into beaches, clubs and theme parks!).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and tranquility as well as the pool and on site facilities
Liked least: It rained on one day!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2015
Eric and I are always so pleased when our visiting families have enjoyed spending time together here. Your review is very welcome as it emphasises that despite being a very quiet rural area there are things to see and do if you choose. Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely commentary. Today it is pouring down but I can hear our current family having great fun playing skittles in the barn! Thanks again and very best wishes. Linda and Eric.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield...
Sheffield, UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely everything in the middle of Rural France”
Reviewed 16 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This place undersells itself! I don't know how they could do it any differently- you have to see it! Absolutely everything you could possibly need has been thought of and it is more than attractive to look at. Handmade quilts, fabulous kitchen, comfortable chairs, games for the kids, WiFi! Everything is spotless. Linda and Eric are next door but not the slightest bit intrusive. The area is quiet and peaceful and you might think I was pushing my luck taking two 13 year olds with a passion for makeup and social media...they loved it. They swam in the pool and the nearby lake with a beach, they managed to look at a few pretty villages, they played cards with us, they instagrammed and all the rest of the stuff and they came back peaceful and happy. It obviously worked for us too to be away from everything and I really can't think of anything which could have been improved - except perhaps the steps into the pool which I found a little uncomfortable on the feet - a minor thing really. To go there is to experience a holiday like the ones we used to have a long time ago - but with excellent plumbing! No pressure. Try it. We're going back....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: That everything you could possibly need was provided.
Liked least: Pool steps
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2015
Hi there, thanks so much for taking the time to write such a nice review. We are always very pleased when folk say they have enjoyed themselves. We will have a look at the pool steps to see what we can do to improve them. Thanks so much. Linda and Eric
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dawniepau...
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent cottage, fantastic holiday!”
Reviewed 19 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We have just returned from 2 weeks at Guimondiere and have had a fantastic holiday.
3 generations of age including 3 year old son.
The cottage accommodated us all very well. The cottage is very clean and comfortable, excellent spacious layout, fully equipped with everything you could ask for.
The playbarn with snooker, skittles, table tennis had lots of use, along with boules in the huge garden.
The swimming pool was used most days, and our son loved it.
The setting is very peaceful, with no traffic noise and no street lamps.
Linda and Eric are very friendly and made us all feel very welcome. Living next door they are on hand if needed, but at the same time we felt very secluded as if they were not there!
Great location, with some beautiful surrounding villages and walks close by, along with Sille Plage, Alencon town, Zoo de la fleche. we had some lovely days out.
(The only thing we would have liked would have been walking trails from the doorstep, but we did do some lovely walks 10 minute drive away.)

All in all, most definitely rate as 5 star, and we hope to return for sure.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Experiencing the French lifestyle in a superb setting.
Liked least: No walking trails from the doorstep.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jul 2015
Thank you so much for your kind review and for your patience and assistance with our wobbly door handles! So glad you enjoyed your holiday, best wishes, Linda and Eric.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing