We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accommodations”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Big Pond
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Big Pond Housekeeping Cottages
Reviewed 19 September 2011

These accommodations were by far the very best I have experienced. The cottage was immaculate, welcoming, comfortable, well appointed..............as a matter of fact, it felt very homey. The beds were nice, the cottage was roomy, the grounds were large and well kept. I would recommend the Big Pond Housekeeping Cottages to anyone interested in a clean, comfortable, scenic getaway. EXCELLENT..................will stay there again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: We had cottage # 2, and it was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 6 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2011

The cabins are very, very nice with all amenities. Much nicer than a lot of 4-5 star resorts I have stayed at and they were cheaper! We were very pleased to have found the cottages and were very surprised at how nice they were when we arrived. When we checked in and paid we were not told very much other than how to work the fireplace and satellite. We were not told when to check out or anything else. Heads up... its 11 as we were very rudely told in the morning by the owner. We had been waiting for our drive (It was around 11:45) when we were greeted by the owner who didn't ask us how our stay was or thank us for our business but told us how pissed off she was and that we were suppose to be out by 11. I can promise you this is not the standard Cape Breton charm. If you want a nice place to stay for a good price this is it, just be out by 11!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank caper2275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2010

We made our reservation here primarily because it was close to a Rita MacNeil concert and her tea house. But, we were more than suprised and pleased with the cabin, it's furnishings and location.The cabin was well kept and clean. The beds were comfortable.Because we wanted to see as much of Cape Breton and Nova Scotia as we could, its location was perfect. The sunset and sunrises were georgous .Coffee was available for arrival which a nice touch.The cottage is an excellant value for all it offers.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2009

We stayed here for a family function this summer and the cabin was pretty nice. We stayed in cabin #5 it had a full kitchen, couch, gas fireplace, full bath, and two bedrooms (three beds). There was a tv and satellite service so there were options. Also, there were washing machines and dryers as well, no additional cost; nice touch.
The bed was pretty firm and the frame facilitated a lot of squeaks and noise if you moved around too much. We were pretty tired by the end of every day so it didn't matter.
The cabins were peaceful and you could enjoy a nice cup of coffee in the morning and take in the sun rise.
If we were to go back to Cape Breton and stay in this area we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KingHuskey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2007

At the end of our trip to Cape Breton, we decided to stay at Big Pond Housekeeping Cottages despite the lousy name and the unappealing website. The only thing we knew about Big Pond is that Rita McNeil was born here and that it was on Bras D'Or Lake, which we wanted to explore. It ended up being the best place we stayed at on our trip. The cottages could not have been more than a few years old. They were immaculate. There was a combined kitchen and living room. Everything worked (except the fan in our room was a bit loud). There was more than enough room for my wife, two kids and an infant. There was a picnic table outside the cottage, a playground for the kids with slides and swings. The only drawback is it was across the street from Bras D'Or Lake, so you could not simply walk out to the water or get a good view of it from the cottage. But for $119, that is not much of a complaint. I could picture myself spending a few days here and traveling to spots around Cape Breton from here.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JBronx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Big Pond Housekeeping Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Pond Housekeeping Cottages

Address: 7671 East Bay Hwy | Big Pond Centre, Big Pond, Nova Scotia B1J 1Y8, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Big Pond
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Big Pond
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing