We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best self catering holiday ever!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Swarthmoor, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Chris W
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best self catering holiday ever!”
Reviewed 16 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here for a week in early May - had an absolutely fantastic time staying here. We loved everything about the property, from the peaceful and tranquil location, the hot tub, the beautifully decorated interior to the hugely comfortable bed!

I can't recommend Hillside Barn highly enough and we are already thinking about booking again for next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub, comfort, outdoor space, facilities and equipment
Liked least: Having to leave! Wi-fi would be the final addition perhaps.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe
Reviewed 9 December 2012 for a stay in October 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
familymac...
uk
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Gem in the South Lakes”
Reviewed 21 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Excellent accommodation, was a superb base for our holiday in the lakes.
We rented this barn conversion from reading reviews on trip advisor and found them to be fully justified. We loved being isolated within the farm complex, having the sheep & cows as our nosy neighbours. Again echo the comments on the hot tub - this is an excellent feature and we loved having a glass of bubbly to celebrate our lovely holiday in it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location & Hot tub
Liked least: Some worn out fixtures (toilet seat, Dish washer handle etc)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
musthavat...
newcastle upon tyne
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“best ever”
Reviewed 28 March 2012 for a stay in March 2012
2
people found this review helpful

this is our first stay in a cottage as we usualy book log cabins, what can i say !wow! we are so pleased we have found our perfect holiday heaven.
the cottage has everything you could wish for , it is in a perfect location not far from ulverstone , but quiet and secluded. the hot tub is fab, and wine eggs and milk on arrival most welcome.there are also many extras not mentioned when booking ,like playstation 3 wi, a bookshelf with dvd,s books console games etc,this place is that good its booked solid so any future booking would have to be well in advance. only 1 week left this yr and i am just about to book .SORRY.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the whole package
Liked least: loved everthing
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Reviewed 12 December 2011 for a stay in September 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing