We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decline in service and food portion sizes”
Review of Bonzo Lounge

Bonzo Lounge
Ranked #6 of 42 Restaurants in Keynsham
Cuisines: Contemporary, British, Bar, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast
Description: Bonzo Lounge is an informal, neighbourhood food led cafe/bar open all-day everyday where families, friends, and locals can come for a coffee, a drink, or something to eat in a relaxed comfortable environment.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

We are regular visitors since the lounge opened and our recent two visits have been a bit disappointing.
On service there are long waits at the bar despite us being there during a quiet period - lots of staff but only 1 serving. The others seem to spend their time 'putting glasses away' or chatting amongst themselves. This is a training issue that is easily rectified if the manager just took a little time to stand on our side of the character and observe the staff. Also - please tell bar staff to use tongs to put lemon in drinks - not their fingers!

The food has always been of a good standard but again we have noticed a change and the portion sizes have definitely shrunk.

It's a pity really as this is the best venue in Keynsham - just needs a bit of management action to put things right.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonzo L, Manager at Bonzo Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Hello Mary,

Sorry to hear that your last couple of visits have not been that great. I appreciate your thoughts and myself and the rest of the management team will take a look at how we train new staff to stop this happening in the future,

In regards to portion sizes, I will feed this back to HQ as they always looking for ways to improve dishes and, from a service perspective, make sure every guest leaves happy.

Kindest Regards,

Kelie Petterssen
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 277 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Perfect for a lovely vegetarian brunch. Spacious for a wheelchair, great portion sizes too.

They got my order slightly wrong, but the food was great, tasty and fresh. Nice atmosphere and good customer service.

Good for families.

Thank Joanna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonzo L, Manager at Bonzo Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Hi Joanna F,

Hope you are well, thank you for your feedback - lovely to hear you enjoyed our staple veggie breakfast! It's full of colour and is really popular with our regulars.

Sorry that we made a mistake on your order, we have had a change of staff recently and they are learning the ropes as best they can. On your next visit, it will be spot on ;)

Kindest Regards,

Kelie Petterssen
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018 via mobile

We are regular visitors to the Bonzo, and can’t speak highly enough of it. A great atmosphere, and a family and community bar, with tasty meal options, and which caters for all needs as the day progresses.
From the morning dog walkers and mums, in for a coffee and a place to meet in the morning, to the after work quick pinters before Home, to the weekend party crowds, out for a great night out - Bonzo changes throughout the day, depending on the audience.
If you’re out for a wild drinking session, Bonzo’s probably not for you.
Pick your times, because Bonzo really is all things to all men (and women, kids and dogs.)
Drinks are in line with The Loungers pricing, so not the cheapest. Amongst the choices are Gem, Estrella on tap (plus others) lots of bottled beers, wines and cocktails. Be prepared to join a queue for a drink, rather than the typical melee at the bar, and be prepared for a wait to be served if the staff are tied up making cocktails.
Food is well prepared and served, but there can sometimes be a bit of wait if you’re in at the busier times, but there’s a good choices of typical chic pub grub dishes.
All in all, a highly recommended, friendly and bustling venue, with muted lighting in the evenings and lots of cosy old armchairs for Lounging. Well worth a visit!

Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonzo L, Manager at Bonzo Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

Hi Mark,

We really want to thank you for your kind words - we are working on the queuing but we do find ourselves smashing out cocktails very frequently.

You've painted such a lovely picture of Bonzo Lounge as everything we strive to achieve and the place we want to be.

Hopefully see you again really soon!

Kindest Regards,

Kelie Petterssen
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2018 via mobile

Good coffee and family friendly. Loved the decor really interesting and cool. Would recommend for a coffee with friends or family.

Thank Cathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonzo L, Manager at Bonzo Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2018

Hi Cathy H,

Thank you for your lovely feedback - hope to see you here again enjoying a good coffee or two!

Kindest Regards,

Kelie Petterssen
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2018 via mobile

A great way to finish the holiday with a visit to Bonzo Lounge for lunch. Managed to find a table for the 4 of us and was very pleased with the quality of the food and reasonably priced.

Thank Hub5ey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonzo L, Manager at Bonzo Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Hi Hub5ey,

Hope your holiday lovely and you're not suffering from the blues too much. Really glad we could top off your experience and make the coming back from a holiday more enjoyable.

Hopefully we will see you soon!

Kindest Regards,

Kelie Petterssen
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bonzo Lounge also viewed

 
Chippenham, Wiltshire
 

Been to Bonzo Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing