We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wowsers!! Love this place!”

Jose Jones Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #4 of 48 Restaurants in Thirroul
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 11 - USD 36
Description: At Jose Jones Restaurant & Bar in Thirroul - NSW, our emphasis is on providing fresh, locally sourced, exquisite food, and an atmosphere to relax within. We offer a bold range of exquisite cocktails, and a mouth-watering array of locally brewed beers and craft ales. Come and discover the relaxed, beach-side atmosphere of Jose Jones, situated in the heart of the coastal town of Thirroul. We are only 1 hour from Sydney CBD, and only 15 minutes from the city of Wollongong, NSW.
Restaurant details
Description: At Jose Jones Restaurant & Bar in Thirroul - NSW, our emphasis is on providing fresh, locally sourced, exquisite food, and an atmosphere to relax within. We offer a bold range of exquisite cocktails, and a mouth-watering array of locally brewed beers and craft ales. Come and discover the relaxed, beach-side atmosphere of Jose Jones, situated in the heart of the coastal town of Thirroul. We are only 1 hour from Sydney CBD, and only 15 minutes from the city of Wollongong, NSW.
Reviewed 23 September 2018 via mobile

Amazing food, foragers bowl is off the hook! Coffee is bloody amazing and service has been epic!!!! You must get your butts here !

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Extraordinary191873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2018

great atmosphere, fabulous service, great food but a bit pricey, alcohol prices OTT, coffee below average,

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Theresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2018

Food is good as is the outdoor location and general ambience. Let down a bit by the main road location, you are eating in the carpark of a motel.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018

They sat our group outside on a winters night, even though tables inside were available for the duration of our stay. Under a heater which gave off heat the equivalent of a candle. Some tables had no heater, they were offered blankets, really. One table did not have a heater or candle, they left after 5 minutes.
My schooner of craft beer was off. I have been in the alcohol industry for close to 20 years. Either dirty lines or beer not pulled through. Waitress told me in no uncertain terms that "our lines are not dirty". Brought me a bottle and a filthy schooner glass, I drank out of the bottle.
I ordered the "special", beer battered prawn tacos. Leather prawns with tails on encased in a cacoon of thick hard batter. These were laid on circles of cardboard, which when rolled up to eat crumbled in your hands. The other meals were bland and very underwhelming.
Never again, plenty of good alternatives in the area. I hope Jose rides off never to be seen again.
Go there at your own peril.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank peterdS2547FS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018

I went here with friends on a Friday night - chilly evening but seated outside next to a gas heater meant we didn't feel the cold. Great range of food, especially the sliders and chorizo. Decent wine list too, and the pineapple mojito on offer that night was soo yum, There was one slight stuff up with one of our food plates mixed up with something else, but this was very quicky rectified, and we were even able to keep the extra dish with no additional cost. Attentive staff, great food and they even easily allowed for bill-splitting, Will definitely be back

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank devr80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose' J, Manager at Jose Jones Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Hi devr80,
We're so glad you enjoyed your visit to Jose Jones! We pride ourselves in great food and service so thank you for recognising both! Our heaters have been going down a treat on these chilly winter evenings!
Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jose Jones Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Thirroul, New South Wales
Thirroul, New South Wales
 
Thirroul, New South Wales
Thirroul, New South Wales
 
Thirroul, New South Wales
 

Been to Jose Jones Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing