We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 am - 12:30 pm, 2:00 pm - 5:30 pm
Day trek to Simeien Mountains
3

Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Simien Mountains National Park
More Info
More Info
Reviews (1,591)
Filter reviews
1,591 results
Traveller rating
1,334
193
32
19
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,334
193
32
19
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews simien mountains gelada monkeys ethiopian wolf day trip ras dashen his team flora and fauna imet gogo days trekking tour operator rainy season contact details three days via email delicious food local guide great guide
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
810 - 815 of 1,591 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2017

The Simiens is a highlight of Ethiopia. We did a 4 day tour, and saw some amazing scenery and wildlife. Tesh was our tour guide and he and his crew did a great job with the camp set up and food. Day 3 was definitely the highlight as far as the hiking and scenery - a strenuous and satisfying day hiking the ridges.

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 May 2017 via mobile

Thank you so much for organising our tour- very well tailored to our needs. Felt very safe and well taken care of

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 May 2017

magnificent location, the baboons were amazing get up close and personal with them. camping excellent staff were fab, chatted around the fire exchanged stories and great food.

Date of experience: April 2017
1  Thank markevans20
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 May 2017

The Simiens were one of the highlights of the Ethiopia trip, stunning scenery and we were very well taken care of at our campsite. We saw gelada monkeys doing their thing, some bushbucks, loads of birds and even a token leopard (fleetingly). Our guide Desu was very knowledgeable on the ecosystem and geology and was keen to share his knowledge with us which made the walks all the more interesting and exciting. Our cook Alex cooked the best food we had the whole trip, and our driver Melis was very helpful and friendly. I would definitely recommend a trip to the park as the scenery is really breathtaking and gives you a whole other perspective of the landscapes you see driving through. I can also recommend Desu and Melis who organised a great trip and took care of us, and who know a lot about a lot of interesting things! Thanks guys for a great trip!

Date of experience: December 2016
Thank Becky F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 May 2017

We stayed at the lovely LimaLimo Lodge for two nights - a great location with great views in an eco-minded facility. The staff was super friendly & helpful providing great service all around. They even took great care to manage all of our vegan food preferences - even boxing up lunches for us during our treks and our travel back to the airport.

We also greatly appreciated the services of our park guide, Desalgn Mesafint (Desu, desalgn2012@gmail.com). He was incredibly knowledgeable about the park, the wildlife, the flora, the fauna and Ethiopian culture and history in general. He was able to identify the flower, plants, and birds by name. We loved all the Gelada we encountered and could have watched them for hours! We got to see pretty much the whole range of behavior -
playing, eating, mating, resting.... While the Gelada are wary of people, they are not afraid so we were able to observe the quite closely.

The hike and drive were absolutely beautiful. Wish we had more time to continue trekking. We'll just have to come back.

The park was sparsely visited or maybe it's just so huge that you rarely see other visitors. We saw only one other party (outside the people who live in the park) during a full day visit. It's like having your own private Grand Canyon (US) to visit. Peaceful and beautiful.

The park does require both a guide and scout along with a driver. Because it's remote, pack your water, food, and sunscreen. There are no real stops within the park - just one other lodge we came across.

Date of experience: April 2017
1  Thank Cheryl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews