We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Heavenly cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Spacious Master Bedroom with magnificent seaview, luxurious bed linen/towels.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spacious Master Bedroom with magnificent seaview, luxurious bed linen/towels.
Front of cottage from the main road.Extension to back overlooks hills/loch/moorland. Front of cottage with spacious porch, stunning views across the village of Leverburgh.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Spacious Master Bedroom with magnificent seaview, luxurious bed linen/towels.
Front of cottage from the main road.Extension to back overlooks hills/loch/moorland.
Front of cottage with spacious porch, stunning views across the village of Leverburgh.
The Harris hils, look out for the different  tropical colours of the sea, a marvellous view.
Magnificent view from the front of the cottage overlooking the Harbour and ferry port.
Horgabost beach- beautiful white shell beach and you dont have to fight for a space,wonderful.
Light bright spacious Hall with oak flooring
Yummy cakes on cake stand in large newly fitted well equipped modern  kitchen.
Living Room with antique and modern comfortable furniture
Back Bedroom with views of hills and moorland
Dining room which can seat five/six people adjacent to kitchen, beautiful oak furniture.
Light and bright bathroom with shower, Molton Brown toiletries for your comfort.
Front Porch with Poseur table, high stools, stunning views to enjoy coffee/ cakes.
Utility room with views out to moorland plus the picnic basket for  lunch on the beach.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Leverburgh, Isle of Harris, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Q7964KJji...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Heavenly cottage”
Reviewed 31 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We spent a wonderful week in Marion and Jack's holiday cottage. The cottage was immaculate, comprehensively equipped, well set out, spacious and bright. There were only the two of us staying but the cottage would easily accommodate an additional couple, being a 2 double bedroom cottage, very comfortably. It most definitely exceeded expectations and certainly deserves the excellent reviews that we read on Tripadviser before booking.

We had everything we needed and more. The cottage is quiet with spectacular views across the loch and offers off-street parking. It is close to the well-stocked up local supermarket, the takeaway gem 36 Croft, and the Butty Bus open on Fridays where you can eat a scrumptious cullen skink and fish&chips. The location is also perfect as a base for exploring Harris and south Lewis.

It is about 30 mins drive from Taebert and near to St Clements church and some wonderful walks

Marion and Jack were extremely welcoming and have set up a wonderful cottage. We would have no hesitation in recommending Berneray cottage to our friends. This was our first time in Harris and we will definitely try to come back, in which case we'd book again with Marion and Jack.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth R
Inverurie, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb Accommodation”
Reviewed 16 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Beautifully presented cottage equipped with everything you could think of and more. Marion and Jack were very welcoming on our arrival to show us round. There are so many little touches that make this cottage feel "high end" and I hope Marion and Jack know this is appreciated. Location could not be better, views all round and you can watch the ferry arriving morning and evening. The holiday was for my Mum who is celebrating a special birthday so I was keen that everything would be perfect and it was, even the golden eagles appeared. Can't rate Berneray Cottage highly enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AB42
Louth
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage!”
Reviewed 6 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We have stayed in many self-catering cottages over the years, but I only bother reviewing those that are really good (or bad!). This is definitely the best cottage we have ever rented. Jack and Marion gave us a warm welcome when we arrived and showed us around their delightful cottage. It is a LOT bigger than it looks from the outside or on the pictures. All the rooms are very spacious and are nicely decorated. Every window has the most amazing view. The cottage is spotlessly clean and has everything you could possibly want and more in the way of equipment and home comforts. It also has the advantage of being in the same village as The Anchorage, which is one of the best restaurants we have ever eaten in. Croft36 nearby is a takeaway ( basically a shed with an honesty box!), which also does excellent food. If you stay at this cottage you will not be disappointed! We were blessed with excellent weather, but if the weather was bad, you would still be comfortable here as the heating worked well (we had to turn it right down!) and there was plenty of hot water. There is also a good utility room, so you have all the appliances you would need. The porch at the front is a suntrap (if you are as lucky as we were with the weather). It is well positioned as you are very near to all the wonderful west coast beaches, but you also have the excellent Harris Community Shop nearby. We are hoping to be able to return sometime (we wish we didn't live so far away!).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The feeling of homeliness and the cleanliness.
Liked least: The short nights were quite hard to deal with - some blackout blinds would help!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie-Lou...
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A first class bolt hole”
Reviewed 23 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

There is nothing you could want for in the cottage which is homely but modern and has all the little extra touches that make it very special. Clean and well equipped, it is a lovely cottage that caters beautifully for any visitor to Harris.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tessa1232...
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Home from Home”
Reviewed 13 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Absolutely everything provided at this delightfully spacious and comfortable cottage, including wicker picnic basket and blanket!
Ideally located for ferry landings, close to village shop and beautiful beach, at the village of Northton.
A wonderful place to retreat to after a busy day exploring the landscape of Harris.
Cannot recomend it highly enough....you will not be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of fittings and furnishings.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing