We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Everything you want from Tuscany - and more”
other traveller has booked this property
Part of the Villa entry garden, with roses in full bloom.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Part of the Villa entry garden, with roses in full bloom.
The 'La Soffita' Suite, with
antique headboard The 'La Soffita' Suite, with
a 17th Century armoire.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Part of the Villa entry garden, with roses in full bloom.
The 'La Soffita' Suite, with
antique headboard
The 'La Soffita' Suite, with
a 17th Century armoire.
Springtime in Sant' Andrea di Compito
The 'Cecilia' Suite with antique furnishings.
The 'Cecilia' Suite sitting area and HD TV.
Another view of the Villa gardens
Villa Gardens, with the Iris in Bloom
Part of the Villa Rose Garden
The Villa Cutting Garden
Petunia Fantasy
The front of the villa with the breakfast patio to the left.
Wisteria overhanging the Pathway in the Villa garden....taken in April.
Azaleas blooming on the entry patio, in April.
The Aldo Suite living area and patio.
Aldo Suite kitchen ans fireplace.
Aldo Suite loft bedroom and bath, with double bed and luxury linens.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Sant'Andrea di Compito, Province of Lucca, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MeinDenve...
Denver
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Everything you want from Tuscany - and more”
Reviewed 7 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We (two couples and a single friend) were going to rent a house in Lucca—but we are so glad we didn’t. Il Rifugio (15 minutes from the city of Lucca) gave us the “off the beaten path” Tuscan experience we were seeking. The hosts, location, and accommodations all added up to a perfect week in Tuscany.

Call me a skeptic, but I suspected many of the glowing reviews were probably posted by their friends and family. They are not. From the moment we pulled into the parking place, we felt like we were visiting old friends. From making reservations, giving directions, offering suggestions or just chatting, Bill and John were gracious, warm, and accommodating. Bill has a wicked sense of humor and a wealth of information on the area. You can certainly find lovely rooms all over Tuscany, but you will not find any with hosts as entertaining and thoughtful as Bill and John.

Our group rented all three of the “suites” and each room was nice for different reasons—in fact each of us felt like we got the best room. In the main house, the ground floor is made up of the kitchen (not for use from the guests), living room, and dining room (where breakfast is served). There are two separate staircases. One staircase leads to the owner’s private rooms and the other staircase leads to the two guest rooms. On the second floor is a spacious room, “The Cecilia Suite,” with private bath. On the third floor is another bedroom “La Soffita,” which includes a small sitting room and private bath. Even though these rooms are in the main house, they feel very private. I normally don’t like B&Bs, but the layout was perfect: Everyone had their own space and could interact with others as much or little as they wanted.

Behind the main house is a small “cottage” with its own entrance. It has a ground floor living area, small kitchen, and upstairs loft bedroom with an ensuite bathroom. As a bonus, it also has its own little private patio.

As noted in other posts, the property is surrounded by gardens and little places to sit and relax. Even though there are quite a few cats roaming around outside, they kept their distance and someone in our group is pretty allergic to cats but they were not affected. The inside is spotless and the outside is beautifully maintained.

The location is perfect. It's located in a little village of less than 500. I was a little afraid I’d be bored in such a small town, but I could have spent another week (or two) there. We took day trips to Lucca, San Gimignano and Volterra, Cinque Terre, took a cooking class, and just spent time sipping wine and enjoying the gardens. The people from the village were warm and inviting--regardless of the language barrier. We became friends with a lovely couple from Scotland who just bought a house nearby, watched farmers as they brought their olives to be pressed, and spent too many evenings in the little bar just up the hill.

We traveled all over Italy and can unequivocally say the pizzeria up the hill (less than 5 minute walk) had the best pizza we had anywhere. From Milan to Florence we couldn’t find a better pizza—and we tried.

Everyone in our group all agreed (and we rarely all agree on anything) the highlight of our trip was Il Rifugio it’s everything you hope Tuscany will be. We can’t wait to return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2017
We can only wish all our guests were as wonderful as this group...we felt completely at home with them...just like family visiting...Our time with them was a pleasure, always...and we very much enjoyed serving them. We can only hope they return soon...we think Tuscany has made a very special impression on them. Thankk you, Folks!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Floridado...
Estero
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Il Rifugio B & B - Things Everyone Should Know Before Booking”
Reviewed 21 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

“IL RIFUGIO” - Hidden Jewel in the Rolling Hills of Luca

Although our stay was a disappointment, we will attempt to provide a sincere evaluation to include the positive as well as the reasons for the negative experience we endured.

Il Rifugio is located in the hills outside of Lucca. We were 2 couples and our reservation required a full size bed and bathroom with shower for each couple. The accommodations were very tastefully decorated and clean. There was also a number of TV channels available in English allowing us to keep up to date on the news back in the US. The proprietor provided a nice selection of breakfast items with tea and coffee every morning and attempted to be helpful with regard to information and directions.

Below are some things that made our experience disappointing.

Our suites were located on the 2nd and 3rd floor within the home of the proprietor and we were not provided keys for the entrance of the home nor our rooms. We travel extensively and this was uncomfortable and quite different from any other experience we have ever had while traveling. We had never had to sleep anywhere, much less in another Country, without the ability to lock our bedroom door, not to mention, forced to trust that our unlocked belongings would be safe while we were away each day. It was also made clear that the kitchen belonged to the proprietor and was “OFF LIMITS.” Our prior information never indicated that we were basically renting 2 rooms in someone’s house.

The home had a live-in cat and the proprietor’s daily regimen of feeding, in his words, 12 neighborhood cats at the entrance/exit of the residence made it very uncomfortable and very detrimental to our allergies. The cats were the likely source of fleas that we encountered each day while eating breakfast or when entering /exiting the premises. We were quite surprised to discover the cat in our room one day which made it necessary to keep our doors closed at all times instead of being able for our group to be more accessible and socialize while we were all in our accommodations.

I was quite confused when the proprietor approached me to “grease his palm” on the first day. My confused look prompted him to request that the account be settled in cash at the beginning of our stay. Since our previous week at a lovely villa in the Chianti area of Tuscany provided us with a normal check-out procedure at the conclusion of our stay, we were quite surprised as well as insulted.

The advertised Wi-Fi internet that was available was spotty at best and not even always available in our rooms. When available a speed test revealed a download speed with a range between 4-5 and a non-existent upload speed of 0.25 making it impossible to stream or upload any video.

Since we travelled with two weeks worth of luggage and needed a car that would accommodate our needs, it was impossible for us
to be out with the car after dark because of the narrowness and lack of lighting of the driveway up to the residence. These conditions limited our late day activity for the entire stay.

Although we paid for the week up front in cash, we decided to leave after six days and spend our last day and night in a very comfortable hotel in Florence. We did not request a refund for the last day but the fact that an offer of some type of compensation was never offered reveals all you need to know about the business acumen of this entity.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Sep 2017
We were very much taken aback by the comments from these guests. Both gentlemen had serious physical limitations which made the stairs to their Suites difficult for them....perhaps that factor played a part in the review...we were never advised of their mobility problems. We certainly made every effort to give them our best service...and it was made clear from the beginning that we are a B&B, not a full-service hotel. We won't comment on the falsehoods put forward in the above...our many 5-star reviews say it all. We can only wish them our best..
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dougg279
Roswell, Georgia
2 reviews
“Exceptional Property and hosts – perfect place to relax in Tuscany”
Reviewed 4 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

After traveling for 3 weeks in Europe we arrived at Il Rifugio for our final stop. From the moment, we arrived to the moment we left all are expectation were exceeded. The property is beautifully restored and in a great location near Lucca, Pisa, and Florence. There are 3 bedroom suites and we rented all of them for the 5 of us.

We were concerned with the heat of Italy in the summer. The location could not have been more perfect. It was cool in the evenings where you did not need AC to sleep. Every morning it was still cool to late morning. We were meet with a wonderful breakfast every morning. In the late afternoon, we had a very enjoyable happy hour including great conversation with Bill & John.

Bill & John were wonderful host. By second day they were more friends than hosts. They were very helpful in arranging dinner reservations every night and recommending day trips.

When we return to Tuscany we will go out of our way to stay with them again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2017
Our doors will always be open for these 5 great guys...it almost seemed like a vacation for us, also...We thoroughly enjoyed their company and the many stories of their travels. we will welcome them back anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick K
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A little Tuscany paradise”
Reviewed 30 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Just a must stay when you are visiting the Pisa and Lucca area.

A peaceful and beautiful hide away - a top renovated property with the touch you will love it!

Just stay and enjoy this property and the host

Patrick and Angélica

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2017
Patrick and Angéica are new-found friends of Il Rifugio...we consider them family now. They arrived with another couple after a very long drive, so we did our best to get them settled...with an early "Happy Hour"...a cooling drink, something to eat, and an afternoon rest. We will welcome them back to our corner of Tuscany any time they have an extra few days...they are simply wonderful guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary Elle...
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The best part of our Italian Vacation”
Reviewed 12 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

When people ask us about our Italian vacation, I have to tell them our stay at Il Rifugio was the highlight. We stayed in Rome and Florence, but what we remember most fondly is our stay will Bill and John in the countryside. They were great hosts, always attentive and never intrusive. No detail was overlooked. We took over the whole inn for our family. We were welcomed very warmly. We were so comfortable during our visit. The breakfast every day was delicious with fresh baked goods from a local bakery. We enjoyed happy hour in the afternoon on the patio overlooking the gorgeous gardens. Bill and John made excellent recommendations on activities every day. I honestly can't say enough about the inn and the wonderful innkeepers.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2017
Our rewards come to us when great guests such as these appreciate our efforts...our guests many times arrive after a hectic week or two, seeing the wonderful sights Italy has to offer...they come to Il Rifugio ready for some quiet down time, a glass of wine, and a good night's sleep...or two! These folks were ready to relax....and it was a real pleasure meeting them....hopefully they will return very soon...we'll have the wine chilled!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing