We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Such a great weekend!!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
48 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
8 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Kilmun, Cowal Peninsula, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Emilyjess...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Such a great weekend!!”
Reviewed 2 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Booked a weekend away with a big group of friends for a good catch up! It was absolutely amazing and we all had such a great time thanks to the wonderful house! Lovely large rooms, one of the showers was out of order but it didn't really affect our stay. Had two amazing nights downstairs in the pool/dart and tv rooms!! Such a good set up, made it great for my friends and I to chill and have a great time. Lovely walks available around the house, we were lucky we had such great weather! Can't explain how good it was!!! We will definitely be saving our pennies up to return very soon! We all have the Kilmun blues :(! Thanks John!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Mar 2016
I am so pleased you had a good time. Thank you for leaving the place nicely - and for leaving this review. Most of our satisfied guests don't actually bother !!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
432yvonne
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Old house in need of some TLC”
Reviewed 10 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016
4
people found this review helpful

Firstly, the positives - this is a gorgeous old house, in a beautiful location, with plenty of room for everyone to spread out and good sized rooms. The kitchen is well equipped and the dining room is stunning.
Unfortunately, this house is not being given the care and attention it deserves. The kitchen was dirty on arrival, with the previous guests' breakfast still stuck to the table, a mouldy filter in the coffee maker and general grime in the cupboards and on the dishes. We had to do some cleaning before we felt comfortable using it.
The photos on this web site and the Old Kilmun site are obviously not recent, as the furniture throughout is getting a bit tired, with the worst thing being the discovery of a piece of chipboard under the matress on one side of the bed in the master suite - to help someone with a sore back? No, to prop up the matress from collapsing through the broken base of the bed!
A downlight hanging from the bathroom ceiling, a nail sticking out of the planking in the sauna, a shower that leaked through into the kitchen, cracked sinks and bath, the TV in the snug downstairs that turned funny colours while you were watching it - everyone was very pink at one stage and then suddenly yellow, and the beautiful panelled ceiling in the
dining room that was sagging alarmingly, right under where the bed would be sitting in the master suite, all made us very sad that this magnificent house does not seem to be getting the care and attention it deserves.
We had a lovely week, but would not have rated the house 4 stars (a fact noted in the guest book by other recent guests) and would urge the owner to spend some money on fixing these issues, before more reviews like this one start to appear on this site.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and size of the property
Liked least: The condition of the house and furnishings
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 May 2016
I am very sorry that you judged us so harshly, but very glad you had a lovely week. We have reluctantly had to let the housekeeper go, as the coffee grounds in the coffee machine was a regular occurrence, and dishes and cupboards were too often found as previous guests had left them. (Usually, that's clean, but it cant be left to previous guests and chance. That's not good enough for our standards). A few quibbles with your quibbles. The shower doesn't leak if people pull the shower curtain across. You were the first people to mention a TV problem and the TV has been replaced even though the next guests after you said it was fine. The house dates from 1693 and some of the ceilings sag - there is no need to be alarmed by that. Visitscotland rated us right at the top of their 4 star category for excellence with a score of 82. 85 is the maximum. We send lots of money on the place, and replace anything that needs replacing as soon as we see it needs replacing. This year so far, - new sofas downstairs in games room and in snug, new rugs, 45 new cushions and pillows, new bedside lamps and linen.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agnes W
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A truly beautiful house - would HIGHLY recommend it!”
Reviewed 12 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We stayed at Old Kilmun house for a Birthday weekend and had an unforgettable time.
The house was extremely well equipped with two sitting rooms (a less formal one downstairs) a large dining room, and a cosy kitchen. There was even a sauna! The location was great, right opposite the beautiful loch (which we went swimming it!!!). We went for a long walk right behind the house along a trail into the arboretum.
John was a great host, he replied to me very quickly and was extremely helpful answering any questions and queries I had - thank you! He also gave us all of our deposit back despite us spilling some red wine on the carpet!

Thank you for renting your lovely house to us!

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Dec 2015
Thanks for the lovely review - it was a shame about the red wine but you were lovely guests and we would welcome you back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L_ell23
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“***DEPOSIT SCAM***”
Reviewed 21 November 2014 for a stay in September 2014
7
people found this review helpful

**DEPOSIT SCAM - BEWARE**
We paid a £600 "housekeeping" deposit to the owner via direct bank transfer (we have since found out bank transfers are common requests from scam artists). The owner has withheld £300 of our deposit as he claims we left the house with the shower running. I mean...really? What sane person would leave a shower on and leave the house with a £600 deposit to lose??!!!! The shower then supposedly leaked onto the floor, dripped through the ceiling and caused damage to the kitchen worktops (even as I type this I can't believe the story which has been concocted). So we are £300 out of pocket through no fault of our own. We believe this is completely fabricated. He has not provided us with any photographic evidence of the alleged damage, no invoices from who completed any work etc. We have no proof there even was any damage. We think the owner was simply angry at us as we left the main door unlocked as we left...however we were led to believe the cleaners were coming in at the same time we were leaving.

If you make the risky decision to stay here....please make sure you pay any deposits to this owner by credit card. And if there are any issues with the house/things not working- then take pictures and report to owner asap. We didn't do this and we should have as the shower we were accused of leaving on DIDN'T EVEN WORK!!!!! So there were clearly existing plumbing issues which our £300 has paid for.

I look forward to seeing the owners response to this post as he is the most irrational and unreasonable person I have had the misfortune of coming across.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Mar 2015
Only just seen this post. Extraordinary. Libellous. Pack of lies. This was booked by a woman who seemed very nice, who it then turned out wasn't coming, because it was a stag party. She neglected to tell us this at the time. As well as being messy, they treated the place with the respect you would expect of a drunken badly brought up 15 year old. They left the house with a shower running, water pouring out of the shower cubicle. It flooded into the room below. They left every light on in the house. They left the central heating on over-ride. They left the front door wide open. They left with the house keys. They didn't ring me, they didn't ring the housekeeper. They didn't tell us they had left the house unlocked. We could have had the place emptied, squatted, burnt down. No-one had ever suggested the cleaners would be arriving the same day they left. I shouldn't really have given them a penny of their deposit back as a result of all this, but I did so, because we actually got the remedial work done for £300, and because we are honest people not scam artists. We take the deposit against damage, so we refund the difference if there ever is any damage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanMacF19...
Wemyss Bay, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent rental house for large travelling parties”
Reviewed 27 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This property was booked for a large family gathering and has great facilities for everyone and ideally placed for exploring Argyll and the rest of Scotland.
A great old house does come with its own character with the plumbing and other rattles and groans but this just adds to the overall atmosphere of living in a large old house.
The power shower and Sauna on the second floor were well used and the magnificent large rooms - dining room/kitchen/living room/TV room meant there was plenty of space for everyone to chill and socialise as required.
The games room was also great for kids and adults alike along with the extra kit - goals/golf club sets (There is a great wee nine hole course about 2 miles away at Strone with an honesty box) and bikes.
The welcome pack has a lot of information that is very useful with the local garage/shop/diner great for the essentials and the diner is very good for food before a days exploring if you do not want to use the large kitchen and cookers ( Aga/microwave/electric).
all in all a great place to go with a large gathering with great views and taking the break at whatever speed suits.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: staying in a large stately home
Liked least: no different type of pillows available
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Sep 2015
Thank you so much for visiting us and for taking the time to post a positive review that will help other people judge us fairly. We aren't perfect but we do our best!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing