We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Mini-moon Destination!”

Review of Woodfarm Barn

Luxurious Suffolk Barns, some with Hot Tubs. Check website for details
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Luxurious Suffolk Barns, some with Hot Tubs. Check website for details
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
308 reviews
Luxurious Suffolk Barns, some with Hot Tubs. Check website for details
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Stonham Aspal, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 308 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
rosieh420
Shepshed, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect Mini-moon Destination!”
Reviewed 27 March 2014 for a stay in November 2013

My new husband and I were looking for a place to spend a short break for our 'mini-moon' after getting married in October 2013. One of our friends had stayed there previously and instantly got us in touch with Carl, who was so helpful and very social media savvy! Nothing was too much trouble.

We stayed in the main barn (Woodfarm) and everything was perfect! The barn was spotless, warm and welcoming. It felt super cosy, but it also was finished to a very high quality. Most noticeably for us, it had loads of plug points for all of our technology!

We were also greeted with the coolest hamper of goodies! Fresh milk, eggs, bread, butter, local cheeses and ham, and some Suffolk-based ales and ciders. Our friend that had recommended the place had also called up and ordered us a bottle of bubbly, which Carl was more than happy to oblige with, so we were able to finally have some peace and quiet, just by ourselves in our wonderful little hidey-hole for the next three days.

During the stay, Carl popped by (I made him a cuppa and we had a good old chinwag!) to check everything was ok, but otherwise remained quietly available for us if we needed anything. We took advantage of some of the recommendations in the info book in the barn, and drove around the countryside and visited both Colchester and Ipswich while we were there. There is also a small business park just round the corner from the turning onto the properties which has the most amazing 'junk yard' shop that you could ask for - I could've spent hours in there!
I can imagine it to be amazingly idyllic in the summer months and the whole plot of land has been well though-out. Carl is very proud of what he has created (and rightfully so!), and the barn came complete with a beautifully insightful book detailing how it had been lovingly and carefully restored and renovated.

Woodfarm Barns would be somewhere I would recommend to anyone looking for a retreat, or a short, or long break. Suffolk is a county I haven't visited before and I really do want to go back. And another great point is that it takes dogs! So I've told all of my friends who have dog-children to take advantage of their dog-friendly policies. It really is a great locale for walking! Or just relaxing!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The welcome hamper! And Car!
Liked least: Could only have been improved by a slightly sturdier bed frame & mattress.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Mar 2014
Aw thanks guys! Very kind words. Getting these sort of reviews makes it all worthwhile. Hope all is well in the land of snow xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve E
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Everything we could have wanted”
Reviewed 2 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We wanted a break to coincide with our daughter's holiday, which meant it wasn't going to be the usual start dates. Carl was fab and was able to work with us to get the right dates which was a great start to our holiday. We took Gipping Barn and eagerly looked forward to arriving.

Carl met us on arrival and took us to the barn and then gave us a brief guide of how to use the facilities (including the underfloor heating which was a real bonus in February)

The barn itself was scrupulously clean, with a welcome basket of eggs, mushrooms, tomatoes, fruit, and locally sourced bread. The fridge contained milk, butter and some delicious smoked bacon.

Cosy evenings were spent around the woodburner (once I'd got its measure) while we watch the Winter Olympics on TV. The bed was comfy and warm, and it was a pleasure to hear the dawn chorus above our heads in the mornings.

The bathroom was clean and well set out. The shower was roomy with a plentiful supply of water and pressure!

Carl had provided some useful guide books which were comprehensive and current.

Rainy days would have been well catered for with a massive number of DVDs available in The Shed, together with plenty of bikes and guidebooks (including Daisy the tandem)

I'd definitely recommend Woodfarm Barns.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Birdsong in the morning.
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Mar 2014
Wow, thank you so much. It was a pleasure to meet you. Hope to see you again soon :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandie S
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A fantastic place to stay!!! Peaceful, romantic, and cosy.......”
Reviewed 20 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We stayed in the Orwell barn for a long weekend to celebrate a birthday. The barn was everything and more than we imagined. Carl made us very welcome when we arrived on a cold and wet evening! The barns are set in a lovely setting, very peaceful but within range of great places to visit, including some lovely pubs! The barns also allow dogs which was a bonus! We took along our dog mollie and she was also made very welcome. Carl supplies a lovely breakfast basket along with a treat for our dog!
It was the little extras like candles that really made the holiday, will be back soon!!!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Feb 2014
What a lovely review, thank you so much!

I hope Mollie likes her photo on our Dog page too! Hope to see you all again soon :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TashSB
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“The Granary is a gorgeous romantic hideaway”
Reviewed 11 February 2014 for a stay in January 2013

We stayed at the Granary in January for my husband's birthday and had a wonderful time. Carl met us when we arrived and was an absolute gem. He was so friendly and welcoming. The cottage was gorgeous, with everything you good possibly need including a fantastic welcome basket. The bed was far too cosy and comfortable though!
We went for a couple of walks but spent most of the time locked safely inside, out of the cold. There were plenty of logs provided for the woodburner with more in the shed to buy if we needed. Also hundreds of DVD's. We didn't need to even go out for more wine as it was there to buy!
We really loved our stay at the granary and would love to come back again! Thankyou Carl!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2014
What a lovely review, thank you. It's been too long, be great to see you this summer :-) x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
851Sue
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic place”
Reviewed 6 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014

This is the second time we've stayed at Woodfarm Barns and it won't be the last.
The place is an absolute gem!!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2014
Great to see you both again :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing