We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mr”
other traveller has booked this property
Decking area overlooking Romney Marsh
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Decking area overlooking Romney Marsh
Downstairs living, dining and kitchen Upstairs; bedroom 1, 2 & 3 and en-suite.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Decking area overlooking Romney Marsh
Downstairs living, dining and kitchen
Upstairs; bedroom 1, 2 & 3 and en-suite.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Bilsington, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Matthew S
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed 23 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Swallows Return is a lovely, award winning holiday home located in stunningly beautiful gardens.
Situated off of a very quiet country lane, you are transported into an oasis of calm and tranquility far away from to bustle of normal life, with only birdsong and the occasional duck quacking to break the silence.
The house is spacious and well equipped and the beds comfortable. It has accommodation for up to six people. There is wi fi (which is quick) and adequate mobile phone coverage. Appliances are of a good specification and from quality brands. The large television features Sky and blue ray playback.
You could stay here for a week and simply enjoy the wonderful garden ambience which owners Bill and Penny have created.
Thoroughly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave S
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very nice home”
Reviewed 18 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We had a great week in Swallows Return! It’s a lovely house and extremely well equipped, I don’t thing we’ve ever stayed in a holiday home that is as well equipped as this, the owners have thought of everything. The garden is more like a small park, with so much variety and beautifully done, we’d love to see it in the Spring, it must be stunning. You won’t regret booking to stay here.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2018
Thank you for your review... we would love to see you again in the spring when the garden comes alive.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susanneun...
Herford, Germany
1 review
“Best dogfriendly cottage we have ever been to”
Reviewed 8 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We enjoyed our two weeks holiday in Swallows Return very much. It was a real home from home for us and our dog. The cottage has eyery comfort one would expect, it was exceptionelly clean and cosy. We loved the rainy days so we had an excuse to hang around in the house and just to sit and read a book. But on the other Hand there are so many things to do and places to visit ... The house is also ideal for dogowners. We are looking forward to see the owners Penny and Bill again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2018
Thank you for your kind comments and we are glad you managed to relax and sight see during your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
headkatie...
Uckfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic in every way”
Reviewed 23 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Super property, exquisitely furnished and extremely well equipped. No expense has been spared and the Barn was like a real home not just done up as a holiday let.
Immaculately clean.
Set in wonderful surroundings, beautiful gardens complete with orchard, tennis court, pond and hens. We were lucky that the plums and apples were ready when we stayed so were kindly invited to help ourselves.
Our son also loved collecting eggs from the hens for breakfast.
We received a very warm welcome and awaiting us were 6 fresh eggs, a box of biscuits and some milk in the fridge.
Penny & Bill were perfect hosts, really genuine, friendly and warm and we would love to keep in touch.
We couldn't have wished for any more (other than an extra week!). We would definitely like to return
We have high standards and take great care to find somewhere really lovely to stay each year. We have always managed this but Swallows Return was the best we have ever stayed in.
We found places to visit every day, none more than a 50 minute drive away - Canterbury, Hythe, Romney, Hythe & Dymchurch railway, Dungeness, Howletts & Port Lympne, Rye and Tenterden
Highly recommended. I am happy to give a glowing review but a bit of me really wants to keep this as our own little secret!
Many thanks, Penny and Bill, we really appreciated everything

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Aug 2017
Thank you for your lovely comments, we loved having you staying at Swallows and look forward to seeing you again (hopefully very soon!)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mbaumga
Boston
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed 10 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We stayed in Swallows Return in mid-June, during the hottest week that the UK had seen in many years. However, Swallows Return was a calm, cool haven. The barn is simply wonderful, and Bill and Penny are just as wonderful! The bedrooms and bathrooms are great, and the decor is superb. Internet/wifi, kitchen -- all perfect. Mattresses are particularly comfortable. Bill and Penny were always available to help and answer questions about the house and the area. The garden is magnificent, words cannot describe the beauty and variety of flowers, shrubs and trees which have been cultivated and developed over many years by the couple. We have come off of a very busy year and Swallows Return was just what we needed. We are only sorry that we were not able to stay longer We will most definitely return to Swallows Return. Thank you Bill and Penny for all! Mary Anne and Michael Baumgartner

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jul 2017
Thank you both for the review and we look forward to seeing you both again - perhaps when we have slightly cooler weather!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing