We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Rental - well organised”
other travellers have booked this property
The Barn, with Sunset cottage at left
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Barn, with Sunset cottage at left
Barn - the lounge Barn patio and BBQ in dappled sunlight
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
The Barn, with Sunset cottage at left
Barn - the lounge
Barn patio and BBQ in dappled sunlight
The Barn Kitchen - rustic and modern, a dream kitchen
Barn - breakfast room
Barn - courtyard form the front. Byre cottage to left, Sunset to right
Gallery landing with 19th C antique chandelier
Early summer - a glorious garden
Barn, 'Oak' master bedroom with ensuite,
Stable cottage, taken from Byre cottage
Barn - 'Chestnut' twin bedroom
Sunset cottage.
Barn - 'Birch' twin bedroom
Rustic 2m wood-fired hot tub.
Barn - 'Elm' bedroom
7' Pool table
Byre Cottage - lounge
Barn the Blue or Garden Room
From the south side looking through the garden room to the breakfast area
Stable cottage - lounge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
10 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 25
Bishops Lydeard, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jack G
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“BEWARE!”
Reviewed 22 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

This is a stunning location with amazing surroundings, facilities and picturesque views.

When we found this to celebrate our best friends wedding we were so exited and upon arrival it did not disappoint.

The representative that greeted us was lovely and very welcoming. Our shopping was already laid out for us and we were given a very comprehensive tour of this stunning location.

The chemical free hot tub overlooking a stunning paddock and grounds was exceptional and we enjoyed our 3 days very much.

HOWEVER!

On the second day of our stay we returned from our walk and a game of football golf (highly recommended). We had prepared food for the guests and in order to seat everyone we opted to move the dining room table a few centre metres to the right. The entire table simply fell apart in front of our eyes. We tried to stabilise the table but our efforts were fruitless, even with 7 of us tending to it.

Upon closer inspection the table had significant damage under the large oak frame that could not be seen without removing it. When moving the table no crack or split was heard by any one of us. We immediately contacted our representative at the house and explained in detail what had occurred, when we highlighted what had happened the lady seemed to know that there was problem with the table but actually referred to the other table located next to the one in question. NO issues with any tables had been highlighted to us upon arrival.

We requested an immediate site visit so we could explain what had happened and the owner arrived swiftly.

CRIMINALS!

From the second the owner walked in the door we were treated like criminals. The lady highlighted that as we were a stag party we would be dancing on tables! WE DID NOT! She even had a nickname for it and said lots of parties dance on this table, AGAIN, WE DID NOT! We are respectable adults and have no interest in engaging in these mindless activities. If we were, I’m sure we would not have selected such a remote, rural location and would have opted for Brighton or Ibiza instead.

She was very quick to highlight that this was a solid oak table that she had moved only a week before to clean. (This is interesting as it took 6 grown men to move it 2 inches). It was going to cost a lot to REPLACE? Repair not an option? She appeared to know more about the state of the table than we did?

In our opinion based on facts the table was 100% damaged before arrival. As expected we have since been informed that we have lost our damage deposit of £500 for our stay.

To ad insult to injury we were sent a lovely message from them when we left thanking us for leaving the building so clean!

MY ADVICE!

Stay away! Or at least budget for the loss of your damage deposit. If you do stay then check everything before you let the representative leave. I am truly shocked at the manor in which we were treated by the owner and MORE THAN OFFENDED that our honest approach to dealing with a genuine issue that could potentially have resulted in injury, has been flipped around with the finger firmly pointed in our direction. If you want to take our money, do it by honest means and not turn victims into criminals.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Walking
Liked least: Being treated like criminals
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jun 2016
An interesting review. In more than 3 years this is our first review that was not 5 stars and in 3 years this is the first group that we have had serious noise complaints about from our neighbours including reports of drunken rabble rousing until after 4 in the morning. (The amount of alcohol delivered to this group was reported to be almost twice as much as any of the staff had seen previously.) We have had the solid oak table repaired at a cost of £310 which will be deducted from the deposit. Daniel, the carpenter, was able to move the table all by himself once he had repaired it and put it back together. The estate manager who was called out noted that the floor was thick and sticky with spilled beer so it is probable that the table had glued itself firmly to the floor during the Friday night festivities and also explains why it required 6 (or is it 7?) grown men to try and move and subsequently break it. The table was moved for thorough floor cleaning prior to this group's arrival by the estate manager and her female colleague so it is clear that it was not pre-damaged. We suspect that the memories of what actually happened on Friday night might be somewhat hazy (!). As a result of this group's stay, even though they seemed to be nice enough young men when sober, we are now forced to review our policy of hosting stag or similar parties. This is the very first deposit from which we have had to retain anything. As Jack G says (three times) it is indeed stunning. It would be a great shame if we have to change our policy. All the other reviews speak for themselves. Nuff said.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon G
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic Rental - well organised”
Reviewed 28 April 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We've stayed here twice as part of a large extended family group. The barns are well appointed, with fantastic local walks and lovely wood burners in each cottage.

How helpful were the directions to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 May 2016
Thanks Simon. Delighted you enjoyed it so much. The Quantocks and West Somerset really are one of England's secret jewels!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RWWDevon
Devon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
356 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 31 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

After much organisation, our large family group of 17 adults and 4 children ( age range 1-75) descended on Penbridge Court for Christmas. This property had been chosen for the Big Event after much research nearly two years ago,mainly for the accommodation on offer and its location. We needed somewhere accessible to rail and road travel that offered sufficient bedrooms and bathrooms for all, with no bunks and no temporary beds, ensuring comfort and privacy for all. Penbridge Barn and 3 cottages fulfilled the brief perfectly with the added advantages of lots of space indoors, a pool table and different sitting areas plus play equipment in the garden for the children and a hot tub for adults. We tested the cooking facilities tremendously and had to use all the cottage ovens too for Christmas lunch. Sam, the super housekeeper, tells us that increasing cooking facilities in the main barn is being planned. We would imagine that it would not be an issue in summer months when the BBQs would be used. The Barn and cottages are beautifully and tastefully furnished and really feel like a home from home, not a rental property. Groups enjoyed the Santa Express, walks to local pubs, spending Christmas money in Taunton sales and we all had a fantastic time being together in such comfortable, warm and welcoming accommodation. An absolutely magical Christmas- thank you Sam and team!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andydeb12...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awesome, Awesome, Awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed 18 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Thanks to Sam and the team at Penbridge Court and Barns for a fantastic stay. The photo's on the various websites do not do justice to this majestic property. The owners have covered every detail and then some to make this a truly luxurious break and we can not thank them enough. Every member of our party and Molly (our Bassett Hound) had a fantastic time during our 5 day stay and we will re-live the great memories we have for a very long time to come.
If you like complaining about noisy builders next doors, cracked tiles, poor décor, mouldy grout etc., then do not stay here as you will be disappointed - there is absolutely nothing to complain about.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: So much to like, extremely difficult to single out 1 individual thing.
Liked least: Absolutely nothing.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCHLMH
Fleet, Hants
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“What a great place to stay!”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Each year we rent a large property for our ever growing family reunion. I can honestly say that the Penbridge Court Barn and cottages surpassed all previous venues by a country mile. Reached via a narrow country lane the setting is quite magical, looking out over a valley with a steam railway running though it. The property, is spacious and allowed each part of the family to have their own space and privacy when they wanted it. In our party we had five children aged five and under and despite typically wet West Country weather there was plenty to occupy them in the house. When the sun did shine there were trampolines, playhouses and a whole mass of outdoor games. The adults were equally well catered for with puzzles, games and more importantly full blown Sky packages. Whilst we were there the internet was poor, but Sky were upgrading to fibre optic as we left so this should now also be sorted.
All of the property was amazingly clean and very well appointed. Would we recommend this property to others? Definitely!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ability for everyone to join in or have their own space
Liked least: Didn't book it for long enough!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing