We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful House on the river”
other travellers have booked this property
The deck - front row seats to paradise
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The deck - front row seats to paradise
A bedroom with a view and breeze
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
25 reviews
The deck - front row seats to paradise
A bedroom with a view and breeze
Kitchen/ dinning area
Kitchen and dinning area are open with large counters
The howler Monkeys will entertain you deckside
Typical Sunset with Iguana - this big guy lives here too
Guest from Nanimo, B.C, Canada, shooting incredible photos from the deck
An amazing photo taken by a guest from B.C. right from the deck
Photos taken by guest from deck
bathroom with shower and view
Some evenings 15 pairs of Parrots will land in the trees beside the house
Bathroom is accessible to the bedroom
Brand new kitchen!
A walk through the village on the way to the Black Orchid Resort
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Burrell Boom, Belize District

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
dcollicut...
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful House on the river”
Reviewed 28 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

My friend and I stayed in the Howler House for 3 days in January. It is beautiful. The house has all the amenities including cooking utensils, rain shower, free bikes, wifi, and hammocks overlooking the river. The wildlife in that area is staggering as well, iguanas and birds everywhere you look, howler monkeys serenading you at night, and a friendly crocodile named Shakira in the pond. The canoe on the river is awesome for anyone that wants to get out into the thick of nature.

Andrew picked us up and dropped us off at the airport upon arrival and gave us all the info and where to go in town. Expensive though, as he ended up charging us $140 USD for there and back, which was kind of crazy, you could probably get a taxi there cheaper.

The only bad part about the house was the bug problem. We must have been bit a thousand times. We did have mosquito nets over our bed though which was nice.

All in all a gorgeous and quiet place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Canoeing on the river and the howler monkeys
Liked least: The bugs and the price of car ride
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoFool23
Saskatoon
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unforgettable.”
Reviewed 20 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We spent three nights here, and would happily stay longer. It's the perfect combination of comfy and rustic, private and safe. The wildlife was fascinating - monkeys, huge iguanas and birds in the trees, and the adorable little croc in the pond that swims over to visit if you stand on the boardwalk and call out to it. Our driver, Andrew, was warm and welcoming and fun to spend time with. The people we met in the village were so kind and friendly. We took day trips to Altun Ha and the Belize Zoo and would recommend both. A great way to learn more about Belize beforing heading off to the cayes for some time on the water!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jan 2015
Thanks so much for the great review - always happy, happy when our guest love this little spot as much as we do - hope you will come back again one day! Respectfully and sincerely, one love
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heath J M
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sooooo peaceful and pretty.”
Reviewed 15 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A sweet quiet getaway for couples. The house is well equipped and comfy. The view....wow! Monkeys, iguanas and birds galore just metres away in the trees. It was super relaxing. Andrew was a fantastic driver and host! We highly recommend the house to nature lovers.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sitting on the deck watching the jungle move all around.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Onyi O
1 review
“Howler House is one-of-a-kind!”
Reviewed 20 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

The Howler House was one of the coolest, most unique places we've seen (or stayed). We did a lot of research beforehand and thought it would be a really cool place to stay but even then, it exceeded our grandest expectations. The house is such a fun and relaxing place to spend time. You really are right there, nestled in the jungle; the open air aspect really allows for a unique experience where you truly get to experience nature in a fun way. It is in a gorgeous location, right on the river, but just a short, fun bike ride into town. Speaking of the town, it has to be said that the people of Burrell Boom are so kind and amiable; they really made our stay feel very special! Finally, Erika is awesome! She was extremely helpful and did so much to make our stay a great one! We are already looking forward to going back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house is beautiful and in a great location!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danalstok...
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
“The Howler House Is Amazing!”
Reviewed 10 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Our first visit to Belize was made all that much more amazing by staying at the Howler House! The House is just as described and wonderful. It was a grown up tree house in the jungle and we loved it!!!! We were lucky enough to be serenaded by the Howler monkeys on our very first night. They are quite loud, but we were mesmerized by the sound. The house is quite clean and well appointed. The mosquito nets are awesome, just make sure you tuck it under the edges of the mattress before you fall asleep or those little buggers will sneak in. We used the house as a base for travelling all over, and that worked fabulously! We visited San Ignacio, Dangriga, Orange Walk, Belize City and Caye Caulker and always had plenty of time to make it back to the house each day. Being able to utilize the pool at the Black Orchid was quite nice. The local food and local people are all awesome, and we thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Burrell Boom and the Howler House! We are already planning our next trip back. I feel as though I left family...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The big screens and jungle location, as well as the local community.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing