We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful meal and fantastic staff”

Hoosegow Charcoal Restaurant
Reserve a table
Ranked #1 of 16 Restaurants in St Morris
Price range: USD 7 - USD 76
Description: Hoosegow Charcoal Restaurant and Bar. Modern Australian (a fusion of Latin American, Asian and Eastern flavours) cooked over charcoal. A new place with great atmosphere, relaxed and cool vibe where you can experience Charcoal Deliciousness!
Restaurant details
Description: Hoosegow Charcoal Restaurant and Bar. Modern Australian (a fusion of Latin American, Asian and Eastern flavours) cooked over charcoal. A new place with great atmosphere, relaxed and cool vibe where you can experience Charcoal Deliciousness!
Reviewed 23 September 2019 via mobile

Went to Hoosegow for dinner after a long business meeting.
Fantastic to be greeted and welcomed by smiling staffs. No doubt they understood we needed quickly.

Food was delicious: roasted garlic on bread reminds me of the “Stinking Rose in Los Angeles”. See pictures. The steak I had was juicy and generous in size.

Restaurant was out of the city but worth a trip.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank patrick2042016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Shadia O, Manager at Hoosegow Charcoal Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2019

Thank you for dining at hoosegow and for your 'WONDERFUL' review!! It was our pleaseure to host your dinner! We look forward to seeing you next time you are in Adelaide. The hoose-team :) :) :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 34 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2019

Don't order the seafood platter,overpriced for the quality .the lobster was so chewy it was hard to eat

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank Margaretyong
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Shadia O, Manager at Hoosegow Charcoal Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2019

Thank you Margaret for dining at hoosegow and for your feedback. We are truly disappointed to read your review. Please accept with our sincerest compliments a complimentary seaplate/or meal of your choice. If you could please contact me on 8332 6599 I would welcome a chat. We look forward to seeing you again. Shadia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2019

Everything from the service, ambience and food was exemplary. We visited for my wife's birthday and they treated us so well.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank randz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Shadia O, Manager at Hoosegow Charcoal Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2019

Thank you SO MUCH for dining at hoosegow and for your 'HOOSE-TASTIC' review!! We look forward to seeing you again. The hoose-team :) :) :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2019 via mobile

I have never been one to over rate anything but this restaurant needs to be given that honour. Service is second to none and the food was amazing. A bit on the expensive side but well worth the experience. Do not deny yourself the pleasures of what this place has to offer.

Date of visit: August 2019
2  Thank molz61
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Shadia O, Manager at Hoosegow Charcoal Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2019

WOW!!! Thank you SO MUCH for dining at hoosegow and for your AWESOME review!! It was our absolute hoose-pleasure! We look forward to seeing you again. The hoose-team :) :) :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2019

What's not to love about this wonderful restaurant! From the moment you walk through the door, into the warm 'quirkiness' of the South American/Spanish inspired decor, the friendly staff go 'above and beyond' to make you feel special and taken care of. The menu is quite extensive- it was hard to choose from the many 'yummy-sounding' dishes on offer - but we settled on their Crispy Pork strips as our entrees and Signature Chilli Chicken and a Steak for mains. Absolutely perfecto! But be warned- the serves are extremely generous! (We opted for a 'doggy bag' for the leftovers- far too good to waste!) Apparently, the name Hoose Gow means 'prison': if that is the case, I would be happy to 'never be released.' We will certainly be back- and will sing it's praises to all and sundry! So good! The owners/managers sure know how to do it right!

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Shadia O, Manager at Hoosegow Charcoal Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2019

WOW!!! Thank you SO MUCH for dining at hoosegow and for your 'EXTRAORDINARILY GOOD' and AMAZING review!! So wonderful to know you enjoyed your hoose-diningh-experience. We look forward to seeing you again. The hoose-team :) :) :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hoosegow Charcoal Restaurant also viewed

Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Hoosegow Charcoal Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.