We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb Cottage in a great location.”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Falstone, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
PaulBellw...
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Superb Cottage in a great location.”
Reviewed 25 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Gorgeous, totally private, cottage in a secluded but not too remote location. Everything that you need is provided. A lot of love and care has clearly been put into it by Colin and Helen, the owners.
Great array of wild life there, virtually every type of garden bird you could name visit the feeders at the back, including a pair of great spotted woodpeckers and a stoat who pops up now and then at the back. A barn owl in the late evening plus several bats.
A pay phone is provided, which is a valuable bonus when there's no cell coverage (as invariably there isn't wherever we go!).
We were lucky with the weather so only used the living room burner on our last two nights. It is by far the best and easiest to light and use burner that we've ever had, and we've had loads. I'd love to come back when it's cold so that we can put both on!
The best "welcome pack" we've ever had. You don't need to do any shopping before you arrive.
Finally, re dog. A lot of cottages state "enclosed garden" and when you arrive it's not exactly enclosed for a dog. This one really is secure. We could relax and let our dog wander around the garden, which makes a huge difference.
100% recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara F
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Really relaxing”
Reviewed 1 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from a short stay at this beautiful cottage with my girlfriends. Ideally situated for those of us who love peace and quiet. Thanks for the welcome pack including wine, bread, scones and jam - all delicious and much appreciated.

The property is very well furnished and the beds are so comfortable a good night's sleep was had by all. Highlights are the wonderful wood burning stove in the living room, the variety of birds that visit the feeding stations in the back garden (be prepared to top the feeders up I've never known such greedy birds!) and the amazing display of stars in the dark skies The cottage provides a telescope!

Although the weather was very windy and we had snow we managed a walk across the kielder reservoir dam before returning to hot baths and a good afternoon playing cards and listening to music in the cosy living g room

A fantastic cottage in wonderful location I hope to return soon

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Woodburner, beds and dark skies
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Feb 2016
Wow! Thank you for this thoroughly lovely feedback, we are over the moon that you enjoyed your holiday. It is great to hear that you didn't let the weather stop you from doing a bit of exploration, and I'm sure it certainly helped to have such a warm and comfortable property to return to! We certainly hope that you return again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gina P
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed 5 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed at this beautiful cottage with our dog in June, and found it to be clean and comfortable with everything you could possibly need (and more) supplied. On arrival we were delighted to find a lovely goody pack for us and Willow, which was a great treat after a long drive. Very helpful too was the welcome pack booklet, full of clear detail on the where and how of appliances etc in the cottage.
The cottage itself is in a wonderfully rural location and kept/ furnished to a high standard; very quiet and relaxing, which is just what we want from a holiday home. All you can hear at night are the sheep. All in all, a proper home from home with very comfortable furniture - perfect for relaxing in the evening and for a great night's sleep. The kitchen is well stocked with crockery, cutlery and all the utensils needed to cope with the sort of cooking we do on holiday. The barbecue was put to use on nice evenings too. As the cottage is within the area of the dark sky reserve, the provision of a telescope is a nice touch. If that is what attracts you to the area I recommend not visiting at midsummer, as it barely seemed to get dark most nights. Our mistake - nothing to do with the property. I can't really find anything negative to say about Old Hall Cottage!
One of the highlights of our holiday was the wildlife that visited the garden, where bird feeders are hung. Top-ups are available to buy and we did this on a few occasions as the pleasure gained from watching the birds made it well worth it. My husband now knows a few more species than he did, and was chuffed to have spotted the very brief visit from a woodpecker. Several times a mouse came to have a nibble on the peanuts. On the last day we even saw a stoat darting about on the garden wall.
If you want the bright lights, this cottage is not for you. If you want a rural retreat in beautiful unspoiled countryside, go for it. We certainly hope to return to view the dark sky at some time in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2015
Wow - what a beautiful review, thank you! We are so pleased that all three of you enjoyed your stay and that Willow enjoyed her treats! The local wildlife is certainly bountiful and we hope that you will book with us again soon and make good use of the telescope!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stellajnr
Northwest England
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cottage”
Reviewed 1 November 2014 for a stay in September 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Excellent stay at this wonderful cottage. From the log burners to the fantastic garden for night photography of the stars. The sofas comfy for falling into after a day of site seeing. Peaceful and quiet internet excellent. Everything that was needed was there. Would stay again.

Two of us stayed, but could comfortably accommadate 5. Although we took no pets there was no sign or smell that would make you think any animals has stayed there. If you do book and stay here...... Take some extra bird feed.... The feeders in the garden are amazing to stand and watch the birds feeding..... But they are very greedy and needed topping up daily, either that or they immediately had us pegged as a soft touch.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Garden for the dark sky's at night
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Feb 2015
It sounds like you had a wonderful stay! Taking photographs of the clear night sky and feeding the birds must have been delightful. Thank you so much for your kind review. We dearly hope to have you book with us again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing