We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (412)
Filter reviews
412 results
Traveller rating
290
79
29
7
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
290
79
29
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews continental breakfast bunk beds family room ensuite room the owner scones aran islands yogurt stay there again the location is perfect the pub porridge the cliff live music anthony dorm moher
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 412 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2017

We recently stayed in the Doolin Hostel with a walking group of 30 people and the hostel was fantastic. Anthony and his extremely friendly staff could not do enough for us. Comfortable beds, clean rooms and fresh white towels all ready for our arrival. Fantastic meals prepared for us in the Inn, filling and very tasty lunches supplied for our walks plus a great continental breakfast. I would highly recommend both the hostel and the Inn as I have stayed in both. Thanks Anthony for all of your help to us when we were arranging the trip and for the actual trip itself. Please pass on our thanks to your staff, they were brilliant. Looking forward to seeing you all soon again.

Stayed: June 2017
Thank Marymeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017

Doolin Hostel (as per the photo above) is now re named as Doolin Inn.It has been a little while since I stayed here and what a splendid surprise I received on entering the newly refurbished Inn.It's more akin to a boutique hotel.Certainly one of the best I've stayed in on my trips around Ireland over the years.Ample car parking space,lovely bedrooms and dining area.Best try it for yourselves and let you be the judge.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017

They were helpful, courteous and did exactly what they said they would. Awesome place to stay. Although it was a bit more expensive that I had envisioned. It was a busy weekend and they helped us out alot. Id recommend them.

Room Tip: We chose a triple room.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Vicmonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoolinHostel, Owner at Doolin Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2017

Thank you for your review and great to hear you enjoy your stay with us, it was a pleasure to read your review this morning and great to hear the team where able to help you out.

Warmest regards
Anthony and Deirdre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017

We stayed at the Inn part of this accommodation.
We left one day early. Inn has a policy of only changing towels every 2 days, so a member of staff who came in to empty bin (I won't say room service), whilst we were out, picked up a wet bath towel from the dirty bathroom floor and put it back on the towel rail. Most unhygienic. This policy is to save water for environmental reasons, yet the room we had didn't even have a dual flush toilet, so huge amount of water wasted there.
Water pressure to room was variable so taking a shower was a poor experience as it kept going from trickle to gushing, hot and cold every few seconds. There is a sign on room door explaining this, as if that makes everything ok.
No basic facilities such as kettle or TV in room. Can buy coffee at cafe located there.
On the plus side there was continental breakfast (limited choice) and WiFi included.
Probably ok for one night and if you like staring at a phone/ipad screen.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jameslilley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoolinHostel, Owner at Doolin Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2017

Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry we didn't meet your expectations. But to put into perspective you where paying hostel prices, cheaper than a local B&B and much cheaper than the hotel. So services and amenities are limited in comparison. We offer good value focusing on budget accommodation.

We have just added Tea Coffee facilities and Ironing facilities to our Inn rooms as of yesterday, I am sorry we didn't have them during your stay but you had access to the full hostel kitchen and living room with TV.

We do not advertise TV's in our rooms and are still undecided about them as lots of people enjoy the fact of being disconnected while on holidays. We have free wifi throughout and offer a healthy continental breakfast (not a hot breakfast), free parking and a cafe that is open from 8am-9pm except Wednesdays.

We have an environmental policy and change the towels every two days for stay on's. I am sorry about the pressure in the shower, it was a recurring issues lately regarding a faulty pressure vessel. Which we hopefully have fixed now with the replacement. If you read the comments on the shower it was pertaining to the eco shower head which has an off switch and variable settings such as a pulse massage setting. Dual flush toilets are in nearly all our rooms, we have some regular types where we reduced the volume of the cistern to cut down on the volume waste.

Thank you for all your feedback it does help us understand more what our customers expect and helps us communicate better what we offer and what improvements we can make.

I hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in Ireland
Warmest regards
Anthony and Deirdre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017

My daughter and I had originally booked this inn for a couple of nights but only ended up staying one night because of a plan change. It was cheaper for the 2 nights than to change the reservation to somewhere else for one night (or even at this location as we had booked fairly early). It was only like $58 for the 2 nights with breakfast. The breakfast was great and it is very convenient to many things. We just walked to the port to get the boat to the Islands and Cliff's of Moher.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fortmillsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoolinHostel, Owner at Doolin Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2017

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay and found us such great value and enjoyed our location in the center of Doolin, walking distance to all pubs, pier and located at the start of the Cliffs of Moher Coastal Walk.

Warmest regards
Anthony and Deidre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews