We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (412)
Filter reviews
412 results
Traveller rating
290
79
29
7
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
290
79
29
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews continental breakfast bunk beds ensuite room family room the owner scones aran islands yogurt stay there again the location is perfect the pub porridge live music anthony dorm moher cliffs
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 412 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2017

This place is very new and it's obvious the people who run it are familiar with hostels but learning with inns. The basics were good, including a good breakfast and comfortable (though sparse) room. But there was only one electrical outlet in our room, which shows a lack of knowledge about the most obvious traveler needs. We were fortunate that they had a power strip we could borrow to get through the two-night stay. Thin walls, no surfaces for suitcases and other telltale signs of hostel owners took just a little away from our stay in this music-rich little town that offers easy access to the Cliffs of Moher.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank Dana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoolinHostel, Owner at Doolin Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2017

Thank you for your review and sorry we did not meet your expectations, but we are not a hotel, hence why our price is way below the price of the local hotel. The room you stayed in actually had 4 electric outlets, but it is a room that we have earmarked for more outlets as the average number of outlets in our rooms is 6-10 in the Inn and our hostel opposite has sockets above each bunk.
My back ground is actually hotels and I am well aware of the standards. But as stated we are not one. We focus on providing a good quality of accommodation with a cafe downstairs and thank you for nothing that the basics where good and comfortable as this is what we aim for.
Over the last number of months we have undergone major renovations focusing on the basics and in the coming months and years we will promise to continue adding little touches and improvements. As we always aim to improve a little every day.

Thank you for your feedback and the opportunity to reply, it is always much appreciated.
Warmest regards
Anthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2017

The Doolin Hostel also offers an Inn which isn't listed on the Tripadvisor page. Great facilities, amazing breakfast, & unbelievably clean!! They had a great family room which we used for our family of 5! I've been to over 25 European countries, and this is one of the best hostels I've been to! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Landon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoolinHostel, Owner at Doolin Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2017

Great to read your review today and delighted you and your family enjoyed your stay so much. Thank you for such a great compliment rating us so highly over all your years of travel and I wish you many more in the years ahead.

Warmest regards
Anthony and Deirdre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2017

This hostel is more like a hotel. Our room was quaint, comfortable and immaculate. The pillows are fluffy and the bed is very comfy. Breakfast in the morning is in a beautiful cafe setting and was delicious. Many options to choose from. Can't say enough great things about this place.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room with a private en suite. Highly recommend.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brett R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoolinHostel, Owner at Doolin Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us and I will pass on your praise to all the team especially housekeeping who do such a great job tirelessly day in day out.

Warmest regards
Anthony and Deirdre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2017 via mobile

Let me preface this by saying that this was the only hostel we stayed in so it's difficult to rate our experience the b&b's we've been staying in. We had a room en suite in the newer building across from the hostel. The room was fairly spacious but otherwise unremarkable. Bathroom was oddly configured with the way the door opened into. The shower had barely enough pressure and at times would turn into a dribble. We like fresh are and the room only had one window that opened and even then it only opened maybe 6 inches. Silly really.

The breakfast was standard hostel like (or so I would imagine). Multiple cereals (but no muesli!), a good number of seeds and fruits to add to it. Good brown bread, butter, cheese, ham and jam to add to it. Juice, coffee, tea.

Rooms are quite, but if you have a street facing room, you get the late night noise of people coming home from the pubs. Wifi was fine but they ask that you don't upload photos, etc and don't stream.

The hostel is a good value (we payed 65€ a night) so really it's a good budget option.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Greg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoolinHostel, Owner at Doolin Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2017

Thank you for your review and for your feedback. The shower issue has been resolved it was an issue with a pump during your stay and I am sorry for this inconvenience. Sadly the 6" opening of the window is a safety regulation required by the Irish Tourism Board to be an approved accommodation provider. As you have not stayed in a hostel before our breakfast standard is very high. Good news on the wifi Doolin is finally getting broadband and over the coming days we should be connected which will make a big improvement from the satellite broadband.

Thank you for noting we are a budget option and for recommending us as such.
Warmest regards
Anthony and Deirdre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017

I stayed in a double room at Doolin Inn and I must say it was fantastic. The furniture was new and the bed was really comfortable. Breakfast was included but consisted of cereals, yoghurt, fruit, tea... If you wish something cooked for breakfast you have to pay for it. The location is perfect if you want to visit the Cliffs of Moher. There is a shuttle available if you want to get there by bus, but I strongly recommend getting there on foot by the Cliffs of Moher Coastal Walk, since the views are amazing. Plus, the price for our three-night stay was reasonable. I would recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neus F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoolinHostel, Owner at Doolin Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2017

Thank you so much for your wonderful review, delighted you enjoyed your stay so much especially in our new double rooms in the Inn building.

Warmest regards
Anthony and Deirdre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews