We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A two-month stay was not enough!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Gorse Cottage

The back of the house from the south side - with the sea of Galway Bay in the distance
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The back of the house from the south side - with the sea of Galway Bay in the distance
The front of the house, looking towards the Cliffs of Moher The living room, with stove and wood floors
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
The back of the house from the south side - with the sea of Galway Bay in the distance
The front of the house, looking towards the Cliffs of Moher
The living room, with stove and wood floors
The kitchen, looking south west towards the Cliffs of Moher
Walking on the boreen, near the house
The garden and picnic table with the Cliffs of Moher in the distance
View from the boreen across the road, 10 minutes walk from the house
The cottage has five bedrooms with great views - here's bedroom 1
Bedroom 4
View from the front door of Galway Bay on a summer evening
Bedroom 5
Ballinalacken Castle - looking north from the front of the cottage
Bedroom 3
Cows at the edge of the Burren, down the boreen (the start of which is 2 minutes walk from the house
Another amazing sunset, seen from Gorse Cottage
In the sea with a couple of dolphins just a few metres away, Fanore beach
View from the front meadow looking out towards the Aran Isles
The house, taken from the garden on a summer evening
View of the coast northwards from the cottage, late evening
The western side of the house from the herb garden
A walk down the boreen, 400m from the cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Doolin, The Burren, County Clare

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Explorati...
1 review
“A two-month stay was not enough!”
Reviewed 5 August 2017 for a stay in May 2017

I had the pleasure of staying at Gorse cottage, taking a much-needed break to relax and write. In the two months that I stayed there, I never discovered a single thing that could be wanting for the comfort of guests. You could look for a better location, or for a more beautiful place to stay, but I assure you you would never find it.

The cottage is beautiful, with a world-class view all around it. You can sit at the kitchen table and see the Cliffs of Moher in the distance. Out the front door, you can see the Aran islands. On an exceptionally clear day, you can see the mountains in distant Connemara.

It is obvious that the owners have spared no expense or trouble to make Gorse Cottage a haven of comfort and beauty. The cottage is spacious, with ample equipment in the kitchen for cooking, laundry facilities, and quiet bedrooms. There is a safe place for children to play in the backyard.

What really makes the cottage special is that there is an on-site guide (the father of the owner), who has lived in the area for many years. As a woman traveling alone in Ireland, his presence make me feel safe and secure. I frequently asked him for advice or assistance, and it was always given graciously.

When it was 98°F at home, I enjoyed 60°F temperatures at Gorse Cottage. Sleeping with the windows open to the cool sea breezes, I would awake every morning refreshed and relaxed.

You simply can't go wrong by staying here. I wish I was still there!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2017
It's wonderful to read about your stay and hear that you had such a good time. You're certainly right about one thing....two months just isn't enough in the west of Ireland! Hope very much that you can make it back again some day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donald J
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Best!”
Reviewed 9 July 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I absolutely loved Doolin and Southern Ireland. Did not want to leave. It felt like home to me. The people were lovely and the views were stunning. You will love the pub scene there. If you end up staying for a night or two at Gorse Cottage, remember, Ted lives right next door on the property and Gorse Cottage has a great commercial gas stove. The cottage was outstanding and well equipt. It has everything that you will need although I wished that he had a sharpening steel for the knives. I will definitely return or recommend it to anyone travelling to Ireland. Great for 10 or two. By the way, there is a seafood distributor right behind the gas station where you can pick up fresh seafood and shellfish.

Ted McCormack and his daughter Cynthia own the property. Ted lives right next door. The views from this property are stunning. One of the best places we stayed at and rented. We will definitely go back. Ted was outstanding. He would blow his horn nightly for a trip down to the pubs where he would perform. The Guinness was so smooth. Nothing like what we get here in Finland. You can find the contact info here.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this kind review. We really dodo appreciate that. We will definately pick up a sharpening steel for the knives as you suggested. Very useful feedback. I'm very glad you enjoyed your holiday and hope you can come back soon. Cindy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tourist69...
1 review
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 5 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Gorse cottage was excellent. 5 bedrooms, very spacious. Couldn't ask for anything more as it was well equipped right down to the dishes and all the cooking utensils. I would highly recommend it to anyone.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jun 2017
Lovely to hear that you had a good stay. It really means a lot to us to know that the groups who come to stay in our house will have an enjoyable and memorable holiday. Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giles Ji...
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great music and brilliant location”
Reviewed 14 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Gorse cottage has everything you could hope for in a self-catering cottage.Also has a big kitchen and lovely garden. The views of the sea are superb. Ted McCormac, the owner's father, looked after us by introducing us to the local music in Doolin, even sang a few of my requests. Great strong voice. Location of cottage very handy for walks on the Burren.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 May 2017
Thanks Giles for your kind words about the house. We're really glad that you had a good holiday. Burren walks are "the business". Hope you got to do the Mullaghmore walk. That's our favourite. Cindy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrainneOJ
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic week in Doolin!!”
Reviewed 25 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We are just home from the best week's holiday in Ireland we have ever had! We have previously visited Dingle, Wexford, Dunmore East, Westport, Donegal, Kinsale, and lots of seaside destinations! Doolin is by far and above the best!! Gorse Cottage is wonderful, homely, warm, clean, safe and so welcoming, we simply did not want to leave. The house is great for families and a great base for visiting Lahinch, Liscannor, Miltown Malbay, the Burren, Fanore, Arab Islands and more. The local restaurants and pubs are great fun, we enjoyed Fitz's twice for family meals and services, great sessions at Gus O'Connors & O'Donaghues with local celebrity Ted McCormac who lives beside Gorse Cottage and is a font of local knowledge and great personality! We ate in the house a number of nights also availing of the great kitchen facilities, views and evening sunsets! The house provided everything we expected and more, it truly was a pleasure to stay in and we will most definitely be back very soon!! Thank you Cindy, Tim & Ted for allowing us stay and create such great family memories xx

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 May 2017
Thanks so much to your lovely party for leaving this wonderful review of Doolin and Gorse Cottage. Very proud to be up there with the best. It woukd br our pleasure to have yoy stay again if you can make it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing