We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Better than home from home”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Gorse Cottage

The back of the house from the south side - with the sea of Galway Bay in the distance
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The back of the house from the south side - with the sea of Galway Bay in the distance
The front of the house, looking towards the Cliffs of Moher The living room, with stove and wood floors
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
The back of the house from the south side - with the sea of Galway Bay in the distance
The front of the house, looking towards the Cliffs of Moher
The living room, with stove and wood floors
The kitchen, looking south west towards the Cliffs of Moher
Walking on the boreen, near the house
The garden and picnic table with the Cliffs of Moher in the distance
View from the boreen across the road, 10 minutes walk from the house
The cottage has five bedrooms with great views - here's bedroom 1
Bedroom 4
View from the front door of Galway Bay on a summer evening
Bedroom 5
Ballinalacken Castle - looking north from the front of the cottage
Bedroom 3
Cows at the edge of the Burren, down the boreen (the start of which is 2 minutes walk from the house
Another amazing sunset, seen from Gorse Cottage
In the sea with a couple of dolphins just a few metres away, Fanore beach
View from the front meadow looking out towards the Aran Isles
The house, taken from the garden on a summer evening
View of the coast northwards from the cottage, late evening
The western side of the house from the herb garden
A walk down the boreen, 400m from the cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Doolin, The Burren, County Clare

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Mick N
Sheffield,UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Better than home from home”
Reviewed 30 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

6* house. Very well appointed & fitted. Lovely artwork, books, etc Brilliant design indoors and out.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: all of it
Liked least: all positive
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Sep 2016
Thanks so much for your kind feedback........It means a lot to us to know that others enjoy the house as much as we do. Tim will be chuffed to hear that you liked his paintings!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
16 Jul 2016
Really happy to hear that you had a nice stay. That's very important to us and makes it all worth while. It's a grand spot alright. Thanks so much for the kind words.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Petra C
1 review
“Gorse Cottage is a gem! Amazing location, really spacious - perfect for a great holiday!”
Reviewed 14 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We were a group of 5 individuals on a walking holiday. The cottage provided ample space for everyone and as we were there in the best weather Ireland had to offer, we spent most evenings watching the sun set over the bay. The views from the house are spectacular and even when we had a few questions, both Ted and Cindy were more than helpful and speedy in resolving an issue with the wifi (which then worked perfectly!!)
All in all I was extremely pleased with the cottage and felt it provided us with exactly what we were looking for - a clean, homely cottage to come back to in the evenings after our walks. The linen was beautiful and fresh, the bathrooms spotless and roomy and with a big kitchen and two separate living rooms, the house has ample space to accommodate 10 people comfortably. Thanks again Cindy ... definitely a place to recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jun 2016
Thank you so much for tour review. We really appreciate the feedback, and also hearing about our guests' stay in this area of the west of Ireland that is so special to us. Thanks very much to you and your party for choosing to stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shocky201...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
Reviewed 22 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

The cottage is truly amazing, I have never seen any rental so well stocked. Everything that any one could possibly want. The views are spectacular from every room in the cottage, the kitchen is amazing making you want to cook. We lit the fires and toasted bread which really took us back to our childhood. Ted is lovely and a great singer as witnessed in O Conner's pub were he performs, The food and drink in this pub is just wonderful and not expensive..
All the pubs and cafes are welcoming the staff are lovely and so helpful.
I would recommend this cottage to anyone, great for walking, climbing, kayaking.
Make sure that you have a car available to explore all the surrounding areas as it would be a great shame to miss the surrounding villages that are to far to walk, and there are Dolphins playing in the bay down at Doolin just beautiful

Will be going back.
Violet

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 May 2016
Dear Violet. Thank you so much for your kind feedback. It was a real pleasure to read about your time in Doolin. There's nothing like watching dolphins in the wild to make your heart soar....I'm really glad you got to experience that during your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samhawg1
Cincinnati, OH
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Classic Cottage in an Ideal Location!”
Reviewed 29 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our group of nine (18-72) loved everything about Gorse Cottage. The house had plenty of space for our group. The bathrooms were extremely nice and the bedrooms were comfortable. The large table in the kitchen was the center of activity, perfect for meals, games and just talking. We cooked several meals and lacked for nothing in the kitchen. The house instruction book was helpful. The views were amazing in all directions. I found a postcard that I swear was taken from the front yard. The location was ideal for day trips to Galway, the Cliffs, Kilkee and the Burren. It was also excellent for beautiful walks. Each night we would gather outside to watch the sunset over the Atlantic which were breathtaking. Ted was very helpful with advice on where to go for the best music each night. Cindy's communication was quick and clear, this made the rental logistics very simple. This was the sixth house we've rented on our trips to Ireland and it was a favorite. Highly recommend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The viiews
Liked least: Rainy days
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2015
Lovely feedback. Thanks so much. It's great to hear that you had a good time and enjoyed the house. We think it's a great spot too, but always great to hear it from somebody else.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing