We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ultimate place to unwind”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Γιγάντια δέντρα του δάσους βροχής dot το ακίνητο. παλάμες μπουκαμβίλιες, ιβίσκους, frangipani, καρύδα.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Γιγάντια δέντρα του δάσους βροχής dot το ακίνητο.
παλάμες μπουκαμβίλιες, ιβίσκους, frangipani, καρύδα.
Αναπνευστήρας για το φανταστικό κοραλλιογενή ύφαλο μόλις offshore.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
Mele, Efate

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
lyndalhir...
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Ultimate place to unwind”
Reviewed 9 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We were a group of 6 who stayed on the property for a week at the end of December/early January.
I specifically chose this property because of it's uniqueness coupled with the location of the pool and ocean.
We loved the relaxed 'island style' accommodation and the remoteness. This holiday was all about a week of total relaxation and that is what we got. We had no desire to leave the property other than a couple of trips to town to get groceries although half our group did do a round island drive one day and had a great time.

Is the bumpy dirt road to the property a pain in the butt...yes it is but it's worth it. The trip into Port Vila varied from 30 - 40 mins depending on the load in the car.
For mine...a rental car is a must and well worth the cost.

The kitchen was probably better equipped than most rental properties I have stayed at around the world. We cooked all but 2 meals at Sanddollar. There is a BBQ, 2 hob gas burner, electric frypan and wok along with the usual toaster and kettle. Plenty of bowls, utensils etc
Just don't expect the usual oven and stove...that's not what this property is about.

Meat is cheap in Vanuatu although I was disappointed in the quality after reading many rave reviews and I sought out the favoured suppliers. Wonderfully fresh and flavourful fruit and veg at the markets in Port Vila though.
There is an esky on the property and this was great to take into town with us when buying groceries and we also bought back ice for drinks as the freezer couldn't quite keep up with our demands.

Having a washer was a bonus even though we only used it for 1 load on the last day.

The one thing I could not seem to get information on before we traveled was internet availability at the property.
This was not a priority but it's nice to know you can check in with the world every now and again.
There are a couple of locations on the property where you can access a signal and pay for some mbs. There is the 'Sanddollar internet office' and we always found that sitting in front of the Seafront Fare allowed access to the signal.
For entertainment... the kayaks were great, a few board games in the cupboards although we took along some ourselves along with cards. Please bring your own snorkeling equipment. Onsite 3 snorkels and 1 broken mask. We bought a of couple sets thankfully.
Don't put off snorkelling if the conditions allow. The first couple of days were perfect and then the swell was too big to consider it. Some in our group missed out because of this.

The only issues we had -
The BBQ controls were rusted and could not be turned. We fixed this issue with Mortein ( a great substitute for WD 40)
The kitchen lights didn't work. The onsite family fixed this the next day.
The dining chairs need to be replaced. One collapsed when sat on and another 2 are ready to go.
More cutlery needed. We had 5 forks for 6 people. Again the onsite family remedied this the next day.

Overall, we loved the property and it was in an idyllic setting. An ideal location for a relaxing getaway.

Please note though that this holiday rental, unlike any other I have rented around the world is charged by the person..not by the property as a whole. I had a rude (expensive) shock at the last minute due to a mistake I made in the initial booking.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimbodog6...
Lusaka, Zambia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful, spacious, good value - but not easy to access”
Reviewed 3 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I'll start off with the few negatives. A rental 4x4 is currently essential to get to and from this property as Cyclone Pam wiped out a critical section of road. It'll take you about 40 minutes to get to PV. However, Sand Dollar is such a nice spot that if you're prepared to do a large grocery shop at the start of your stay - on the way in from the airport, for example - the hassle of getting there isn't necessarily a serious drawback.

The two separate bungalows were very nicely appointed in set in what must be almost a couple of acres of grounds - we stuck our four kids in one, and we took the other, so that worked very nicely.

There are two pools, a bigger one facing the ocean, and a small plunge pool at the back. In terms of equipment, there is everything you need (snorkeling gear limited so bring your own), including a well equipped kitchen (though watch out for the rats and cockroaches - just a fact of life I'm afraid, no reflection on the property) and kayaks.

There isn't much of the way of beaches within walking distance, but the rocks are great for young kids to explore in, and as long as you pay attention to the tides, it is a LOVELY spot for snorkelling out front. The views to the point are great, including some spectacular sunsets and you can also watch the cruise ships sailing to and from the main port.

Tanya is the local lady who is in charge of servicing the property - she is lovely and a fount of local knowledge, including transport if you want to try and get into town under someone else's steam.

The ONLY surprise was that none of the properties were lockable. Not much of a problem as the property is very near the end of a one way road to Devil's Point, so not much in the way of passing traffic. But I think locks would still be a good thing to have for those who are more security minded (it didn't bother us) to give a bit of peace in mind if you are out during the day.

All in all, GREAT value, very peaceful, secluded and a great getaway.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koutu
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“What a Winner”
Reviewed 26 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
5
people found this review helpful

It was the perfect location to have a break.
The fact of renting the whole property was an absolute winner. No one living above, beside or below us provided absolute privacy.
The large tree'd and landscaped property has 2 separate sleeping dwellings with their own bathrooms., The other building down by the pool on the waterfront is a kitchen/dining/lounging area.
All the buildings are built in the traditional Vanuatu fashion which was incredibly well done. The whole property was well appointed and comfortable with everything one needed to have a relaxing enjoyable tropical holiday.
We spent our time reading, lounging by the pool on the waterfront watching dolphins, incredible sunsets and even the occasional turtles. We kayaking up and down the coast and snorkeled from the front yard. Hours were spent gazing at the wonderful underwater coral gardens and watching the amazing quantities of different sized and breeds of fish right below the pool which was a treat.
The "Nimo" family that greeted us each time we got in and out of the water was a constant fascination for us.
Whether it is a couple, family or friends travelling together, the Sanddollar is definitely a place to be put on the "bucket list".
We will return.
Our thanks to the owners as they have certainly "got it right"
It's a winner!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma L
takaka
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely chilled out place to stay”
Reviewed 6 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Sanddollar is very peaceful, relaxed, beautiful well maintained grounds and very comfortable accommodation. Kitchen/living area great for cooking and lounging around. Great to be able to snorkel straight out front and enjoyed taking the kayaks out too. Simon, Theresa and family were lovely, easy going and were there if we needed any help or information.
We chose not to hire a vehicle for the majority of our 5 days there. We stocked up on arrival with groceries and then got taxi in and out a couple of times. It's a fair distance to town (40mins roughly), so if you plan to go in and out a bit probably makes more sense to hire a car both cost and convenience wise.
The information on sanddollar website is excellent so take a look before you go. Just one thing, there are 3 Bon Marche supermarkets.....we ended up going to the one next to the market and didn't find deli counter and French cheeses (!)....we later learnt that these more exotic goods were stocked at one of the other ones! But for fantastic fruit and veg...the market is the place to go. Food prices on a par with NZ.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rubyloves...
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful and relaxing”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
5
people found this review helpful

Sanddollar was stunning. The gardens are beautifully maintained and you can pick your own paw paw, lemons, limes, bananas and coconuts when in season.
The kitchen has everything you need and even doing the dishes isnt too bad with the amazing view to look at.
The reef directly at the front of the property is great for snorkelling, lots of fish and coral to look at.
The king size bed was really comfy and there were also 2 day beds to relax on (or use as beds to 2 others) . The 2nd fare was identical, just set slightly back.
I would recommend arriving during the week or on saturday morning because of the shopping. The main fruit and veg market is closed on sunday and you cannot buy alcohol after 12pm sat - monday morning. It would be best to do your shopping on the way from the airport as town is about 30 mins away from the property and the road is mostly unsealed, so the less trips you need to make, the better.
Loved this place. Cant wait to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing