We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,133)
Filter reviews
1,133 results
Traveller rating
1,007
109
12
5
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,007
109
12
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrio negropink dolphinsthe riverpiranha fishingjungle lodgeother guestsair conditionedreception areahour drivebuffet stylelunch and dinnerrainy seasonamazon experiencepool tableper daywonderful experiencedays nights
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 1,133 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

Wow. Just wow. This was amazing experience from start to finish. Pickup from the hotel in Manaus was smooth, although the road to lodge was a bit rough. The trip took about two hours and forty five minutes. Once at the lodge we were given snacks and some local fruit juices and a tour and explanation of our itinerary. The accommodations are top notch. Very clean and comfortable. We are a family of 5 and stayed in two cottage rooms. There are 2 cottage rooms to each cottage, so we had our own building. Each cottage is set apart from each other, so you feel pretty private. They are all connected to the main lodge by pebble paths which are well lit at night. On several occasions we saw many monkeys playing in the trees when we were walking to the lobby. The sounds of the jungle, especially at night, are amazing as well. The main lobby and restaurant are open air, so rarely do you feel hot, and there really are few bugs. The lobby is very comfortable and a great place to hang out. There is WiFi there, but it is not very reliable. Not really unexpected considering where you are. The food was excellent. It is buffet style. There is a meat, fish, and chicken dish at every meal, in addition to many sides and desserts. A lot of the food is prepared as they do locally, but there are also more familiar items.

The activities were all amazing. We have a 14, 12, and 10 year old, and they enjoyed them all. We all keep asking each other which was our favorite, and we still can’t answer. Almost every activity starts with a boat ride, so you spend most of the time on or right next to the river. There are cultural experiences as well as natural ones. We did a 4 night/5 day tour, so did most of the activities. You really do learn a lot on all of them.

The guides are all excellent. I don’t know if it is on purpose, but we had the same ones for most of our activities. They are very knowledgeable and friendly. You really do spend a lot of time with them, so it’s almost a little sad when you have to say goodbye. The entire remaining staff was friendly and very helpful as well.

There is definitely enough down time as well. They have a very nice floating dock with a bar right on the river where we did a lot of swimming and paddle boarding. There is also a very nice swimming pool and even a workout room.

We were there during the rainy season, but we actually only had rain during one of our activities, and it was only a little bit. Maybe we got lucky, but we were expecting much more.
Even if it’s cloudy, though, make sure to wear sunscreen. Bug spray was not even really necessary when we were on the river, though. I would recommend it for any activities in the forest.

Another great thing is that we met people from around the world.

All in all, this was the trip of a lifetime and we are so glad that we chose Anavilhanas.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Julio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

We have spent 2 nights in that lodge and it was amazing. The room we had was the panoramic suites which has been amazing. These rooms are huge and covering all what is needed. Especially the open bath room and Veranda with hammock is very nice. These hotels advantage is really the staff, start with the welcoming, the service during the different lunch/ dinners and of course the tour guides.
The most interesting tours i would recommend are the kayak and piranha ones, awesome !!!
Coming from the airport of Manaus it takes about 3.5 hrs.
The food and further accommodation of the hotel is fine as well.
I really would like to recommend going there while being in the Amazon regions and spent a bit more money for the panoramic as they are so big and nice (we had no. 22).

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
2  Thank Pat812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018

Where to start?! From the moment we stepped into the courtesy van in Manaus to that when we reentered it for the drive back, we were wowed. Krishna was just the best guide ever, sharing a fascinating, absolute wealth of information with us at every opportunity. The resort staff are so genuinely friendly, and everything has been thought about for their guests. We chose the 3 days, 2 nights package and the planned activities left us amazed and thrilled - we saw (enormous trees, poisonous plants, huge spider webs, monkeys, lizards, tarantulas, snakes, sloths, caimans, piranhas, birds, etc.) and did so many cool things that can only be experienced in a place such as this - and with a fantastic guide that made all the difference. The cottage rooms were very cozy and clean and the home-made, local fare good, satisfying and nicely presented. We spent a truly amazing few days at this remote and well-maintained (no easy feat in the humidity of the jungle) spot and I cannot recommend the property highly enough. A bucket list trip.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Brionnais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018 via mobile

This is so far my best trip in Brazil. Although prices might seem high, the service quality, hospitality, organization of the whole stay is absolutely perfect. Highly recommend to everyone that does not have time to properly prepare a trip to the jungle, wanna have fun, discover the rsiforest and at the same time stay in a place that top notch in terms of hospitality and comfort.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
Thank Navigate359479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018

Anavilhanas Jungle Lodge is a gem to be discovered in the Amazon ... It took my group around 50 hours of travel to reach this place from our country on the other side of the globe but what we discovered was worth every exhausting hour we had to endure.
The villas are well maintained, the bed comfortable, the bathroom clean and spacious with amenities equal to those of any starred hotel’s in the city. The meals are tasty with fresh fruits always present in ample supply. Some of the staff speak limited English, but they are always courteous and friendly.
Wifi connection is a bit slow and only accessible in the reception area, but considering the location what can you expect. In fact, this actually facilitates people to meet & mingle in the common room although each is occupied by his or her gadget. They would have done so in their own room otherwise...
Laundry is no problem. The lodge offers laundry service at reasonable price.

The daily excursions may not be of scientific level, however they are informative enough for lay people on leisure. The guides/rangers do their best to give you the “Amazon experience” but don’t expect it to be like what you’ve seen in the Nat Geo or Discovery channel. Like everywhere else wildlife is unpredictable. Sighting of the various animals very much depends on your luck and weather conditions. Don’t complain, don’t get disappointed, just enjoy it. Enjoy the sight, smell and sound of the jungle. Enjoy the fresh, clean, pure air. At night, when the sky is clear, enjoy the stars, in the total lack of light pollution they are simply spectacular.
Enjoy the hospitality of the people. We had an amazing experience under the guidance of Krishna, Rob and Haulisch. Get interested and pay attention to what they explain. We did and we learned something new everyday. The rangers know their jungle very well and clearly have deep respect of their environment.
Distance and the high expense of this trip may prevent our return to Analvihanas anytime in the future. What we had was an experience of a lifetime....

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chandra Dewi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews