We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect home to complement the most beautiful...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Fiumelatte, Lake Como, Lombardy

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
June8AbuD...
Abu Dhabi
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spectacular view - average apartment”
Reviewed 13 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Positive aspects of apartment:
- The view to the apartment is spectacular!
-The balcony and hot tub on the balcony is wonderful addition to the property.
- Nice big sliding doors that gives panorama view
-Has A/C
- All the appliances you need are in the flat!
- Great large screen TVs
- Has nespresso machine
- Have a grill outdoors
- Lots of beds could fit at least six people

Not so positive aspects of the apartment:
- Apartment was not very clean in the bathrooms and alot of it was dusty. The jacuzzi in the bedroom had a lot of hair and scum when turned on.
- NO PRIVACY - The bedroom is connected to another apartment through a door that appears to be a closet. Can hear the neighbor walking in his house so that probably means they can hear everything in the bedroom.
- Construction workers behind house can see right into the apartment through staircase window which has no curtain to close.
- Only two towels provided.
- Layout / Design of apartment is strange and not very soothing or romantic apartment if on a couples vacation. Looks more like a Bachelor's apartment with leather couches and gadgets.
-Lighting at night is horrible. LED spotlights installed and only a few lights so apartment is very dark feeling and poor lighting. Makes it uncomfortable to sit in the living room.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: No privacy
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Aug 2015
I always am concerned when a guest has had less than a positive experience in one of the most spectacular apartments on Lake Como.

I try to learn from their experiences and improve upon what I think is the perfect rental apartment based upon my 5,000 plus hotel stays I have had as a Tour Manager both in Europe and in North America.

I take great exception when a reviewer gives the wrong impression to future guests, as is indeed the case in this review. Della Fontana Penthouse and Loft dates back to 1605, and has been completely redone 10 years ago by a local builder and overseen by a famous Civil Engineer who happens to live next door. His home, 200 meters away, is featured in the John Legend Video “ALL OF ME”. There is nothing that this Engineer/Architect does that is “AVERAGE”…The pictures of my apartment PROVE that there is NOTHING average in my penthouse….The guests impressions that they stayed in an average apartment are clearly not true.

The positives you listed about the apartment, along with the photos on at least 12 websites and on the recently filmed Italian House Hunting Show, “Non si Scorda Mai”, prove that it is anything BUT average. My Apartment was selected by the Mayor of Varenna to represent the Village as a classic apartment on the outside, but with every conceivable MOD COM on the inside. It is, by far, the nicest apartment in the best village on Lake Como. Varenna is seen 25+ times a day on CNN for their travel segments, and along with Bellagio, is used by the Italian Government when promoting the country…To think that an apartment of this stature, worth over a million euros, is available for rent, and then is referred to as “AVERAGE”, Is mean spirited, and untrue.

However, the negatives you listed need to be addressed, one by one:

1. The apartment was clean on arrival, you would have been the first to call had it not been…three sets of cleaners clean the apartment after each guest leaves, and specific to your stay I happened to be in the apartment below you, and it was immaculate on your arrival, including the bathrooms…however your comment about the bedroom Jacuzzi, made for two, and just perfect for couples on a honeymoon which we get often, can produce a discharge when guests do not run water after the bathtub drains. I have updated the booklet to reference this, and have instructed the maids to use the sanitation feature of the spa during each cleaning of the apartment…this issue will never happen again.

2. There is the option to rent the entire two floors, you chose to rent an apartment. In every hotel in the world, with rare exceptions, you have guests on either side of your room…in this case you have another apartment on just ONE side, and that apartment is separated by TWO walls and a double door with acoustical panels…further…your apartment was exclusive to the top floor, accessible only by a private keyed elevator and a double gated rear garden…your Jacuzzi on the terrace has its cover lifted in a way where it is completely private and blocked from viewers above…the window that is open to illuminate the stairs in fact is blocked by the stairs, you see out, no one can see in…and by the way, there are no guests or tenants in the two apartments behind. The construction workers are a rare presence and are installing a pool in the complex…this apartment is ULTRA PRIVATE and from a security standpoint, can host guests with security details in supreme security.

3. Towels…it is NOT a hotel…this issue is being reviewed, but in rental properties it is assumed that guests will arrive with groceries, toiletries, and beach towels if near the sea, or in this case, a Lake Resort…but extra towels seems something that a rental agency would provide on request.

4. Layout is as it is…you can see that the furniture, perhaps you think is bachelor pad, but not many bachelors buy ROCHE BOBOIS 13,000 EURO SOFAS AND 700 EURO CROCODILE DINING CHAIRS…In FACT the level of furnishings is beyond what one would find in any hotel…I live in hotels, and have used that experience to provide five different types of pillows, all Memo Foam Mattresses in all four of the beds. Every conceivable toiletry, from shampoo, conditioner, sunscreen, talcum powder, moisturizer, make up pads, ear buds, FIRST AID kits, Kleenex, etc.,etc.…in fact from the kitchen to the bathrooms, NO RENTAL PROPERTY provides the amenities I give. Read the other guests comments…your low marks are again MEAN SPIRITED and FALSE INFORMATION.

5. There are 29 lights in the living room…you can make it extremely romantic if you use your imagination…I provide LED candles and the real thing, throughout the apartment…but, you had a point with the stark white LED overheads…so I changed them to warm lights throughout the upstairs, making for a less bright lighting effect…I appreciate, and further guests will appreciate the difference. It was too harsh the lighting upstairs.

In summation, I think your observations included some improvements to future guests stays…however your mean spirited and false statements do no one any good, and your ratings of the apartment differ from the 100’s of guests we have hosted in DELLA FONTANA PENTHOUSE and LOFT over the last eight years. With its two Jacuzzis and super comfortable beds perched above the most romantic lake in the world, Della Fontana Penthouse and LOFT is the perfect Romantic spot, and yes perhaps James Bond would feel comfortable there on his honeymoon.

THE OWNER,
BRADFORD MC EWEN
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCalNYCE...
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A perfect home to complement the most beautiful place in the world”
Reviewed 29 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
3
people found this review helpful

This was my first time to Italy (I'm originally from San Diego, currently reside in NYC) and Lake Como was the top of my list for travels. I researched extensively and ran across Della Fontana after many other finds. We don't like to stay at typical hotels as we like the non touristy experience and I must say, Della Fontana surpassed all expectations. It is a 10 minute walk to the town of Varenna, but the location proved ideal in terms of space. The pictures do not do it justice. Our first night we walked to Varenna and got bread, pasta, the best balsamic vinegar and Olive Oil I ever had, wine, and prosciutto and prepared a delicious meal in the gourmet kitchen. We threw some wood on the fireplace and looked out on the panoramic window views of the lake. Waking up every morning was like out of a dream - the views always provided something new and nuanced. And the evenings in the hot tub with the moon shining on the lake was picturesque. We spent every night out on the deck, even when it was cold and misty.

I cannot stress enough the perfection of this place. We already started planning our next trip. I fear of writing this review to keep the hordes of people from flocking, but this place must be shared.

A few items of note:
- The place has not one but two Wifi routers. I was worried about internet connection as the listing states wifi but Happy Holiday Homes states it does not. Be assured this place is well wired and modern.
- Our trip was right at the beginning of off-season (Oct 30 - Nov 5), therefore grocery stores are sparsely open (early in the morning, maybe in the late afternoon/evening if lucky). We tried three different times to get a boat to no avail as they were not staffed for this time of year. Just plan accordingly if going this time of year
- We did not have a car but realized we should the next time round, especially since Della Fontana has free garage parking. We took the train into town from Milan and the house is mere steps from the station at the bottom of the hill - so no car is doable - but makes the experience much more enjoyable. We did take day trips via the Varenna ferry to Bellagio and Menaggio.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie H
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Stunning!!”
Reviewed 21 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
3
people found this review helpful

A fantastic apartment with everything you need on the most beautiful side of Lake Como and the most unbelievable view. A lovely walk to Varenna which I think is the most beautiful part of the Lake, but then all the ferry options for great days out. The house is really well equipped and you will want for nothing, lots of great gadgets, a wonderful terrace and then the hottub! We old definitely recommend anyone staying here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: The rain!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandview...
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
366 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Wow! Wow! Wow!”
Reviewed 9 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013
3
people found this review helpful

And again........Wow! Wow! Wow!
If you are looking for a place to stay to call home - and I'm not talking about just any ORDINARY home; a place that isn't overrun with tourists nor is it touristy; a place that offers the most amazing views of the lake from an amazing balcony and from the living areas; a place that has all the bells and whistles imaginable and MORE; a place where a car is not necessary but if it is, there is a secure underground lock up car space; a place if you didn't want to venture out, you don't have to because everything you need is right there. Then Della Fontana Penthouse is the place for you. Oh.....and if you are into gadgets/electronics you'll love it even more.

We had just disembarked from a 20 day cruise and wanted a place to 'flop and drop' afterwards. Della Fontana Penthouse in Fiumelatte was perfect.

The previous reviewers have outlined all the other features but I would also like to add that Fiumelatte is quiet and you don't have any church bells tolling every hour. This side of the lake (facing the west) doesn't have a bus service, but it does have a rail service with major routes from Varenna station so traffic noise is minimal. The walk into Varenna is pleasant and takes a comfortable 20 minutes as stated by other reviewers. The ferry service on the mid-lake is frequent and all modes are very pleasant.
Della Fontana Penthouse is a privately owned apartment and thank you Brad for sharing your little piece of paradise with us. We just loved our stay on Lake Como!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The View, the location, the securityl
Liked least: The linen on the bed and we felt the lighting was a little inadequate..
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DennisJ64...
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“A little piece of Heaven!!!”
Reviewed 27 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
3
people found this review helpful

Notwithstanding that wee are experienced and seasoned travellers, when we arrived and the private elevator door opened to the penthouse patio all four of us had a collective "WOW!!!". The view is amazing (day or night)! We were very excited about our upcoming week at Della Fontana and everything worked out very well.

The condo is very well equipped if you wish to cook yourselves. We ate in 2 nights and the chefs enjoyed the kitchen and found it well equipped. The gas BBQ worked well. Eating at night on the rooftop deck seeing the moon come up over the mountain behind us, hearing the waterfall near by, it was all spectacular.

The apartment was very clean, the beds/pillows were comfortable and the bedrooms were nice and quiet. Something we all enjoyed was the great lengths the owner went to in providing (detailed) information on the condo as well as many suggestions on things to do, places to eat and locals wines. It certainly helped to make the week even more successful. Also impressive was the fact the owner left several contact points, including his personal phone number and emails to ensure help was available if needed. As it turned out, we did not need any help with the condo, but comforting to know it was available.

All in all, a little piece of heaven. We would definitely stay there again, if and when we return to beautiful Lake Como.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View, location and amenities of the unit.
Liked least: Not as much privacy in the loft area.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
USD 256
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing