We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely location and cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Walcott, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MelMyhill
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Lovely location and cottage ”
Reviewed 29 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
3
people found this review helpful

We have just return from a week at the cottage by the sea. 3 x 40+ 2 x 18 yrs olds, 1 × 15 yr old and 2 puppies.

We chose the cottage based on location, availability and price. All looked good on the website.

On arrival the cottage was more of a bungalow, accessed by a very pot holed private road. The accommodation was clean and welcoming. There was a lovely welcome pack of milk, tea, coffee, jam, bread and biscuits (may sound picky but butter would have been a god send - after 4 and a half hours of driving to get there we were hungry. We'd shopped on line and it was another 1 hr before the tesco food shop was due to be delivered, but I couldn't have toast as we had no butter and I can't eat jam).
The accommodation had lots of extra like kitchen utensils, hair dryer, iron with fantastic long cord,however we searched high and low and couldn't find the ironing board.
We took our slow cooker with us which proved invaluable for day when we went out. It was lovely to have a meal Reay to come back to.

A few downsides though. The accommodation is not suitable for 6 grown ups/family with teenagers. The bunk bed room is small. Even though the bunk beds mag be full size, a bunk bed for an adult is not ideal. We ended up using the settee as a bed instead. There was a lack of blankets. The electric heaters were effective, however made the small bedrooms unbearably hot if left on over night. But then the rooms got cold an hour or so later. We could have really done with some additional bedding for all of the beds.

The shower was lovely and powerful, however hot water was sporadic after one person had showered. The water pressure to the tap in the bathroom was very poor. Making washing difficult.

The lounge seating area has settee and arm chair. Perhaps a bean bag or floor cushions would be an idea as when 6 people want to watch TV at once there is not enough seating.

The garden was lovely and backed onto a dune with neighbours either side. On first glance it looks dog proof. However anyone with a small dog will find they can get under the netting into next doors garden. I'm just glad the neighbours were ok about it.

The accommodation is in an excellent location for the beach. We loved heading out with the dogs.

We were also left a card treating us to 6 hot drinks and cake at the local cafe. They were yummy.

All in all a lovely holiday. I'd stay again but perhaps as a family of 4 or less. Definitely not big enough for 6 adults and 2 dogs.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2016
Hi Melanie

Thank you for your review. I'm sorry you were disappointed by a few things, but I'm glad you still managed to enjoy your holiday. The listing clearly includes photographs of the bunk beds and the outside of the Cottage, and had I been aware of your party's make up earlier in the booking process I would have drawn your attention to this.

We leave a contact number for our local caretaker and had you contacted her regarding your requirement for extra blankets and the hot water issues she would have addressed these issues immediately. The welcome pack is a complimentary added treat for guests, but I'm sorry this did not meet your specific needs. The ironing board is in the airing cupboard!

I was unaware of the gaps in the secondary fencing that could cause an issue with small dogs, and I will be fixing this straightaway.

Thank you for drawing my attention to these things, visitor feedback is an important process in improving our facilities and service.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best wishes

Laura
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RGrayson1...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Location”
Reviewed 2 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Took my parents to stay at the cottage by the sea from 23rd-27th September, weather was very good (which helps when your by the sea) and location ideal. Dogs loved running on the beach each day, and the parents (both in their 70's) enjoyed the sea air and scenery! Would definitely stay here again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david F
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“We had an amazing time!!”
Reviewed 23 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had such a great time at this lovely cottage.

Beautifully decorated and very clean a proper home from home. It has every utensil and amenity you could want all done to a very high standard

The power shower in the bathroom was fabulous and the beds were lovely and comfortable..

It is situated literally a stones throw from the beach which is beautiful and empty!!! The dog loved it bombing around and jumping in the sea.

We bumped into the owner at a local cafe and later on when walking along the beach and he
was so welcoming and friendly and showed us his other property called sand castles that also looked great!!

Would we come again??? You bet!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSpring...
Dual Nationalities living in UK
2 reviews
“Perfect location by the Sea”
Reviewed 17 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Lovely cottage by the sea. The cottage was well equipped with a lovely size garden for families with children and dogs. Perfectly situated for exploring the Norfolk coast. The cottage was like home from home and every need was catered for even the dogs! The beach goes for miles and miles and is so clean and is perfect place for families to take their kids for the day. Would highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location to the beach
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kierangan...
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“smashing”
Reviewed 14 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Just came back from a long weekend at the cottage by the sea.what a lovely cottage we really enjoyed our time there wish it could have been longer.the welcome pack was really appreciated,I'm sure we will be back sooner rather than later.thank you so much

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing