We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“home from home...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Walcott, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
rachaelan...
Barton-upon-Humber, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“home from home...”
Reviewed 9 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

The cottage was very warm and welcoming, with everything you could possibly need. Literally a stones throw to the beach made it a great location for my 2 labradors. Would highly recommend staying here. Awesome power shower too

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony S
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A perfect location”
Reviewed 11 September 2015 for a stay in July 2015

A superb location next to a great quiet beach. Everyone loved it, even went swimming in the sea. A relaxing time, everyone was sad to leave. We will be going back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marijka54
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect for the beach.”
Reviewed 14 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We arrived at the cottage and were pleasantly surprised at how close we were to the beach, our grandchildren 5 and 6 were delighted. The cottage was brilliant everything there you needed and a lovely welcome package which was a lovely touch. The weather that week wasn't good but we managed to sit on the beach every day having breakfast or lunch.when not on the beach we found plenty to do visit Cromer, Sherringham, Overstrand a visit to Bewilderwood which is great for young children. We all had a great time and will visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Closeness to the beach
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart L
Wickford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lovely cottage ,perfect for families with pets”
Reviewed 7 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

All where very happy with our beautiful little cottage ( that by the way is not so little ) ,Laura the owner provides a lovely welcome pack of milk ,bread ,tea, coffee biscuits ,various jams a bottle of wine ,fresh flowers and also a voucher to be used at the local café sugar and spice all of which was a lovely touch and way more than norm .
We have stayed in the Walcott and Bacton area many times and the Cottage by the sea is by far the best property that we have stayed in and also at a great price .
We travelled as a group of 4 adults ,2 children and 4 dogs and there was no complaints from any of us . A 2 minute walk and you will be on the beach ,dog owners take note of the areas where dogs are allowed on the beach ,there are signs . the fenced back garden is a big plus for us dog owners as you know that your dogs are safe and secure ,also dogs are made very welcome in the local café s and pub, all of which do lovely meals .
Would we come again YES ,would we recommend cottage by the sea YES.
We very much look forward to booking again soon, either this cottage or one of Laura's other property's

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: accomadation for 6 but lounge seating only for 4
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuartlet...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic for families with dogs”
Reviewed 6 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have stoped many times in bacton and Walcott and this property is by far the best that we have stayed in the owner Laura provided a welcome pack of tea, coffee,bread,milk ,jams,some biscuits ,flowers and some other bits and pieces which was a lovely touch.The property was well placed for access to the beach, being just a 2 minute walk ,and just a short walk to the local shops and pub of which the poachers pocket warrants a special mention for its great food and its acceptance of dogs .
Our party of 4 adults ,2 children and 4 dogs all fitted into the cottage just great ,the fenced garden being a great asset for those of us with dogs .Would we stay again Yes in a heart beat ,would we recommend Cottage by the sea ,Yes Yes Yes ,
Well done Laura and family for a lovely cottage we very much look forward to returning to this cottage or to one of your other properties

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing