We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Everything you need for a relaxing escape from...”

Review of Le Cerisier

Heated, fenced swimming pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Heated, fenced swimming pool
Main house, gite and gardens Le Cerisier kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
Heated, fenced swimming pool
Main house, gite and gardens
Le Cerisier kitchen
Le Cerisier kitchen
Dresser
Le Cerisier sitting room
Le Cerisier sitting room
Le Cerisier sitting room
Le Cerisier sitting room
Le Cerisier king room
Le Cerisier master bedroom
Le Cerisier double room
Le Cerisier twin room
Le Cerisier bathroom with full sized bath
Private garden Le Cerisier
Enjoying the heated pool
Large walled garden
Having fun by the swings
Twiglet our cat
Main gardens
Heated pool
Main gardens
Main house
La Rochelle
St Palais
Ile de Ré
St Jean d'Angèly colourful market town 10 mins away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Villeneuve la Comtesse, Charente-Maritime, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Naomi J
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Everything you need for a relaxing escape from reality”
Reviewed 14 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We have recently returned from a fabulous two week stay in Le Cerisier. We absolutely loved it. The Gite itself is beautifully done out; large, comfortable and well-equipped and never before have we arrived at a holiday house and felt so immediately and completely at home. One of its many benefits is that it's got proper thick stone walls so even in temperatures of nearly 40 degrees it remained cool. We also loved the fact that the doors from the kitchen lead straight into the large shared walled garden. Our two young children spent hours happily playing out there and we were able to see (or hear!) them the whole time. The pool is fantastic too and we used it at least once every single day of our stay. We really enjoyed the sociable element of the set-up with there being two Gites on the site. Our eldest child had made a friend before we'd even got out of the car on arrival.

It's a lovely rural location and Le Ceriser's garden looks over open countryside which is peaceful and pretty. The area is mostly farmland and not a massive tourist hotspot which means that even in August the roads are relatively clear. We really enjoyed the sense of being away from it all yet close to a main road and able to access a supermarket within 15 minutes in most directions. There's lots to do in the local area, and we loved our day on Ile de re as well as La Rochelle, Zoodysee and Saint Savinien. But some of our best days were spent just pottering around the Gite, pool and garden and perhaps popping to one of the local towns for a coffee and trip to the boulangerie.

What really made the stay for us was the fantastic welcome that Sue and Simon give. They're genuinely happy to help with anything and bent over backwards to make our stay as good as possible, even babysitting for us on one of the evenings. We also enjoyed a couple of lovely evenings getting to know them and drinking wine under (the really quite incredible) stars while our children slept. They somehow manage the perfect balance of being reassuringly present while never being intrusive. We enjoyed our stay so much that we have already booked for next year and are counting the days. Thank you Sue and Simon for making our holiday so special, we can't wait to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2016
Thank you for the lovely comments. It was an absolute pleasure to have you here and we are all really looking forward to seeing you again and some more stargazing evenings with a glass or 2!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona287
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful gite with lovely decor”
Reviewed 19 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in Le Cerisier for a week in August. It is a beautiful gite, light, spacious, clean and lovely decor - exactly as it looks on the website. It was nice to have a private garden area of our own with sun loungers, bbq and table and chairs as well as the large gardens at the front of the property which have some outdoor toys for children. The pool is great, it is heated and maintained at a pleasant temperature and safely gated. The area is very peaceful but there is a small pizza restaurant and play park a short walk away and a bakery a few minutes drive/ cycle away. The owners, Sue and Simon made us feel very welcome. We would definitely love to go back!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2015
We'd love to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Awaywitht...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Charming, Well Kitted Out and Very Child Friendly.......”
Reviewed 27 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed here with our toddler (almost 2yo) for 2 weeks and explored the local area by car. The gite proved a great base and there was plenty to do and see, although we spent considerable time by the heated outdoor pool (a closed off little haven in the large walled garden), shopping at the local markets, BBQ'g and and relaxing. The owners (Sue & Simon) were immensely helpful throughout our stay, giving us recommendations on what to do and see, and twice babysitting for us (thanks Sue!) so we could escape for a quiet evening. Wonderful people, they were there when we needed them but never intrusive and just have a lovely set up here. With just the 2 gites this location feels wonderfully private yet great to have English owners nearby who also speak French and are very helpful. This is a special place where you really do feel far enough away from the stresses of life to relax and kick back a gear, but just a short drive to see and do things should you wish.
The gite was very well kitted out, particularly for little ones, so much so that the only child 'things' l I brought were nappies and swimsuits knowing in advance that everything else would be on site. these included stairgate, cot (same size as in UK), nappy bin, fan, high chair, dishes & toddler cutlery, baby bath towel, etc, etc. Our toddler also had an array of slides, swings, a sand pit, and lots of toys & books to keep him occupied, as well as lots of room to roam around and explore without being constantly watched. He enjoyed that freedom so much. He also loved the swimming pool and discovering the plant life, picking apples in the garden and supervising Sue and Simon's gardening activities:-). The gates to the property remained closed and the pool is very secure so well thought out - the owners really have made this a child friendly place and provided as much 'child stuff' as a parent could need. I would say this was the most relaxing holiday for us because those small things make a parent's holiday easier and the luggage lighter. The gite was very comfortable, with wi-fi, great kitchen and beautifully furnished in a rustic antique French style (very much per the photos). With UK TV, a plethora of DVDs, and a great private outdoor eating set up (garden furniture, parasols, etc), we had 2 weeks of quiet sleeps and wonderful al fresco wining and dining watching the swallows swoop overhead and appreciating the lovely sunny evenings outside. Blissful!
I am glad we decided to stay in this region of France for a change because it really does have so many nice places for day trips, e.g. ile de Re, La Rochelle, Saintes, Cognac, Anguoleme, plus the nearer small town of St. Jean d'Angely and the super Chizet park/animal farm all within an easy commute. More familiar with the South of France, I was pleasantly surprised as the lack of traffic in rural areas (how relaxing) and the number of things to see in this area of France. We had superb weather for 2 weeks, always a bonus.
We look forward to returning again soon and would highly recommend this gite and the lovely owners to anyone thinking of a booking a gite holiday in the Charentes-Maritime region. We were not disappointed!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting, the amenities/facilities and the owners
Liked least: Nothing, this is exactly the type of holiday we wanted, pretty rural with choice of things to do.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jul 2015
It was an absolute pleasure to meet you all and hope to see you again sometime
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christoph...
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect place to relax”
Reviewed 4 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed here for 10 days in June 2015 with our 6 month old daughter. Everything in the Gite was ideal for a relaxing break with our baby.

It gave us all the perfect chance to relax, and by the end of the holiday all 3 of us were sleeping more and crying less!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jul 2015
Great to know parents and children had a happy holiday!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BruisedPi...
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Number one choice for our family”
Reviewed 14 January 2015 for a stay in August 2014

Our extended family has stayed at this lovely gite several times. The grandchildren were very small when we first started coming, and the large, enclosed garden was just perfect for them. As the years have gone by they have started to spread their wings, and again the gite is ideal - they can go to the village playpark unaccompanied and there are many quiet lanes where they can cycle on their own. They will now allow us to visit other parts of France on condition that we come here for at least half of the holiday.
The gite is just perfect for all of us, beautifully decorated and furnished, with more mod cons than you can shake a stick at. The pool is a great plus.
Tout Y Faut village is a good centre for touring the area. Countryside and towns are by no means spectacular but have an unnasuming, tranquil beauty that stays with you for a long, long time.
The Paine family are perfect hosts with a genius for finding the Goldilocks spot between familiarity and formality.
We have already booked for August 2015.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Seeing the children have such a great time
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2016
As always it was a total pleasure to have you on board again. Counting down the days!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing