We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Great Stay in beautiful Western France.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Thouvenin

Thouvenin's vine covered front
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Thouvenin's vine covered front
The pool.... Undercover dining overlooking the pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Thouvenin's vine covered front
The pool....
Undercover dining overlooking the pool
The well equipped kitchen
The boules and barbecue area
The living room... comfortable seating, TV and a traditional charentaise fire
A quiet corner in the Cafe/Bar
The airy main bedroom
The second bedroom
The bathroom
The new Cafe/Bar is at first floor level
Migron in summer
The village's spring and ancient washing station
Migron is surrounded by vineyards..
.... and sunflower fields
The nearest beaches are about 40 minutes away
Thouvenin was once the station hotel... but the railway is long since gone
The Cafe/Bar provides a quite shady retreat
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Migron, Charente-Maritime, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Chris P
St Ives, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Great Stay in beautiful Western France.”
Reviewed 4 August 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Thouvenin is a wonderful rambling house in the picturesque village of Migron, situated close to the two historic towns of Saintes and Cognac in the Poitou-Charentes region of Western France.
The house and beautiful grounds have got absolutely everything you need for a perfect holiday. Large, spacious, and airy rooms can easily accommodate eight people in the mansion and five in the gite.
The pool is excellent, very clean, roomy and beautifully surrounded, with nicely shaded areas when the sun gets hot (which it frequently does!).
This house is well equipped with all modern conveniences: large roomy kitchen, imposing dining room and comfortable lounge, as well as lots of outside spaces (covered and open) for dining al fresco. It’s packed full with indoor and outdoor games and facilities including table tennis and barbecue.
My wife and I were magnificently looked after by Julie, the local lady who 'does', and all the locals were very friendly (shopping and restaurants etc).
It’s not far from the beautiful western France coastline - endless sandy beaches set in lovely rocky bays - definitely worth a visit.
We had a great stay - highly recommended!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful ambiance of the house and grounds
Liked least: Not a lot
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Super, super holiday”
Reviewed 27 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I would thoroughly recommend this property for any family looking for a super holiday. The owner provided a fund of useful information before the visit. The accommodation proved to be just as described. It was very spacious with lots of different areas to sit and enjoy.
While we at the property we were well looked after by the lady who called in to service the fabulous pool. She also provided excellent suggestions for things to do.
The house is in a very quiet and friendly village with the facility of a Boulanger morning and evening.it is well serviced by road although lThere is a little traffic noise when windows are oped. A fabulous holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fabulous pool
Liked least: Traffic noisse
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ricky737
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Rustic French Holiday”
Reviewed 30 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Having booked this holiday for the beginning of september we weren't expecting a great deal with regards to the weather and being able to use the pool but thankfully the sun was shining every day. The pool was a perfect size and was maintained very well, as was the rest of the house thanks to Julie the housekeeper who made it her mission to ensure we had a wonderful time, which we did.

Whether we were sitting by the pool, playing ping pong or relaxing on the mezzanine with a glass of wine and a book, we constantly felt relaxed and thoroughly enjoyed our time at thouvenin.

The size of the house was perfect, everyone could have their own personal space. the wifi was also surprisingly quick for such a rustic village. Getting around was straight forward and i would highly recommend spending the day in Cognac or Saintes, they each have wonderful markets on saturdays where we bought a lot of fresh ingredients for the BBQ.

Overall we had a really brilliant time at Thouvenin and we couldn't have asked for more apart from if we could stay longer!

5* would highly recommend

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nanajacki...
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“rustic charm”
Reviewed 31 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful family holiday with three generations enjoying all this part of france had to offer.
Thouvenin is just as described. It was comfortable and spacious. Probably the best equipped kitchen I've ever rented. Sharp kinives!! Plenty of everything. to hand. It is homely not luxurious.
Our bedroom was huge. In spite of the hot day time temperatures it remained cool. We did keep the shutters open at night which meant we could hear the odd tractor/car rumbling past. Just one bathroom was a bit difficult as the other toilet was downstairs.
We spent most of our time outside. Plenty of room both in and out of the sun.A super table tennis table for family competitions. Beautiful pool kept pristine by Julie who looks after the house and its guests.
She was a wonderful English lady who saw it as her role to make sure we had a wonderful holiday- which we did. Nothing was too much trouble for her from booking a trip to the dentist to supplying a list of local attractions.
This is a very pretty area of France; rural but not remote. We visited beaches which were probably an hour away; towns of Cognac, Saintes and St. Jean d'Angely; canoed on the river and relaxed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space - both outside and inside
Liked least: Road noise
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annieh1_1...
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed 9 March 2013 for a stay in May 2012
2
people found this review helpful

A beautiful house surrounded by stunning countryside and located in a perfect village . We had an amazing holiday combining relaxing days by the pool with trips to Cognac and Saintes. The house was everything we could wish for and more. It combined comfort and rustic good looks with a spacious well equipped living area and an attractive garden and outside living space as well as a great pool. We had a fantastic family break and would highly recommend this property .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing