We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Truly beautiful location and lovely quaint...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Boathouse

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The view from the patio door in the lounge which leads to the balcony
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
The view from the patio door in the lounge which leads to the balcony
The Boathouse in it's staggering position on Llanbedrog Beach
The perfect balcony for breakfast - sunrise at low tide
A welcome awaits on board!
The open fireplace in the lounge
The Kitchen
The lounge patio door leading to the beachfront balcony
Part of the view from the balcony
The view out of the kitchen window
The private picnic area hanging over the beach in the Boathouse garden
Llanbedrog beach from the top of the hill behind the Boathouse
The Boathouse and Llanbedrog beach
The Boathouse from the side showing the driveway and rear parking area
The beautiful open fireplace in the lounge
Breakfast on the balcony with the tide in!
The view from the balcony with the tide out
The dining area with views up to the top of the mountain
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Boat house -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Llanbedrog, Pwllheli, Gwynedd, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ian D
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Truly beautiful location and lovely quaint cottage!!”
Reviewed 23 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed here with my little family for a week in September and was truly blown away by the picturesque location. The cottage is a beautiful building and inside is exactly what you would expect. We stayed in the one bedroom cottage which was enough space for my partner and our young child. When we arrived there was a basket of breads and a fresh bunch of flowers. This was a lovely touch. The views from the windows in the kitchen and bedroom are spectacular overlooking Llanbedrog beach. We were blessed with the weather and were able to sit out on the balcony. Its a shame the cottage is facing the wrong direction for the sunshine but it was still amazing. There is a narrow drive up to the cottage and a couple of gates to get through but we never had any problems manouvering our car and even managed to turn the car round on the driveway even when the couple next door had their car parked up. I would recommend staying at the Boathouse to every one I know!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosemary...
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous view but expected better level of comfort for the money”
Reviewed 3 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
5
people found this review helpful

The boathouse is in a spectacular position on the edge of beautiful Llanbedrog beach with fabulous views. Breakfast on the balcony every morning but be aware the sun moves off the house by aprox 12.30pm.
Although marketed for 4 people, there is only 1bedroom and it is only really big enough for 2 people. The bathroom needs a complete re-fit. For over £1000 for 2 people we had expected a higher degree of luxury.
The view makes up for a lot! I have never done the washing up with such a spectacular view and the waves lapping just below me!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: The bathroom and a feeling of dampness
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2017
Dear Rosemary - thank you for your review, containing your personal opinion about The Boathouse. I should like to clarify a couple of your remarks. Firstly "be aware the sun moves off the balcony by approx 12.30pm" this may be true for the time of year you visited but during spring and summer the sun remains on the balcony until much later in the afternoon. The property is clearly listed with one bedroom but many of our repeat guests, who visit year after year, come as families and they obviously don't think it is "only really big enough for 2 people" - the fully sprung John Lewis sofa bed in the lounge suffices for them. I am sorry you felt that the bathroom needs a complete re-fit, this is the only such comment we have ever received in this respect. Finally while the commission charged by TripAdvisor may have taken your total cost to over £1000 i can assure you that we do not charge or receive anywhere near that level! I am pleased that you enjoyed the spectacular views from this magnificent property and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claire-gr...
Alsager, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Location Location Location!”
Reviewed 29 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed here with my husband, our 2 sons, my sister and mother for a week in August, and we were all blown away by how fantastic this property is. The adults enjoyed sipping G&T's on the balcony whist watching the ever-changing view and the children (aged 6 and 2 1/2) loved the beach, spending hours rock pooling, building sandcastles and splashing about in the water.

The house is very well equipped, and there are some lovely touches, like fresh flowers and a welcome basket on arrival. Kev, the owner, provided us with some very detailed directions which made finding it very easy.

We rented the 3 bed cottage, but also had access to the downstairs annex, which worked perfectly for our family group.

A couple of points to note for anyone looking to stay here - firstly Tesco's deliver here which makes self-catering nice and easy, although we had to guide the delivery driver in, and secondly if you like Thai, then a book a table at the Coconut Kitchen in Abersoch well in advance - it was booked up while we were there, but we had a takeaway which was amazing!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The amazing views
Liked least: Nothing - it was perfect
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BertieNel...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“This place is magical”
Reviewed 25 April 2016 for a stay in November 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This was the second time we stayed at the Boathouse. It is such a magical place. It is quite out of the way so lovely and quiet. We stayed in the one bedroom apartment. There was another apartment next door that had three bedrooms I understand. Our apartment had a spacious kitchen, bathroom and a large lounge with a real log fire. From the lounge you can go out onto the balcony which looks out to sea. I could sit all day and look at this view, it's mesmerising.
We walked over to Abersoch which you can get to via the coastal walk which runs up over the back of the house. We also walked over to Pwhelli which again is a lovely walk. Beautiful beaches than you can be your own for long periods of time.
There have been complimentary chocolates each time we have stayed which is a lovely touch.
The Boathouse is amazing and once you've been you would fall in love with it too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The drive home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MissMiche...
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best kept secret in North Wales”
Reviewed 13 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Randomly found the Boathouse via TripAdvisor when a previous booking fell through. Having browsed through the pictures we thought we'd give it a go and, my God, are we glad we did!

Super easy to find (the owner provided detailed instructions because your sat nav WILL take you directly to the beach!) On arrival we had two beautiful bunches of flowers and a box of chocolates (all of which weren't expected and a lovely surprise). The cottage itself is gorgeous, quaint and the perfect size for two. However, the view is what REALLY makes this place...it is spectacular. We arrived on a sunny day and could see for miles, even spotting Snowdon in the distance. We were even lucky enough to enjoy a perfect sunrise and breakfast on the balcony one morning.

There is a full sized bath, which we appreciated after long walks up mountains and exploring the local countryside and sights. There is also a full sized cooker and oven and even a dishwasher. We popped into Pwhelli to get a food shop, lots of choices there.

There was wood left for us, with newspaper and kindling but there was only enough for the first night. Not an issue though, after traipsing around a number of shops we discovered that the petrol stations were the best place to buy logs (a steal at £3.75 for a massive bag too).

All in all, this place is stunning, it was clean on arrival, the owner was extremely helpful from the first email through to the last and we would recommend it anyone who wants a base for exploring that is, in itself beautiful too, at a great price.

We will be back! 5 Stars

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Could do with more fire wood
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing