We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolute delight”
other travellers have booked this property
Top lawn area with the bungalow behind
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Top lawn area with the bungalow behind
In front of the French windows there is a patio area with delightful views over the valley. The lounge area.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
Top lawn area with the bungalow behind
In front of the French windows there is a patio area with delightful views over the valley.
The lounge area.
Off the lounge there is a dining area with lovely views through the French windows over the valley.
View from the Dining area.
Barmouth bridge with Arthog the other side of the Estuary
The beautiful Cregannen lakes are just 2 kms away, the area is ideal for walkers.
The island in Cregennen lake
View from the Point at Fairbourne over to Barmouth bridge
View from the Point at Fairbourne over to Barmouth
The lovely sandy beach at Fairbourne.
There can be spectacular views around Arthog in Winter
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Arthog, Gwynedd, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
fayevw201...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolute delight”
Reviewed 26 January 2017 for a stay in May 2016
3
people found this review helpful

We came to Mallorn as a party of a couple with 2 18 month olds and a 50 year old. The accommodation was perfect for what we needed. We had some difficulty actually locating the property as the sign had become overgrown and the people living next door to the property didn't know where it was either. Parking is a bit tight but at a push could get 2 cars outside the gate. When we got inside we were impressed.The double bed was so comfy and being heavily pregnant at the time says a lot. Only had an issue that the pillows were feathers which i am allergic to. Luckily there were some that weren't filled with down. We couldn't figure out how to do the heating so the room became very hot in the morning but when we had turned the heating down the room can become very damp due to no direct sunlight coming in as the house as it is surrounded at the back by a slope of trees and bushes. Our friend enjoyed his stay in his twin room and there was plenty room for him. The living room was perfect for 2 boys just learning to walk there was enough room for them to play and wasn't having to worry about them grabbing things. The collection of dragons was a lovely touch and we left leaving a new addition to them. The collection of books were helpful as we got to see some amazing birds from the incredible view of the living room. the only thing i would suggest is that the property is not completely suitable outside to young children due to steps to get in to the property and also the sliding door to the patio didn't open up easily as required a lot of pushing to open and wouldn't open all the way. We had an enjoyable holiday there with hardly any light pollution and absolute quiet. We all fell in love with the place so much that we are going back again this year. A car is a must as fairbourne is in walking distance but some of those bends i wouldn't feel comfortable walking down.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annchrist...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“SHABBY not SHABBY CHIC”
Reviewed 19 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

just returned from wonderful holiday in Snowdonia, pity about the poor holiday rental.Mallorn is obviously a well loved family bolt hole, but not to the standard of cleanliness and general repair expected by holiday visitors.Outside and in the house requires a lot of upgrading and cleaning to make it an acceptable holiday home., for paying visitors. The kitchen equipment is good quality,the electric oven was filthy as was the floor and windows,it all needed a good clean.The lounge is spacious, but again the walls floor and windows were very dirty,and the handle was missing from the patio door, the temperature was 28 degrees most days ,and we were unable to open the door. The beds were comfortable, and again the bedroom windows were very dirty, and the rooms smell of damp..The bathroom wall paper was coming off the wall, and the side of the bath fell off, it was wedged on with a facecloth,but the shower was brilliant, and plenty of hot water always.We were very unhappy after driving 7 hours from Scotland to spend 2 weeks in a very run down dirty property that was not suitable for a holiday let.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wonderful area of Snowdonia.
Liked least: Mallorn bungalow.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: Fairbourne Beach
Liked least: The dirt and smell
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location/Wifi
Liked least: Cleanliness
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
margotrud...
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Could be wonderful, but a lot of tlc needed”
Reviewed 14 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

When we arrived our initial feelings were how wonderful the bungalow was. Its surroundings were just stunning. It was a shame we had issues with the bungalow.
We opened the sliding door in the dining room, with a lot of effort, a good job we had two strapping guys with us!! The handle had broken off the inside of the door, it was coming off the runner onto the wooden sill and had to be lifted back on to be able to close and lock it. We didn't open the door again which meant there was a safety hazard as we only had one door to use.

When we arrived there was a note to say that the oven door would not close but it had been reported to the owner. We assumed someone would be with us at the beginning of the week, but sadly we were wrong. We had a call on Thursday morning to say an electrician had called the day before but there was nobody in. Shock horror!! So on Thursday we made sure that there was one of us in at all times. Still we had no electrician. He arrived 6.30 ish on Friday after we had managed to cobble up a dinner in the top oven which was very small. We managed to have a barbecue one night, but other than that we relied on take aways or ate out. The electrician did apologise for not coming on Thursday as he had been held up on a job. By then it didn't really make any difference to us anyway.

We had a five year old child with us and as it stated there was a washing machine/tumble dryer in the bungalow, our son and daughter-in-law packed accordingly. The machine ruined a pair of trousers, and the washing came out dripping after it had been in the dryer. We ended up having to pay for a trip to the launderette.

To sum it up, the bungalows layout and equipment are excellent, if they work.

We feel we need compensating for all the problems which arose. If facilities are offered we expect them. The whole point of a self catering holiday is to be able to self cater.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The views
Liked least: Where shall I start
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing