We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A great long weekend in a lovely place”
Oak Cottage Exterior in the Spring sunshine
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Oak Cottage Exterior in the Spring sunshine
Newly refurbished kitchen at Oak Cottage Dining table set for 12
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Oak Cottage Exterior in the Spring sunshine
Newly refurbished kitchen at Oak Cottage
Dining table set for 12
Kitchen from Dining area
Main reception - comfy sofas
TV area of Main Reception with PS3
Outdoor seating area with teak garden furniture
Reception Room 2 with 6' pool table and 40' TV
Master bedroom with 5' bed and ensuite
Ensuite shower room, shower cubicle with power shower
Linkable twin beds made up as superking
Double Bedroom with 5' bed
Bunk room - double bed with single bunk over
Family bathroom - shower bath with power shower
Twin bedroom
Floor Plan of Oak Cottage
Buckland Court communal gardens
Swings and playhouse in the gardens
Pond in the communal gardens
The Upper Courtyard from Oak Cottage
Upper Courtyard and Oak Cottage exterior
RIver Dart at Dartmouth
Slapton Sands from Torcross
Slapton village
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Slapton, Kingsbridge, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JSD61
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A great long weekend in a lovely place”
Reviewed 25 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

The recent updates to this property have made this lovely place even lovelier. I last stayed here in 2014 and the new kitchen and refurbished bathrooms are the icing on the cake of this comfortable, well equipped and relaxed cottage. Our group of friends had a wonderful long weekend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 May 2016
Thank you very much for your review - it is great to hear that all the improvements we have made since your last visit have really enhanced a house that you already really enjoyed. Delighted you had such a lovely weekend in Devon. Many thanks and we look forward to welcoming you back next year. Kind regards, Jude
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane E
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“WOW! Absolutely Amazing Stay”
Reviewed 19 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We have just returned from a fabulous stay at Oak Cottage and will definitely go back. We were a family group, the youngest being 21 and there were eleven of us. The cottage has everything you need and more. We ate in for three of the four days and there is everything you need to cater for large numbers. The kitchen area is spacious and well laid out. We loved that there were other snug areas where you could go and chill if you wanted to. The beds were so comfortable, the bathrooms modern and super clean. The pool table was a great addition, we ran a pool tournament over our stay but never got to the end of it as there was so much else to do. The location is great, we visited Salcombe, Dartmouth, Kingsbridge, Totnes and Hope Cove all of which are within easy reach. Simon, the caretaker was lovely and nothing was a problem. When we got there and walked into the fabulous gardens to be met by the ducks and chickens (all very friendly) he met us and said 'welcome to paradise', he was right!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 May 2016
Thank you very much Jane for this great review - it is lovely to know that you all loved the house, felt very at home there and also made the most of the surrounding area and what is on offer in this beautiful part of Devon. We look forward to welcoming you all back sometime soon! Jude
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The feeling on arrival that we had chosen the best.
Liked least: Leaving...
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
1 Dec 2015
Thank you very much Steve for your great review - we are delighted that you and the family really enjoyed everything the cottage has to offer as well as the beautiful countryside and coast on the door step. Off season weekend breaks are becoming more and more popular and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Jude
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
David W
1 review
“Absolutely Superb”
Reviewed 30 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Went for a quick five day getaway and was blown away by this cottage. Unbelievably warm and comfy, with ample space for large groups, we had a great time in playing on the games table or chilling in the lounge, watching movies. The kitchen and dining room were so well equipped, possible to cook anything in there! The gardens are beautiful, with a little playground and plenty of space for kids. Plenty of wildlife to enjoy too, ducks, geese, owls (including baby owls!) and turkeys, lovely in the sunshine. Kingsbridge and Dartmouth both within an easy drive and pretty towns, ample bars and restaurants to sample. Also had a great fish and chips on the seaside at the Start Bay Inn in Torcross only 5mins away, well worth a visit! All in all, couldn't have asked for anything more for a perfect holiday!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Sep 2015
Thank you so much for your lovely review - we are really delighted that you all enjoyed your stay and felt that the cottage provided the space and facilities for you to relax and make the most of your break - it is proving a really popular venue for out of season short breaks and celebrations for groups of family and friends. We have tried to think of just about everything and provide good quality and value for money. We look forward very much to having you and your friends back again soon. Best wishes, Jude
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
24 Sep 2015
Thank you so much for a great review - we are delighted that you found the cottage worked well for your large group. We try hard to provide everything anyone could want away from home and the spacious layout works well for large groups with space, activities (and beds!) for everyone! The barn owl chicks are delightful and I am glad the kids got a chance to feed them and enjoy the extensive gardens. We really hope you and the family will return to Oak Cottage in the future. Kind regards, Jude.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing